We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski Weekend in Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sunshine Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   One Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ski Weekend in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

First time we stayed on the mountain for skiing. What a wonderful concept. To be able to get up in the morning and not have to rush to get up the hill for a good parking spot and for first chair/tracks.

We stayed in the main lodge with a view towards the ski hill. That was a lot of fun. We were able to watch the people skiing during the day and the groomers during the night. To see the lights going almost straight up the hill was great.

The rooms are a bit small so don't expect anything big unless you stay in the new West Wing. The TVs could be bigger than the 20" but really, are you there to watch TV? But it would have been nice to have a larger TV.

The Staff at the base as well as the actual hotel were really good. It was almost like they bent backwards to get what you wanted. We didn't have a coffee maker in our room. Within 30 minutes of asking for one, we had one in our room. The bed was turned down every night (cool thing) and towels changed out at that time if you needed.

Restaurant staff were good and again, you didn't lack for anything.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Good morning Markushnir,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you felt the staff went above and beyond.

We love that staying at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge means that you can grab first chair too!

We hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Best,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    41
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
36
45
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

There are a few things you should know before booking this lodge. The rooms are very very small. This is ok if all you are doing is sleeping in the room, but they did feel a little claustrophobic. The phone number and email address on the hotel website relate to an external entity - Skibanff, so when we were trying to call after hours because our flight had been delayed and we were needing to be picked up after the gondola had closed, we could only get through to an answering machine and there was no direct phone number to the lodge anywhere on their website. We eventually got onto them through a third party on the mountain who called them for us, and after that they were very obliging in picking us up from the base station at 11:30 at night - in that respect they were very very good. But surely they should have a direct number on the website? On the plus side they did not charge us for the pickup from the base after hours because it was not our fault our flight was delayed by 8 hours. I thought that was a really lovely touch, and am very grateful. Although the staff are all very friendly it is clearly a very transient population. They are all backpackers, and while they try to be helpful, no one really knows what to do or how to deal with issues. There doesn't seem to be a managerial presence. Upon checkout, I was presented with a bill that charged me for my stay, even though I had prepaid with an external booking. The counter assistant said not to worry about it and that it would be fixed up. I did not receive an adjusted receipt for my stay. My credit card has been provisionally charged with the extra charges. I have emailed the lodge to request a copy of my final bill and have not received any response after one week. If the charges do end up going through I am going to be very unhappy. The wireless internet is not great - the signal is quite weak everywhere in the hotel. The building itself is quite old and the elevator is very slow so taking the stairs is preferable.
On the upside, the hot tub was fantastic after a hard days skiing. The chimney corner bar/cafe served really fantastic food! We were well impressed as we expected all the food options on the mountain to be quite dire. We had dinner and breakfast there and in both cases the food was exceptional and the price was reasonable.
We probably would stay here again despite the issues we had because the location is super. It truly is ski in ski out, but don't have too high expectations of this place.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi Erika C,

Thanks for your feedback about your stay at our hotel and for letting us where we can improve.

We are glad you enjoyed your apres-ski soak in our hot tub and the food at the Chimney Corner.

We appreciate any opportunity to improve our guest experience, so please feel free to email me directly at mark.bell@skibanff.com, so we can discuss your stay in more detail.

Best,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

In a last ditch effort to find snow over the Thanksgiving holiday I was fortunate to end up at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge. The lodge itself was very nice, our room (Goat's Eye) was fabulous, and the menus and food found in their restaurants were excellent (if you are a meat eater try the beef tenderloin. The apple crisp was delicious). The only thing that surpassed the hotel itself was the staff. Everyone there was pleasant, courteous and helpful, making our stay absolutely perfect. I highly recommend The Sunshine Mountain Lodge as a ski destination that you will remember fondly forever. I can hardly wait to go back

Room Tip: The views from most of the rooms are to die for. Our room looked over the ski lifts and had a fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Hello sbsandman,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in the Goat's Eye Suite and we hope you'll come see us again soon!

Best,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Ok that was fun!!
My husband I just spent the weekend at sunshine mountain lodge. We came over from Nelson for a friends wedding and wow! I barely know where to begin. From the moment we rolled up the staff was on it. Checking in at the bottom was a breeze. We had nine bags. Nine! They got them ALL to my room. Remember to Come prepared it's the top of a mountain you don't wanna be buying extras up top. 
The room is awesome. Small but functional. Loving the drawers. LOVE the gear lockers. Every guest gets a locker for all your skis and boots. So sweet. Don't have to lug it all up and down from your room. 
We've just been having so much fun. The staff has been helpful and clever, going the extra step when ever possible. Staff members made swans out of our towels. Cool. Turned down the bed at night. Fancy. And showed us great runs on the hill, others helped us in a hair crisis with the bride, and all have been so ready and able. Actually willing to work. We like that. 
It's been a first class stay!!! (That we could actually afford)
Thank you. Thank you. Thank you to Mark Bell and all the staff at the lodge and on the hill. Worth the drive. We will be back!
Annie and Michael Garbula. 
P.s. Danial and Lelo an extra thanks for all the hospitality. 
You guys rock! Shauna thanks for the curling iron. Life saver!!

Room Tip: Just come prepared. Your on the top of a mountain. Rooms in west wing are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hi Agarbuka,

Thanks for your positive review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge and we hope to see you again soon. Congrats to the happy couple as well!

Best,

Tanya

Tanya Otis, Manager of Communications, Sunshine Village Ski Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I just spent a night under an early season stay and ski package and it was amazing. The hotel room had a loft space with a king bed and there was a jacuzzi and fireplace with a beautiful view of the hills.

The staff was really really accommodating at the front desk, restaurant, and on the hills, they really made things comfortable for us. We are definitely going to try and make it back at some point.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi Aaron C,

We’re so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge and that the staff was helpful. We hope you’ll come see us again soon.

All the best,

Tanya

Tanya Otis, Manager of Communications, Sunshine Village Ski Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west coast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We got a great deal on a room at sunshine and decided to go spring skiing while in banff np and it was fabulous. We bad a small older room,but we found it highly functional and nice. No complaints at all. We found it quaint. Lodge was great. Staff were great. Everything well run. Food was ok, not fabulous but a 6000 ft i don't expect it to be amazing. Great hot tub outside. Amazing experience to spend a night up there. Very very breathtaking. Skiing was truly amazing and no line ups. Some relly great runs and so much variety . Would go again for sure. Loved it. Spring skiing at its best.

Room Tip: We had a tiny older room and it was great. Newer rooms looked swanky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Every thing was just fantastic from start to finish.
We checked in at the bottom of the gondola and the Guest Service agent was fast, efficient and very knowledgeable about the hill and the services available on the mountain.
We had an amazing day of power skiing and when we got into our room all our luggage was in our room waiting for us to change into and hit the huge outdoor hot tub. This hot tub is massive and the staff from Chimney Lounge serve you beverages while you soak you tired body.
That evening we hit the Chimney Lounge again and watched sports and had a great meal and once again, great service.
This went on for 3 days!
I live only 2 hours from Sunshine village, but I make sure we spend at least the weekend because it is a real treat to stay up on the mountain at Sunshine Village.
The manager has to be proud of his operation and his staff.

See you soon
Rick

Room Tip: Rooms facing the runs are south facing so you get lots of warm afternoon sun on the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshine Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Address: One Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#13 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high in the Canadian Rockies in Canada’s oldest and most famous national park, this eco-boutique hotel delivers extraordinary luxury surrounded by breathtaking scenery. It is place unlike anything you have ever experienced.World-famous dining. Opulent rooms . Friendly, courteous staff. Outside, a sky so full of stars you won’t believe your eyes. And some of the best skiing you’ll ever find, just footsteps from your room. The Sunshine Mountain Lodge is the ONLY ski-in, ski-out hotel in the Mountain National Parks. It offers casual and fine dining, the area’s largest hot tub, spa services and family friendly activities. Our new West Wing offers rooms with in-floor heating, jetted tubs, large-screen LCD TVs, all in a rustic mountain theme.It’s the vacation you and your family will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Sunshine Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Mountain Hotel Banff
Sunshine Mountain Resort
Sunshine Village Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.