We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Recommend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sunshine Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   One Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't Recommend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Arrived Thursday evening for four nights, we left after three. Gondola stops at 5:00 pm, so go early. $75 for ride up to hotel by snow cat/truck. Reminded me of the days before the gondola, they used school buses. We saw advertising for Friday night skiing, but they don't do that anymore. Please update the room guide/book. The rooms are well decorated, but walls are paper thin. Baby next door cried all night on one side, guy on other side coughed all night. Staff is friendly, but inexperienced. All four resturants serve the same limited menu. "Handmade" Pizza... I've made better frozen pizza. WiFi is $9 per day, but dial-up speed. The only advantage it has is it's on the ski hill.
I've been skiing/boarding at SunShine Village for over thirty years. It has alway been the default go-to hill. We stopped buying season passes years ago, now I remember why.

Room Tip: Spend the money for a suite in the newer section. Maybe a top floor room, the floors are paper thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
SMConnor,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We appreciate your business and apologize for not meeting your expectations. I can assure you that your feedback is extremely important and would like to further discuss at mbell@skibanff.com.

Kind regards,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    41
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
36
45
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Pretty underwhelming experience from start to finish. The lack of training and management is the most significant impression, ..very friendly Gap year students running the place, full of smiles but quick to point out 'they don't know' , 'it's not my job' or 'sorry we can't help you'. In a nutshell, a bit of a gong show starting with the reservation...to be informed they do not have the ability to email confirmation. Then, to arrive at 6:30 pm for checkin to find the gondola up to the lodge has shut, but it will cost 75$ to collect us by shuttle. Then given a lower catagory of room than paid for..resolved only after more phone queries. Overall, a sense of indifference. The lobby reeks of sewage, the manager I have since read will write some 'so sorry for the inconvenience' blurb on trip advisor, and hope customers like us will crawl under a rock. The bottom line, we are not the first to write this sort if review, yet nothing changes...high prices, questionable food, yahoo service. Not enough interest or business savvy to truly comprehend their weakest link.
Bottom line ..don't bother ..and those that have, will surely not be back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi Wierd,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. We are sad to hear about your experience and we would like to sincerely apologize for not providing the service you expected. As hotel manager, please do not hesitate to connect with me at mbell@skibanff.com to further discuss.

Kind regards,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed feb 13&14. Loved the location, service overall was really good- excellent. All staff work hard to accommodate every thing. The front desk, the java lift, the check in and check out, all excellent!!!the ski hill staff are awesome too!!!!!!
Our whole stay was great!!! One little thing, but to some might be important. The food at the chimney corner was sub-standard at best. Nachos were good, calamari, was greasy, ordered clam chowder and realized why it had some familiarity to it. Ah, yes, Campbell's cream of celery soup, with a few sparse carrots, a few tiny potato chunks, and a can of clams. That's how they made it, then charged 8.00. Service was super slow, quite ridiculous, both nights we were there.
My kids liked their hot dog and chicken fingers. The fruit cup that came with the kids meal was good, my husband liked the. Steak sandwich, but the 2 pads of cold butter on top was not so great,
I would say, try to greens salad, that was decent. The burger my husband had the night before was not so good.
Java life was good for a grab and go breakfast.
Again location superb, we had a ski in, out room and that was wonderful.

Hot tub was nice, however in the entrance there is strong smell of sewer, and the change rooms smell really bad too. hopefully that was just temporary.

I do recommend this hotel just because the experience is pretty great, being this close to the stars, and the access to the hill is awesome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here a week and would do this again.

First and foremost, you are on site at Alberta's best ski resort.This gives you lots of options for making early or late starts, taking breaks from your skiing, all at a fantastic ski resort where the snow is always real and good, even when they are having to make snow at other nearby resorts.

I wondered how I would get on with the hotel and restaurants having read other reviews. I liked the room we were given - I asked for a quieter room and our fifth floor waterfall room was perfect in that respect. I wouldn't bother to upgrade as at least one other reviewer suggested. I doubt noise from the bar would reach any of the bedrooms as there is an admin floor between the bar and Chimney Corner lounge on the 2nd floor and the 4th floor bedrooms.

I was concerned that the meals in the restaurants would become a bit 'samey' by the end of the week, but this wasn't a problem for us as we could chop and change between the Chimney Corner and the Eagle's Nest restaurants. We enjoy a catholic diet, so I could imagine that someone with more conservative eating habits might struggle during a longer stay. Our accommodation was bed and breakfast, and we were given vouchers to cover the cost. This allowed us to go for the buffet - I tend not to choose breakfast buffets because some of the cooked items aren't generally refreshed often enough, even at top quality hotels. The vouchers were more than sufficient to order off the menu, where eggs Benedict, other cooked and healthier options were all excellent. I thought the service in the restaurants was excellent where waiting staff were attentive, efficient and always very friendly. Because they are mostly into their snow sports, you can pick up tips from them on where to go in the mountains.

The huge hot tub was great. For extra zest, head through the gate to rub snow onto your tired muscles.

I have a couple of gripes - the room service was pretty poor, and we had to ask them to do a few basics, such as replace toiletries or cleaning, that we shouldn't have had to ask for. Towels for the hot tub are supplied, but the changing rooms weren't checked, so often there were no towels, and the showers weren't kept particularly clean.

Room Tip: Try Mad Trappers for an evening drink as well as apres ski. There's much more character and life...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Webby ABZ

Thank-you for sharing your experience from your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of your room and our attentive and friendly service. However, we are disappointed to read your comments about the inconsistent room service and spa facilities and for that we sincerely apologize. We truly hope you would consider another stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We travelled to Sunshine Mountain Lodge this February for a family trip. Have visited this ski resort before but stayed in nearby Banff and made use of a rental car.

This time round, we decided to try out the onsite lodge. Located at 7000 feet, the start of your journey is dropping off your luggage and skis at the desk located at the base of the resort. It will take between 2-3 hours before those bags make it up to the lodge, so plan accordingly. Unless it is Friday, the gondola only runs until 530 PM so once up, you must make use of the restaurants (good but on the pricey side for a family), or onsite facilities (whirlpool, sauna, family movie room, coin-operated games, fitness centre), or your room (kettle can be requested). As we arrived on Friday, we trekked back to Banff. Travelling by gondola in pitch blackness is an adventure in itself!

To be able to ski within steps of your hotel room is the drawing card! While the gondola begins to run very early, the chairlifts start between 830 and 900AM. We made close to first tracks each morning. This is particularly AWESOME on Goat's Eye Mountain, and, on the Continental Divide run.

The room we had was very close to the Mt. Standish chairlift but the windows are well insulated so it was very quiet. Having the balcony provided a "fridge" for a few snacks we had brought along, as well as a quick way to leave the hotel room. Note though that one of your party must lock the door from the inside and then join you outside. The room itself was tiny - although it was stated it was for four. Murphy and queen bed provided but not much room for storing clothing (and there are bulky pieces considering you are skiing)! Shower great but lukewarm water only.
For a larger family, you would definitely need the loft rooms which are a great deal more expensive.

We enjoyed the breakfast buffet offered - wonderful food and not greasy! A real treat actually. Service was wonderful both on the hills and in the restaurant. Front desk staff at hotel also helpful. Down at base - could use a bit more training for when guests first arrive. We expected more information to be provided, and, a warmer welcome.

Overall, we'd go back in a second. Being there for the first run and skiing right to the end was fantastic. Also, being able to stretch out those limbs following intense skiing over lunch was great too.

Room Tip: Choose a room located in the newer portion of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Water F

Thank-you for sharing your experience with us. We pride ourselves on providing Banff’s only ski-in, ski-out accommodations and are glad that you enjoyed the room and close proximity to the chairlifts. We also appreciate your feedback on our front desk staff, as we strive to continually enhance the guest experience. We hope to have you back soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We decided to book Sunshine Mountain Lodge based on a recommendation by a coworker and the fact that we were going to go skiing for 2 days. The location of the hotel was definitely worth experiencing and quite convenient if you just want to get to your room quickly, but there were a few quirks with it.

We decided to get the ski and stay package, but only for Sunday evening as it was not offered on Saturday. Lift tickets aren't cheap, came up to about $170, so we figure the remainer of the room for $130 wasn't so bad. The quirk with staying here is you have to check in before 5pm as the gondola closes, meaning you would be stranded up there till the next day. The staff helped us bring our luggage up the gondola, but there was a 3 hour delay. Fair enough, as we didn't need our luggage immediately.

Deluxe room was on the small side, and therefore only had one bad. Toilet had urine stains all down the front and the vent had tons of dust/mold; we left a note for the housekeeping and it was dealt with the next day. Housekeeping was a little on the slow side; we noted things were finally done late in the afternoon. Only one ice machine in the lower level. One elevator only, and was slow, so more often than not we took the stairs.

As we were limited to food, especially in the night, you were either going to eat at Chimney Corner, or Eagle's Nest (we skipped this one because we found food to be overpriced). The food at Chimney corner was generally pretty good (surprisingly); the burgers were juicy and food delicious, except for the one time I had the chicken and waffles and the waffles were rock hard so skipped eating those altogether. On speaking to the girls when booking, they stated no large amounts of alcohol were allowed, with the exception of one bottle of wine; their alcohol was expensive, and they even had the audacity to charge for 3 cans of beer for $20; but they did have a pitcher of beer for $20 deal that wasn't bad. We noted the service during breakfast and dinner to be extremely show, possibly due to understaffing, possibly due to lack of motivation/care, possibly because the staff knew we had to eat there anyway. But during lunch it was quite busy with other skiiers and service was quite speedy.

Hot tub was a nice touch and was clean. Same with the gym. We also utilitized the common room and games room, but do note there are families with screaming children and teens that will beat you to using the facilities. Lockers were convenient in that we had a place to store our wet equipment; inconvenient that it was at the other end of the hotel, but what can you do.

Our package included a ski lesson on the 2nd day; we had talked to the desk and they had said on 2 occasions the lesson is booked and to show up at the ski school. We showed up; it wasn't booked. They had to call an instructor to come down the hill to give us the lesson. Found the desk to be under average with communication, but at least we got all our luggage back.

For the purposes of the location on the ski hill, I'd probably stay here again, and may suggest it to friends, but I would personally do more research; I think if staying in Banff, it would be nice to enjoy the local sights at nighttime and at least have some variety to choose from.

Room Tip: The deluxe room is relatively small and only has one queen bed; consider larger rooms if going as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Joanie T

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We certainly appreciate your business and apologize for not fully meeting your expectations. We can assure you that your feedback is extremely important and will be used to improve our level of service.

Sincerely,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is an amazing way to experience Sunshine if you are an avid skiier. So cool to be right on the mountain. Dining options are excellent too. I would recommend this to anyone who worries that the trip from Banff into Sunshine Village is slightly prohibitive to a really full ski day - what could be better than staying right there, with access to great food, massages, and a piping hottub at the end of the day?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Karen K

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you again visit us and make a few powder turns soon.

Best wishes,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunshine Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Address: One Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high in the Canadian Rockies in Canada’s oldest and most famous national park, this eco-boutique hotel delivers extraordinary luxury surrounded by breathtaking scenery. It is place unlike anything you have ever experienced.World-famous dining. Opulent rooms . Friendly, courteous staff. Outside, a sky so full of stars you won’t believe your eyes. And some of the best skiing you’ll ever find, just footsteps from your room. The Sunshine Mountain Lodge is the ONLY ski-in, ski-out hotel in the Mountain National Parks. It offers casual and fine dining, the area’s largest hot tub, spa services and family friendly activities. Our new West Wing offers rooms with in-floor heating, jetted tubs, large-screen LCD TVs, all in a rustic mountain theme.It’s the vacation you and your family will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunshine Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Mountain Hotel Banff
Sunshine Mountain Resort
Sunshine Village Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.