We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location is all that it has going for it, 5* prices for 3* hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sunshine Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   One Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“location is all that it has going for it, 5* prices for 3* hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have been staying at this property for 44 years and this visit was definitely the worst.
Our family had 3 rooms, 2 were the top category "suites" ( a king bed with a couch, the size of a standard room in any other hotel) and one was a "deluxe" waterfall room ( nothing deluxe about it). These rooms were vastly overpriced for the standard of accommodation and service we received. One day one suite had no housekeeping and the another day we only got our rooms made up after we called following lunch. Clean towels had to be routinely requested. To be fair, one morning our suite was done properly in the morning after I found the housekeepers and begged them as I was staying in the room.They did replace our dirty glasses but not in the other rooms. In our bathroom 2 out of 4 lights were burnt out, when we called maintenance they were replaced but the bathtub was left dirty following their work ( our job to clean it up?)
All meals were substandard particularly in the Eagle dining room.
Service everywhere is inefficient, the staff are friendly but untrained. One exception was Stuart at the front desk
As hotel guests we had to wait more than 1/2 hour in line for lunch. Service at breakfast was appalling.
On the coldest day there was no hot water for showers in any of our rooms, we were told they had run out at our end.

Room Tip: The tiny rooms in the back are probably the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Baltzan

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. We are sad to hear about your experience and we would like to apologize for not providing the service we are usually known for and you expected. We hope you will be giving us another chance and return to Sunshine Mountain Lodge, as we would love to have you back as a guest.

All the best,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    41
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
36
45
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Sunshine Mountain Lodge mid-December. The transfer to the hotel was described in the booking materials - so plan for this. By the time we had a quick test of the snow and put the gear in the locker and had a beer at the saloon our bags were in the room. Due to the feedback on this site - we actually upgraded the room to the larger Deluxe ones in the West Wing. Do this if you can!! They are comfortable, great views and quiet. We are glad we did. The powder was great; the front staff attentive and helpful, the hot tube good. While some reviewers say the food choices are limited we didn't find this overly impactful: in room dining, plus the smarter one for our final night. Everything was great. We planned for the departure time-wise and everything worked just fine. I would return to Sunshine Lodge for sure!

Room Tip: A decision to pay for the larger West Wing rooms would not be a bad one . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Olivinglife1

We are so pleased to hear about your experience during your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the new West Wing room and appreciate the positive feedback on our front desk staff.

We look forward to having you return to experience our slopeside accommodations again soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

.....if you want to avoid the morning rush the ski area, or you want to be on the slopes before every one else. Otherwise stay in Banff. The bags took three hours to arrive in our rooms. The rooms are small and cramped. The bathtub had signs of black mold starting around the bottom edge of the shower surround.
The food was indifferent, and if you want a breakfast with food warmer than tepid dont use the buffet which was poor as well as cool, order from the menu to ensure heated food. The fruit tray was exhausted and not replenished for nearly 30 minutes.

Room Tip: As far from the bar lounge as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The staff all at the hotel were excellent as well as the restaurants and on hill staff were great. The only problem was the fire drill at about 6 am. It was mass confusion as well as nobody seem to know what to do. My buddy was a volunteer fire fighter and was quite surprised.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New forest
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Marvelous experience, from leaving your bags at the ski base (they take them up for you, while you ski), through being one of the few people up on the mountain at night, to sking back down the mountain (while they take your bags down for you). We were first on the lifts in the morning, and had great snow all day. Food in the resturant was average (avoid the fondue- terrible), but the location unbeatable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We are Aussies and chose to stay two nights in April to experience snowfields for the first time (on my behalf anyway). Our stay in a West Wing Premier room was very nice. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. My partner had his birthday whilst staying there and we had a very lovely dinner seated by a window with a gorgeous view of the snowfields - by ourselves - in their formal restaurant, as it was late in the season. We were lucky enough to catch a look by chance at the 'northern lights' making a spectacular show outside our bedroom window around midnight one night. Very unexpected and we felt very special when people were talking about it the next morning and many missed out on seeing it. Staff here were very nice (mostly Aussies of course), and just a great place to stay and have a go at snow skiing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge with another family in the new loft rooms. They were small, but worked well for two adults and four children. The beds are not large, especially the murphy bed. The room was nicely decorated with wood and slate accents, but the downstairs bathroom has shutters above the tub that open right into the main room. Everyone was uncomfortable using that bathroom since the shutters don't block the noise and there is always the worry someone will bump open the shutters, since they are right next to the bed. There is also not a shower in that bathroom, so we all had to shower upstairs in the tiny bathroom in the loft.

The convenience of the ski out location is hard to beat, and the scenery is just gorgeous. The staff at check in were very helpful. The restaurant was expensive, but the food was pretty good. The room itself was very expensive.

We took our luggage up on the gondola and sent the ski gear up separately. There was enough room on the gondola for all six of us and our suitcases. The gondola ride is an adventure in itself!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshine Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Address: One Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#13 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high in the Canadian Rockies in Canada’s oldest and most famous national park, this eco-boutique hotel delivers extraordinary luxury surrounded by breathtaking scenery. It is place unlike anything you have ever experienced.World-famous dining. Opulent rooms . Friendly, courteous staff. Outside, a sky so full of stars you won’t believe your eyes. And some of the best skiing you’ll ever find, just footsteps from your room. The Sunshine Mountain Lodge is the ONLY ski-in, ski-out hotel in the Mountain National Parks. It offers casual and fine dining, the area’s largest hot tub, spa services and family friendly activities. Our new West Wing offers rooms with in-floor heating, jetted tubs, large-screen LCD TVs, all in a rustic mountain theme.It’s the vacation you and your family will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Expedia so you can book your Sunshine Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Mountain Hotel Banff
Sunshine Mountain Resort
Sunshine Village Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.