We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“girls gathering!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sunshine Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   One Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“girls gathering!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great ease to arrive on Friday evening, ride up to hotel, await our bags, start a fire, enjoy dinner and tuck in for a comfortable sleep knowing it was dumping snow for a great Saturday ski. Dinner, breakfast and lunch at the hotel were great and offered a good selection....something for everyone. Very friendly, helpful staff starting at the bottom of the hill, hotel front desk, dining staff....thank you! Won't hesitate to book a couple weekends next year!!!

Room Tip: We were very happy to be in the newer, reno'd side of the hotel.....glad we could close the blin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    41
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
36
45
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have been going to this lodge/inn for many years and it keeps getting better. Is it perfect, no. Do they try to do better, yes. I do agree with other reviewers that the inability to email a confirmation is hard to understand but since on occassion it seems they have internet issues which we experienced, I guess there is a basis for that. On the plus side, the staff while young and limited experience, do try hard and are flexible and helpful. Plus, having had interactions in the past with the manager, I have been very satisfied with their response. This trip was probably the best I have had in terms of the dining in the Eagle's Nest. The chef and wait staff were very flexible and accomodating to special requests and the food was very good. Of course, the best part of the whole experience is the ski in/ski out feature and the nice ski locker room that makes it easy to change boots, etc to go skiing. The skiing is great, the views from the rooms are great, the views from the lodge are great, and I had great snow this trip, and will return. One of the best aspects of the place is that when the day is over, it is just you and a few others at the lodge, up in the mountains, and it is a wonderfully serene place.

Room Tip: We like the rooms with a view of the trees and mountains versus the other side which faces the ski a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge on Friday night and what an amazing experience !
From taking the Gondola up with snow falling, you enter this beautiful lodge with a hot tub that looks out over the ski area. Then after a great LAMB burger and wine, you cozy up in your room by the fireplace with more wine and get up the next morning and are first on the lifts after a great breakfast.

No driving, parking stress, sooooooooooooooo relazing and the West Wing rooms are beautiful.

Great job Sunshine Mountain Lodge. We will be back !!!

Room Tip: Try to get into the new rooms on the west wing. They are right above the ski lockers and have great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
WindyWoods,

Thank-you for the great review! We loved hearing about your relaxing on-mountain experience at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge – such complimentary words!

Hope you are able to visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed for just one night at Sunshine Mountain Lodge and it was a great experience! We had a loft suite booked which I would highly recommend!! Drinking a glass of wine whilst chilling out in the spa bath was great.

The room is very spacious and the beds are very comfy. Flat screen TV's on both levels and 2 bathrooms which are stocked with luxury accessories.

We had an awesome experience with the staff, from Jacob and Oliver who provided the room service to the guys at the front desk, Stewart, Amanda and Inese who arranged a late check-out for us, it was very much appreciated.

The food we had was lovely, especially the cheesecake!! Best I've tried!

Would 100% stay again, it's a great mountain experience!

Room Tip: Would recommend spending the extra on a loft suite, they're gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hays37,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed you stay and look forward to having you again visit us and make a few powder turns soon. I have also passed along your positive feedback to our hotel staff, who were excited to receive such great compliments.

Best wishes,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here 6 nights, which appears to be a longer stay than most. My husband is a "skier" (first chair, last chair kind of guy)....me not so much. So we usually try to stay ski-in ski-out to give me the option of as much or as little skiing as desired. Obviously this is the only hotel with ski-in ski-out in this area. We arrived shortly after 5pm after skiing Lake Louise in the morning, since the gondola closes at 5:30pm. I had read other reviewers suggesting taking your own bags up the gondola as the luggage service can be slow. However we were told "2 hours" at most and had 2 large suitcases and a double ski bag as well as carry-ons so we figured it would be just as easy to let them transfer suitcases, while we enjoyed our gondola ride up with just our carryons and some essentials, ate dinner up top and had a look around. Sure enough, it took nearly 4 1/2 hours for the luggage to be delivered (after they called our room and asked if we were sure the luggage was not there...hee). Actually the skis made it to the ski locker but the 2 large cases were missing (apparently put in the wrong room down at the base, so never really sure how they finally located and transferred) The front desk and manager did make amends with lots of apologies, a half bottle of wine, and offered dinner on them the next night which we very much enjoyed at the Eagles Nest (the formal restaurant). Considering the inconvenience (we finally went to bed before the luggage arrived), the situation was well handled by management. I would advise if you are checking in during the AM, it would be fine to send your luggage up with the staff, then you could take advantage of skiing right off the gondola. Upon checking out, indeed we brought our own bags down the gondola, they were very helpful with a sled across the slopes to get the bags to the gondola and though our cases were big, it is an 8 person gondola so we had enough room. Rest of the stay and our experience with the staff was lovely. Yes, lots of young staff here working from around the world, mostly Aussie's in their 20's...but very nice. Hotel was NOT busy at all, ordered room service several times and took only 13-20 min to be delivered. We though prices for Service for dinner at the Eagles Nest was very attentive (though I realize they were trying to make amends). Menu via room service, formal restaurant, and bar restaurant all very similar apps, dishes, desserts, but we are not picky so were able to change it up enough to not be entirely bored of the food by the end of the 6 days. Must go to Trappers for the ambience...original day lodge, now a bar, though odd hours as kitchen closes at 4pm, bar closes 6pm, then re-opens 8-midnight, presumably mostly for the workers. Front desk has free DVD's to watch in your room with fairly recent titles. There is a game room with table hockey and pool, though never saw anyone utilizing, probably because you had to pay for each game....would be nice if no additional cost for guests as there is certainly limited things to do once gondola closes. First night checked into room 103 which is not a true ski-in ski-out as the balcony hangs close to the hot tub. There was also a boisterous group in the hot tub that first night, but seemed to be an isolated incident, and hot tub closed at 10pm?so that limited their disruption. Upon checking in, we requested a true ski-in ski-out room but were told not available until next day, but we were willing to move after first night. Transferred to room 114 so could walk off porch onto slope. Probably only last 4 rooms on first floor have this feature (115 thru maybe 112), and these are the NON-loft, queen/queen rooms. 114 was a little more worn around the edges but I would probably not have noticed if we had not seen 103 first. Heated tile floor, nice tub shower but relatively small bathroom area and counter space. Limited shelves, storage, hanging areas for clothes, so we mostly kept clothes in the suitcases. Unfortunately, no in room safe. At night, "turndown" service would close blinds and remake bed, but not restock towels. Daily housekeeping was variable in timing, pretty sure they didn't sweep vacuum or actually change sheets daily but did restock towels, coffee, and take out trash. Had to call once in the afternoon as they had not serviced room by nearly 1pm though they did come up quickly. Their website states wifi is additional ?9$/day but front desk told us they changed policy this year and free to guests with access code, but wifi was EXTREMELY slow, so glad it was at least free. Long review, but since we had a long visit, I feel we experienced most of what they had to offer, though didn't utilize any spa services, which appeared to be in one of 2 rooms in the gym area, and locker room very basic. Difficult to go down into Banff or other areas for touring if not skiing (20 min gondola ride each way, 10 min drive out of canyon each way), have to be back before gondola closes. But if skiing is a priority, this place certainly is complete for what if offers. As long as you realize this place does not bill itself as a 5 star, you will be pleased as we were overall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Deb,

Thank-you for the detailed review of your stay at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge. I’m glad your husband enjoyed first tracks and I’m sure he got in quite a few early-morning powder turns. I appreciate your invaluable feedback on the luggage and room service, and can assure you that your message has been passed along to my team and will be used to improve our level of service.

I hope to see you again soon,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Arrived Thursday evening for four nights, we left after three. Gondola stops at 5:00 pm, so go early. $75 for ride up to hotel by snow cat/truck. Reminded me of the days before the gondola, they used school buses. We saw advertising for Friday night skiing, but they don't do that anymore. Please update the room guide/book. The rooms are well decorated, but walls are paper thin. Baby next door cried all night on one side, guy on other side coughed all night. Staff is friendly, but inexperienced. All four resturants serve the same limited menu. "Handmade" Pizza... I've made better frozen pizza. WiFi is $9 per day, but dial-up speed. The only advantage it has is it's on the ski hill.
I've been skiing/boarding at SunShine Village for over thirty years. It has alway been the default go-to hill. We stopped buying season passes years ago, now I remember why.

Room Tip: Spend the money for a suite in the newer section. Maybe a top floor room, the floors are paper thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
SMConnor,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We appreciate your business and apologize for not meeting your expectations. I can assure you that your feedback is extremely important and would like to further discuss at mbell@skibanff.com.

Kind regards,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Pretty underwhelming experience from start to finish. The lack of training and management is the most significant impression, ..very friendly Gap year students running the place, full of smiles but quick to point out 'they don't know' , 'it's not my job' or 'sorry we can't help you'. In a nutshell, a bit of a gong show starting with the reservation...to be informed they do not have the ability to email confirmation. Then, to arrive at 6:30 pm for checkin to find the gondola up to the lodge has shut, but it will cost 75$ to collect us by shuttle. Then given a lower catagory of room than paid for..resolved only after more phone queries. Overall, a sense of indifference. The lobby reeks of sewage, the manager I have since read will write some 'so sorry for the inconvenience' blurb on trip advisor, and hope customers like us will crawl under a rock. The bottom line, we are not the first to write this sort if review, yet nothing changes...high prices, questionable food, yahoo service. Not enough interest or business savvy to truly comprehend their weakest link.
Bottom line ..don't bother ..and those that have, will surely not be back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi Wierd,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. We are sad to hear about your experience and we would like to sincerely apologize for not providing the service you expected. As hotel manager, please do not hesitate to connect with me at mbell@skibanff.com to further discuss.

Kind regards,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunshine Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Address: One Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high in the Canadian Rockies in Canada’s oldest and most famous national park, this eco-boutique hotel delivers extraordinary luxury surrounded by breathtaking scenery. It is place unlike anything you have ever experienced.World-famous dining. Opulent rooms . Friendly, courteous staff. Outside, a sky so full of stars you won’t believe your eyes. And some of the best skiing you’ll ever find, just footsteps from your room. The Sunshine Mountain Lodge is the ONLY ski-in, ski-out hotel in the Mountain National Parks. It offers casual and fine dining, the area’s largest hot tub, spa services and family friendly activities. Our new West Wing offers rooms with in-floor heating, jetted tubs, large-screen LCD TVs, all in a rustic mountain theme.It’s the vacation you and your family will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunshine Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Mountain Hotel Banff
Sunshine Mountain Resort
Sunshine Village Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.