We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Scottburgh, South Africa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Incredibly convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I read a few reviews before staying here, but as we were here for a mini-conference the booking was fait-accompli. I was pleasantly surprised to have nice room of comfortable size, comfortable bed, nice big screen TV so I didnt have to fall asleep while destroying my glasses; clean bathrooms and all the bathroom amenities one needed.

We also had ample parking and the hotel was quite full. The hotel bar is cosy and festively noisy. The bar staff very attentive and the food served was both prompt and tasty.

The meeting room we had was fine for the number of people and we were well looked after with food and drinks. The restaurant attached to the hotel is a Tony Roma's. Breakfasts there were predictable by content but good, hearty and tasty.

The location of the hotel is excellent. Its right in the middle of Banff, shopping, pubs and restaurants are all within a short walk. Whilst not opulent luxury (rather faded glory) I would not hesitate to stay here again. The staff were wonderful, eager to please and an exceptionally cheerful bunch.

The price we paid was in keeping with what we expected.

Room Tip: Apparently there are some small rooms that elicit complaints and some larger rooms which everyone fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    229
    140
    54
    28
See reviews for
92
277
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stay one night here and i was appreciated for its location, many shops and food around, value of money and big room. Their staff is helpful too, especially for my parking issue. It is truely that I will stay again if i back

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Eric H,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel, we are very pleased to hear that you had such a good stay with us!

We thank you for your kind words about our staff and the hotel, we look forward to having you stay with us when you are in the area again!


Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely

Therese Gunnars
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here for 5 nights recently for a ski/snow board trip. It was clean and the location was perfect for what we wanted to do. Ski bus pick up in the back lot. Close to restaurants, ski shops, and bars. It was clean and the staff were very friendly and always helpful. The room was a bit small for us and all our ski clothes but was completely comfortable. The coffee maker worked and the bathroom was clean with enough towels for two. I would recommend this hotel for people who are looking for a good clean place to stay that is close and convenient. Find the elevator to the side of the hotel to access Banff Ave for easy entrance and exit. Also the rear lobby elevator is the fastest in the building.

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Bruce S,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel, we are very pleased to hear that you had such a good stay with us and thank you for your kind words about our staff.

Some of the rooms in our hotel unfortunately are a little smaller, but should you come back in the future we’d be very happy to provide you with a more spacious room for your ski equipment etc. We always try our very best to accommodate all requests that we get!

Despite this we are glad that you had an overall good experience with your visit to Banff and look forward to having you stay with us when you are in the area again!


Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely

Therese Gunnars
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotels best asset is its location, literally in the middle of town and on the main street means that it is perfect walking distance to pretty much anywhere. The rooms weren't massive but they were adequate and clean. House keeping didn't come one of the three nights we stayed, but the hotel staff were polite enough, but not overly helpful. We loved Banff though, definitely would go back. And if you want somewhere good for breakfast, Tooloulou's across the street is amazing!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear dsm2211,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that you didn’t find our staff overly helpful, and assure you that we take all feedback seriously in order to improve our service and make it a better experience for guests.
Should you come back in the future we will do our very best to make sure you have the best experience possible.

Despite this we are happy to hear that you had an overall good stay with us and that you enjoyed your time in Banff! We hope to see you stay with us again in the future!

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely

Therese Gunnars
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicine hat
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and i chose this hotel because of it's location as well as it's grand appearance. Our room was small, but we knew this when we booked. It was clean but very noisy. Pop machines somewhere in the hotel would be a good idea as well as room service. My only complaint would of been the parking issues. It would seem as though there is not enough parking for all guests and you end up parking 2 blocks away and heaving all your luggage through the snow. The staff where great and would probably never book during the busier summer months when parking is even worse.Otherwise our romantic weekend was memorable. This hotel has alot of character and worth the money.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing Banff ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear MedicineHatPookaloo

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost I would like to address your concerns about parking. We apologize for the issues you experienced and as you quite rightly said, it is extremely limited.

You might be surprised to learn that parking is less of an issue in the summertime due to the large amount of bus tours we get which alleviates the amount of vehicles in our lot (although it still remains one of Banffs biggest and most contentious issues) and please do feel free even in the case of lack of parking to bring your vehicle to our back door temporarily to unload your luggage where we also have bell service if you require.

We also appreciate your other suggestions such as adding room service to the hotel, this is only a temporary issue due to licensing agreements and pop machines are available on the second and third floors, feel free to ask our Front Desk should you return for their exact location.

We are glad despite some of the issues you experienced you had an overall positive stay and we thank you again for your feedback in order to create an even better guest experience going into the future.

We hope to welcome you back to the Mount Royal Hotel very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything you could want. Very helpful staff, nice bar with good food. Excellent location, we spent our time walking in the area, shopping in the town and going out to eat and drink. Well served by the Brewster transport, getting back to Calgary or on to Lake Louise was very easy from here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear David T

We thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback regarding your visit to the Mount Royal Hotel.

We are very happy to hear you had such a positive experience with us and we thank you for your kind words about our staff and for pointing out our fantastic location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

It was a pleasure to have you stay us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mount Royal Hotel very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here for a weekend getaway in November and it was a nice old hotel, very cool looking on the outside and the room was nice and spacious with large ceilings and two beds. Hallway noises were present but not as bad as expected. Great view of the busy road from the room.

Hotel staff was mildly curt when we did not have a credit card (visa debit booked on Expedia) and although I understand a deposit is the norm in case of rowdy partiers but I did feel mildly off put. We just gave cash as a deposit and they sent someone up to check the room before we departed

Signs are super unclear where to park as well as the map given, I did receive a ticket which the front desk called up in the morning to warn us about which was nice so we could move the car. Be careful with parking.

Tony Roma's fairly standard. Had a lunch there one day. We got a voucher for use at the location for not utilizing housekeeping but it was as we were checking out so it was pretty useless.

Good hotel for a weekend excursion, did not spend a lot of time in the room, would stay again if Banff trip is in our future.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear ranillabean

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

First and foremost I would like to address your concern about the damage deposit given on check-in. To be fair to all guests we do require one from every person that checks in with us and it is certainly not intended to put you off and we also apologize for the issues you experienced with parking, we are glad our staff could be so helpful however in assisting you to avoid further parking tickets.

We are glad to hear that despite some of these issues cited you had an overall positive experience with us and would return.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mount Royal Hotel very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.