We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in a Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Basingstoke
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in a Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

I stayed at the Mount Royal with my family and some friends as we planned to ski at Sunshine and Lake Louise over the course of the week. The most pleasing thing about the Hotel is its location. It is in downtown Bannf and ideally located for access to the Restauarants, shops and bars. Everything you could need is within walking distance and the main ski bus stops right outside the hotel in the large car park to the rear. The Mount Royal is one of the early pick ups on route to the the ski resorts so there is normally some seats available. This is important as it is seating only so once it is full it does not pick up any more passengers meaning that one has to wait for the next bus (every half hour on the dot). The hotel itself is well run and clean and boasts two restaurants/bars along with a hot tub and sauna but no pool. The restauarant is Tony Roma's which normally serves a buffet breakfast which is not bad value at $13.99 for all you can eat although the food seemed a little dry. The other option for a lighter cheaper breakfast is either McDonalds or Subways which are about 100 yards away incase you dont want much to eat and or you are in a hurry. The hot tub is quite large and warm although not too bubbly. It was always a good place to chat with other guests and talk about their experiences and tips if they had been in resort longer than you. The rooms we had were quite large although my bathroom was a little small but all our party commented on how comfortable the beds were and there was a reasonable amout of space for clothes and hanging etc. The cupboard included a safe too. They were generous with the tea and coffee although only powdered milk was provided. As per other reviews there was a little noise from the street late at night from people leaving bars and clubs etc but it was not that annoying really and did not interrupt our sleep at all. I would say that the corridoor outside the room was a little noisy though with banging doors and people running up and down (our first two nights had a coach load of schoolchildren on our floor so there was lots of scampering about outisde which was pretty audible from the room). Once they had gone things were pretty quiet although from time to time there was the occasional door bang and the thump thump thump of ski boots but to be fair it is hard to hide this wherever you are. In conclusion I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would also recommend staying at Bannf as it is a well set up resort with plenty to offer in terms of restaurants and shops etc. My tips are "The Key" for Steak and the "Magpie and Stump" for Mexican. We were advised that the Saltlick was great for steak lthough a little pricey and that upstairs in Melissa's was good for pub grub and atmosphere although we did not get to go to either of these places. Finally I would heartily recommend a visit to the Hot Springs bath in Bannf and also that you go at least once to the Buffet Dinner in the Bow Valley Grill Restauarant at the Fairmont Bannf Springs Hotel which is about half a mile out of town. The per head price is $30 which is reasonable compared to the main places in town but the selection is superb and the food quality is even better. We went on two different nights and I cannot recommend it high enough - you must go! They are on Thursday, Friday and Saturday I believe and each night has a theme which I think are Italian, Asian and Candadian respectively.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    206
    128
    51
    26
See reviews for
90
245
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Finally saving up enough money for a trip to the slopes myself and a buddy bagged a bargain with Inghams to Bannf.After a painless flight with Monarch and transfer we rocked up at The Mount Royal in Bannf.I could of wept with joy at the large clean room we were given after the last rat hole of a chalet i stayed at in Tignes.
The Hotel was full of friendly helpful staff,the room and bathroom were kept immaculate by the cleaners.
The Hotel is superbly situated in the middle of what is a very small town ,so handy for eats,wets and shops.
All the Ski Buses stop a rear of Hotel,with really friendly bus staff and big enough buses to make sure you get to right slopes so unlike the bus nightmares of Chamonix!
I read previous reviews and took earplugs and banged them in a couple of times as there is a lot of shouting from drunk kids at kicking out time from a club very nearby,not the hotels fault and its not every night just be aware.
The quality of North American accomodation shames the industry in Europe,i didnt pay anymore for this holiday than i would for a holiday in France etc.We just put up with it like muppets.
I would quite happily return to this hotel and hope to take along my partner next time.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde Isle of Wight
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Situated right in the centre of Banff you can not get any closer to the shops and town centre.

We had a huge room with two queen size beds that were fantasticly comfortable, a sofa, big tv, desk, chair and coffee machine. The bathroom was of a good size and nice and clean with loads of crisp white towels. Although we were at the front of the hotel fronting onto the main street, we noticed no noice at all from outside. The hotel has an ice machine (free) on each floor and also a snack vending machine (round $2 per item) We had a wondeful view of the mountains from our room.

The bar downstairs is nice. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel but drunk in the bar which was nice which very friendly and attentive service and had one meal in Tony Romas the steak and rib resturant attached. We found this good value with good portions and quality with good friendly Canadian service. In the foyer there is free wi fi but you must get the code from reception.

A great place to stay in Banff close to everywhere.

We were part of a tour so can't comment on the room price as we don't know what it was.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

The room we had booked was not available. We got "upgraded" to a suite, what a joke. A small double bed and TV only could fit the room and the living area was so small and not practical we could not go through with our 1 luggage without banging in every piece of furniture. It only had a single chair, a TV and a small desk though.
We requested another room and got move to a super small room at the far end of the hallway. At least it had a king size bed. TV not working, bathroom ventilation not working, strong cigarette smell, view on a wall through a very small window, surely this room must have been used as storage before. The staff was useless and a little arrogant. you would think they would try to make you as happy as possible after such a disappointement, but not at all.
I stayed there once before. We had a nice double queen standard bedroom and the location is really nice. Unfortunately this time was a whole different story.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Mount Royal is in the centre of Banff, in an excellent location- handy for all the bars and restaurants. The hotel isn't luxurious, but we'd bagged a bargain deal- flight & room only for only £459- you really can't grumble! We had a standard double, with two huge queen beds, not particularly spacious, but adequate. Cleaned daily. Staff were great- very helpful, despite being busy. The jacuzzi was great- much needed after a day on the slopes! 'The Big 3' ski resorts are easily accessible- the bus stop is outside the hotel, right next to the ski locker- very handy. We normally ski in Europe, so Canada was an eye-opener, to say the least. You may have to travel further to get on the slopes, but it's well worth it. Lake Louise & Sunshine (in particular) were fantastic- quiet, well groomed slopes, with great variety, and because they're not as packed as Europe, you can glide down without the constant worry of avoiding masses of other skiers- bliss! The real bonus was the friendliness and organisation at the resorts. Yes, your ski pass may be pricey, but the queues are minimal mid-week, reasonable weekends and.... there are 'Lifties' who direct the queues and lift your skis onto the gondolas! Any usual 'queue rage' experienced in for example, the Sella Ronda is a mere distant memory, as you're greeted with a cheery hello from the (normally Aussie/Kiwi) lift attendants. I can't tell you what a difference the great customer service makes! The restaurants in Banff aren't cheap, but a regular meal would usually fill you til you pop- all portions are gigantic. It's similar on the slopes, though more limited in choice (prepare to tire of fries)!
Banff is a great way of gaining the time and space to improve your skiing, whilst eating the calorific quota of a grizzly bears' yearly supply of food! If your after a no-nonsense hotel to go and explore, then the Mount Royal is recommended! P.S. I'm still trying to work off those damn fries!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

We stayed at the Mount Royal Hotel for 11 nights in February 2010. Firstly the price was quite unbelievable. My partner had stayed there before - around 10 years ago and could not recall any complaints. So we decided to give it a go! The location is possibly the best in Banff - you cannot get any more central. We even had views of Cascade Mountain from our bedroom window!
The rooms are a little dated, but extremely comfortable, and were cleaned every day with fresh linen and clean towels supplied. There is also cable TV in each room with a coffee machine - supplies are replenished daily too! The bathroom, again, was dated but clean and more than adequate for 11 nights........ The concierge hinted on a few renovation updates the hotel are looking to carry out such as upgrading wardrobe doors etc.
The reception staff and concierge were more than helpful and friendly. In fact we tipped them on our departure as we were so impressed by their service.
Tony Roma's famous restaurant is attached to the hotel, with possibly the best wings and ribs in Banff. They will even serve you in the bar should you choose a less formal surrounding (in front of the real fire!). The bar staff were very attentive, without being pushy.
The ski bus for all 3 areas stops just behind the hotel in the parking lot. Not sure why it doesn't stop directly outside the hotel, but this is a small issue in the grand scheme of things. The (free) ski locker is just at the rear of the hotel too - so handy for the bus.
All in all, I found the hotel absolutely perfect for our stay and would definitely stay there again. Well done Mount Royal!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

The rooms were clean and made up each day. Staff were helpfull and friendly. We ate in the bar when first arrived it was good. Had a meal in hotel restaurant and it was excellent and good value for money. Would definately stay there again. Perfect for pick up and drop off to go to ski areas and central to everything. Local buses also pick up outside and very raliable and give precice times for attending.
Would recommend this hotel as good, central and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.