We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sunshine Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   One Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 hotels in Banff
Alberta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Only if..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

.....if you want to avoid the morning rush the ski area, or you want to be on the slopes before every one else. Otherwise stay in Banff. The bags took three hours to arrive in our rooms. The rooms are small and cramped. The bathtub had signs of black mold starting around the bottom edge of the shower surround.
The food was indifferent, and if you want a breakfast with food warmer than tepid dont use the buffet which was poor as well as cool, order from the menu to ensure heated food. The fruit tray was exhausted and not replenished for nearly 30 minutes.

Room Tip: As far from the bar lounge as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    41
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
36
45
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary Alberta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The staff all at the hotel were excellent as well as the restaurants and on hill staff were great. The only problem was the fire drill at about 6 am. It was mass confusion as well as nobody seem to know what to do. My buddy was a volunteer fire fighter and was quite surprised.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New forest
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Marvelous experience, from leaving your bags at the ski base (they take them up for you, while you ski), through being one of the few people up on the mountain at night, to sking back down the mountain (while they take your bags down for you). We were first on the lifts in the morning, and had great snow all day. Food in the resturant was average (avoid the fondue- terrible), but the location unbeatable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We are Aussies and chose to stay two nights in April to experience snowfields for the first time (on my behalf anyway). Our stay in a West Wing Premier room was very nice. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. My partner had his birthday whilst staying there and we had a very lovely dinner seated by a window with a gorgeous view of the snowfields - by ourselves - in their formal restaurant, as it was late in the season. We were lucky enough to catch a look by chance at the 'northern lights' making a spectacular show outside our bedroom window around midnight one night. Very unexpected and we felt very special when people were talking about it the next morning and many missed out on seeing it. Staff here were very nice (mostly Aussies of course), and just a great place to stay and have a go at snow skiing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge with another family in the new loft rooms. They were small, but worked well for two adults and four children. The beds are not large, especially the murphy bed. The room was nicely decorated with wood and slate accents, but the downstairs bathroom has shutters above the tub that open right into the main room. Everyone was uncomfortable using that bathroom since the shutters don't block the noise and there is always the worry someone will bump open the shutters, since they are right next to the bed. There is also not a shower in that bathroom, so we all had to shower upstairs in the tiny bathroom in the loft.

The convenience of the ski out location is hard to beat, and the scenery is just gorgeous. The staff at check in were very helpful. The restaurant was expensive, but the food was pretty good. The room itself was very expensive.

We took our luggage up on the gondola and sent the ski gear up separately. There was enough room on the gondola for all six of us and our suitcases. The gondola ride is an adventure in itself!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

This has been our 8th trip to Banff, and the 3rd year to stay at Sunshine Mountain Lodge . It's the best location you could hope for but has reached the tipping point . In the past one could overlook the indifferent service (friendly but indifferent ) and the mediocre and limited food choices . This year though the room prices hit the stratosphere ; almost $400 a night for a premier room + lift tickets . Menu seems to be more limited this year . Not as many activities as in years past . That is important as hotel guests are stranded on the mountain after 5:30 except for Friday night . I think we will go back to the Rimrock .

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I don't think you stay here because the hotel is epic, you stay for the experience and convenience of staying up on the mountain. It is wonderful to be up there when the crowds clear out. We had a loft room that had a king bed upstairs with a small bathroom with a shower in it. Downstairs was a queen bed and a little Murphy bed. There was a bathroom on the main floor that was bigger and had a nice tub that had air jets on the bottom. There was a coffee maker, hair dryer,fireplace, and tvs on both the main floor and upstairs. I liked the wood and slate in the room and felt it had a lovely ambience. The beds had plenty of pillows and cushy bedding. I would say the room was nice for a mountain ski lodge. The only thing I didn't really like was the noise and headlights of the snow plough at 3:30am and again around 6am. My kids didn't wake up from It however. The restaurant isn't particularly well run as there was a mix up with our servers and a couple of people didn't receive their orders until everyone else was finished. They did offer 10% off our bill do that was ok but they are pretty much the only game in town once the day lodge is closed. I would stay again though because the room was good and it was nice to be up on the hill. Hot tub is also lovely after a day of snow and skiing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunshine Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Address: One Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high in the Canadian Rockies in Canada’s oldest and most famous national park, this eco-boutique hotel delivers extraordinary luxury surrounded by breathtaking scenery. It is place unlike anything you have ever experienced.World-famous dining. Opulent rooms . Friendly, courteous staff. Outside, a sky so full of stars you won’t believe your eyes. And some of the best skiing you’ll ever find, just footsteps from your room. The Sunshine Mountain Lodge is the ONLY ski-in, ski-out hotel in the Mountain National Parks. It offers casual and fine dining, the area’s largest hot tub, spa services and family friendly activities. Our new West Wing offers rooms with in-floor heating, jetted tubs, large-screen LCD TVs, all in a rustic mountain theme.It’s the vacation you and your family will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunshine Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Mountain Hotel Banff
Sunshine Mountain Resort
Sunshine Village Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.