We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel (don't believe the bad reviews)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 hotels in Banff
Yeovil
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel (don't believe the bad reviews)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a week at the end of January and thought it was a very nice hotel. Our room was really spacious and clean and the bed was very comfy. It is really convenient for skiing as you can catch the buses in the car park at the back of the hotel and collect your skis from the storage room on the way. The location is brilliant, close to all the shops and restaurants. The jacuzzi in the hotel is nice and a nice warm temperature.

I cannot understand some of the negative reviews I have read on here as we had a really good holiday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Don't be put off staying here as we had nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    196
    110
    45
    25
See reviews for
79
224
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, UK
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

We stayed at the Mount Royal Hotel for a week while skiing and it was ideal - the rooms were spacious and clean, and the staff were really friendly. The coaches that go to each ski resort pick you up right outside the back of the hotel, and there's good storage for skis and snowboards. It's right in the centre of Banff so perfect for getting to all the restaurants and bars.

The jacuzzi was great, nice and hot. I thought the bathroom in our room was a little dark at first but the shower was really powerful and there was a big mirror so it was good. We asked for a room at the back and were really glad as the view of the Rockies was amazing. It is an old hotel but the rooms looked recently refurbished.

We went to see why people complained about the stairs to the fourth floor... there were four of them (the horror) so the following rooms were on a slightly lower level (which is why they're labelled as on a different floor). There is a lift from the side entrance of the hotel to these rooms as well. Looking at the negative reviews for this hotel - it seems to be the people who stay on this floor, so maybe ask for a different floor if you're worried (we were on the third).

The majority of other people seemed to be there for skiing too, so you can expect tours etc to be staying - the hotel has a quiet policy after 11pm and security so if you experience any noise, reception will sort it out.

We booked the hotel and flights through Inghams so I'm not sure how much the rooms are normally, but it was great value for money for us. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

My husband and I have just spent 11 nights as guests at the Mount Royal and had a wonderful time. Hotel was clean, comfortable, friendly and ideally situated. This is our 7th visit to Banff and would not hesitate to stay at the Mount Royal in the future. Thank you to the Management and staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

We stayed in a standard room as part of a package deal . The room was absolutely fine , neither bad nor fantastic , just what we expected . There were two adults and one 12 year old sharing and found it to be a little cramped but not the end of the world . Staff were very helpful . Tony Roma's food was typical Canadian as was the Paddock Grill . Bar area was comfortable and the desserts were to die for . Can't really fault it and the location was brilliant , especially as the coaches pick up for the 3 ski areas out in the carpark .

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

What a great place for a break. The staff were more than helpfull. Nothing seemed to be to much trouble. The food was very good, and i thought it was a good price for what we had. If there is one fault with this place, it is the rude and incosiderate guests. But if you ignore that, i could not have asked for more. If Nick the barman reads this the statue made it in one piece.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

Stayed here on a skiing trip over Xmas 2007.

When we arrived after a 12 hour journey we were greeted by a friendly australian lady and made to feel at home.

The room was a little shabby (they've probably refurb'd since) and the noise from the upstairs room was quite annoying. There was a Japanese family with 2 young children - the parents allowed them to wear ski boots in the room. The hotel (I think) is timber framed so the noise from the boots became unbearable.

I called the manager (after complaining at the front desk) who came to check on the noise. The manager then moved us to another room for one night but promised us the Presedential Suite for the last 2 nights of our stay. He came up with the goods and moved us in the suite which really made the holiday a truly great experience.

Banff is the kind of place with one road in and one road out. I didnt want to leave. Everywhere we went, from the slopes at Sunshine to the pubs on Banff avenue, the Canadian's really know how to treat their tourists well! Friendly, polite and generally happy happy people.

I want to live in Banff and if I could afford it, I'd live in the Presidential Suite of the Mount Royal!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

The beds couldn't be more confortable! You can have a nice hot bath after skiing or even better a good hot tub. Views from the room were great. The best spot for new year as everyone gathers just outside at 12oclock. All resturants are very close which is good because the price of food and drinks can be a bit eye watering for those trying to watch the pennies. Staff were very helpful. Pick up for skiing is on the doorstep. GREAT HOTEL! :)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
Free internet...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#5 of 33 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,403 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Banff International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
City Center, Mi...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Quiet, City Cen...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.