We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay on the mountain but the price was high” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunshine Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night FREE
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice stay on the mountain but the price was high”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We just returned from one night at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge. We stayed in the lowest category of rooms, a basic waterfall view room with one queen bed. The bed was very comfortable but the room was small. This was not a problem for us, but others might want more space. The price was high. This might be because we stayed between Christmas and New Years. You definitely pay for the location and the convenience of staying on the hill.

We ate at the restaurant at the hotel, not the fine dining restaurant but the more basic one. My meal (tenderloin) was very good but my husband ordered the buffalo burger which was mediocre and poorly presented. The service was poor too. Our waiter took our orders and then about 30 minutes later came back to say that what I ordered was not available. Therefore I had to order something else and we waited again for our meals to come. When my husband asked for the dip that was supposed to come with his sweet potato fries, the waiter did not bring it for another 20 minutes. If he had waited for it, his fries would have been cold.

Our wing (5th floor in the older section of the hotel) was nice and quiet so we had a good sleep.

There were lots of things for families with young children to do (sledding, movie night, campfire) but we did not do these things because we did not have our children with us.

We had a nice stay and would do it more often if the price was more reasonable (we paid about $400 including taxes for one night). I know that they are the only mountain accommodation on the hill but it is hard to justify the cost when you can stay in banff 20 minutes away for less than half the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klownt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed up here for 2 nights with my friends. I had never been skiing in Banff or even in Canada prior to this, so I have to say I was in for quite a treat!

First, you take the Gondola up to the village/base lifts and you stay up there. Going down isn't really an option as the gondola closes pretty early (4:30pm I think?). Friday and Saturday nights it goes until 11pm or so. You need to check as you don't want to get trapped on either side when it shuts down!

The ride up the gondola was amazing. I happened to be visiting during a snowy weekend and we got several feet each day. When we got up there, we walked over to the lodge and checkin was smooth! The room faced the lifts/village and was on the ground floor. It was literally WALK IN/WALK OUT skiing! So awesome. The rooms were nice and the murphy bed was perfect. The three of us slept fine each night and really enjoyed the beds.

At night/apres ski there isn't too much to do, but what there is to do is really good. 1) The little bar all the Aussies hang out in (everyone who works here is Australian, attractive, and in their 20's.. haha). This little bar gets going at night and is fun to spend time at getting to know people. Also, the hottub is huge, and amazing. Always full of people and very enjoyable. The restaurant on site is good. Not the most amazing, but still a very good meal.

The mountain itself is tons of fun, and being able to ski into your room basically is great. The rates seemed fair, and the service was totally acceptable. I want to go back!

Room Tip: Ground floor, village side and you can ski in/out of your ROOM!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corpkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
484 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

If you want true ski in / out in Alberta then this really is your only choice but a great choice it is.

We get a great rate due to being season pass holders so my son and I stayed here three or four times during last season when his club spent both days at sunshine.

Rooms - in the new bit they're very nice and you can really ski off your deck of you get a ground floor room

Hot tub - very nice with a pitcher of beer and your ski buddies

Restaurant - cheap one pretty good value and good quality, nice lounge and fireplace and just never too busy, belive from friends that the gourmet restaurant is really good.

Staff - very friendly and helpful

All in all a real hidden gem but don't expect nightlife, there aint none .......

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OmanRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Waking up at 7000 feet on may 10th to winter snow just outside my door. Sunshine Mountain lodge has a brand new west wing all-suites. I booked a premier room and loved it. the kids could play outside our door and at night the snow cats look like stars as they groom Sunshine's 3 Mountains. this ski area is beautiful and I will be back for May Long weekend Slush Cup.

Room Tip: Book a room in west wing. Lofts are incredible buy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kellywilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We have stayed at the hotel many times but this time decided to stay in the new wing which has the new Loft Suites. The suites are fairly compact but amazing with the most fantastic views morning, noon and night. The hotel now does room service which is great when you have a young child who is completely exhausted from a full day skiing. We stayed 2 weeks on the mountain but you do need some time away if you don't want to go stir crazy. We took 2 days out elsewhere but as we go for the skiing it's a perfect location for us with real ski in and ski out, we love it! The food was as good as ever. The only down side this time was the value of the English pound to the Canadian dollar which made it noticeably more expensive.

Room Tip: Barter on the room rate by booking late!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
3 Thank Tomsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We completely loved our accommodations and the skiing was excellent. But we did cut short our stay by one day because the staff were unable or not capable of enforcing the rules mainly that of not bringing alcohol on site. For two nights we endured a bus trip of loud and over-bearing young skiiers who took over the two main dining areas in the lodge. Surely there was adequate room for them in Mad Trappers lodge which would have been more appropriate to their partying habits. When speaking to the management we were told that they were not sure what they could tell these people in order to quieten them down. This was after we explained how they also took over the hot tub, continued to call down to their room mates to bring more liquor down to the hot tub which included all kinds of glass bottles. Although the staff were aware of this at no time was there anyone to come and monitor the situation out or remind them of the rules. When we spoke to the front desk about penalties for leaving a day early they informed us that the partiers were leaving the next day. At this point we were more concerned about the ability/reliability of the staff there to deal with unruly guests. Sunshine Village is a great place to ski however and our accommodations were clean and comfortable. The staff in the restaurants are somewhat untrained and fine dining atmosphere is non existant. Probably would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Skierlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripcanuck12
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed the Sunshine Mountain Loadge last spring, and although very comfortable and unigue, it was the end of the season ski season and they could have used more staff. We returned thier this January and wow, lot's of staff, lot's off attention - it could not have been better from the service side. Eq: our 8 year old decided to wear his grande hot chocolate and staff moved into position like they were workin off a "playbook" and things were scrubbed up and he was thankful and sipping on a new hot chocolate before we knew it. fabulous.

Again, being up at the resort when the lifts shut down is very unique, peaceful and stressless. agreat hot tub, quiet dinner, fireside chat, and off to bed to be first to hit the slopes in the morning. If you are up in Banff National Park for a week or so, it is a great side-stay.

Cheers

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripcanuck12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
9.9 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
10.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
9.9 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
10.0 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
9.6 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Address: 1 Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best kept secret in the Canadian Rockies is located at 7,200 feet in Canada’s oldest and most famous National Park, Banff National Park. The Sunshine Mountain Lodge offers incredible comfort, luxury and convenience. Experience the anticipation of fresh tracks as you catch the first chairlift after waking just steps from the only ski-in, ski-out accommodations in Alberta. Sunshine Village’s professional and friendly staff take care of all the details allowing you to do what you do best; whether it’s skiing Sunshine’s world famous snow, relaxing in the hot pool and spa or dining at one of the Lodge’s casual or elegant venues. When you are done enjoying your “best day ever!” relax by immersing yourself in the peacefulness and tranquility of undisturbed nature of our village. Afterwards, delight in the accommodations of the enhanced West Wing suites that offer heated floors, jetted tubs, floor-to-ceiling windows and fireplaces offering cozy entertainment to send you to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sunshine Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Mountain Hotel Banff
Sunshine Mountain Resort
Sunshine Village Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing