We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was good enough.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“it was good enough.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The price was very good so we chose it. Quite honestly, based on the price the hotel, it could have gone either way, but it was reasonably clean, free parking and wifi so I can't complain. Best of all was location in the heart of downtown.

It's not a quiet hotel and you can hear doors slamming and partiers outside at 3am quite easily, but it didn't really disturb our sleep.

On the downside, their was a lot of dust and the bed skirts were in disarray which indicates careless maid service. It appears the room was recently renovated, but done poorly. The carpet doesn't tuck underneath the transition between it and the tile in the bathroom, their are paint splatters on the floor, door hinges and laminates in the bathroom and the nail holes were not filled in on the laminate counters in the bathroom. Nothing that affected our stay, but just a sign of overall sloppiness with the maintenance of the hotel

If the price was right I'd stay here again but I feel no loyalty or need to come back.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    222
    137
    53
    27
See reviews for
91
268
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We mixed conference attendance in Banff with some skiing at Sunshine. The hotel provided comfortable accommodation, a ski package, and ski storage. Front desk staff were very helpful. Breakfasts were generous and set us up for the day. The hotel bar had a welcome ambience.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear RossGeelong

We are very happy to hear that you had such a positive experience with us and we thank you very much for taking the time to write this glowing review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

Experiences like yours are what we strive to provide all of our guests and on behalf of all of us at Brewster Hospitality I would like to say it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mount Royal Hotel in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is great for what it is...a perfectly located downtown Banff hotel with easy access to the ski resorts. I experienced none of the noise issues that others are mentioning...maybe I got lucky or maybe I'm just a deep sleeper. You go to Banff to ski, drink, and eat. If you do those 3 things...and do them right...you'll sleep through anything. I did request a room in the rear of the hotel and turned the AC fan on high for some white noise...which may have helped as well. Parking was a breeze and having the ski bus pick up right behind the hotel could not have been easier.

It's not the Fairmont, but it's not trying to be either. Enjoy it for what it is. A great place to lay your head (with very comfortable mattresses) and get to the slopes for first tracks

Room Tip: request a room towards the back of the hotel. I stayed in 269 and it was quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Tyler K

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

We are very happy to hear you had such a positive experience with us at the hotel coupled with a fantastic time skiing at the many resort options available from Banff by Skibus.

We also thank you for pointing out our fantastic location in the Heart of Downtown and we are also glad to hear you found our mattresses so comfortable.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Mount Royal Hotel very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of the hotel is great. Located right downtown, but still very affordable. The hotel is a little older, but has been renovated and kept up well. The room was clean and the staff was great. The bed was easily the comfiest I've slept in at a hotel. There are lots of great pubs/restaurants/bars close by. I would definitely stay here again. I've seen a lot of reviews complaining about noise. I didn't notice too much, but my room was away from the main street.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Steve M

On behalf of all of us at Brewster Hospitality we deeply thank you for taking the time to leave us your glowing review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

Guest experiences like yours are what we strive to provide all of our guests and we are very happy to hear you so thoroughly enjoyed our fantastic location in Downtown Banff and we thank you for your kind words about our staff.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mount Royal Hotel very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights 10th & 11th Jan 2015. Noise from guests in adjacent rooms and corridor was incredible and went on until 3am both nights. Noise outside the hotel in the street below at the front of the hotel was bad too.
It seems the hotel is nothing more than a hostel for winter sports louts.
Bar area in lobby was dirty.
Won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear James D

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you experienced with noise; we deeply regret how this affected your stay.

We are committed to giving our guests a peaceful nights sleep and our staff are always ready to deal with these types of issues when we are notified of them as far as noise within the hotel.

It is true on occasion noise outside the hotel can be very high due to our location in the heart of downtown, our staff is always ready to accommodate a room move to a quieter location if available at the back of the hotel and we also provide ear plugs to all guests as a means to mitigate this issue.

We also apologize for any lapse in cleanliness in the bar area of Tony Romas.

We hope perhaps under better circumstances in the future we will be able to welcome you back and restore your faith in the Mount Royal Hotel.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Mount Royal from the 31th December 2014 until the morning of the 2nd January 2015.

As you can imagine the price was fairly steep but this is to be expected over New Years and we knew that'd be the case.

The location of the Hotel is great, right on the main street with everything extremely close by - especially handy considering the temperature of -15 to -25 degrees! The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean.

My only complaint was the adjacent rooms making noise until 3/4am all three nights, they would be slamming doors (harder than they would just being let go) and running up and down the hallway presumably to see friends a few rooms down.

We complained on the night of the 30th and soon after they went quiet, on the night of the 31st we were fairly...inebriated ourselves and although they were still going at 4am we accepted that it was New Years Eve after all and left them to their celebrations. We also complained on the night of January 1st as we were fairly tired and nursing hangovers ourselves.

I was slightly disappointed that they weren't dealt with sooner, I was under the impression that there would be cameras in the hallways to see this kind of stuff happening but I'm guessing that wasn't the case.

Overall, it was certainly worth staying at over New Years.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear James_hannay88

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

First and foremost I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced in regards to noise. Our staff is always ready to address noise complaints as soon as we are aware of them, we are sorry they affected you but we are glad our staff could be of help in stopping the noise once we were notified.

Around that time of year it is difficult to keep a lid on the sheer amount of reveling taking place but we are glad despite these issues you had an overall positive experience and had a good New Years with us.

We also thank you for your kind words about our staff and for pointing out our fantastic location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Mount Royal Hotel.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Mount Royal is in a great location in the heart of downtown Banff. All the main restaurants and bars are close, and the ski buses leave from the car park to the rear of the hotel. The green choice policy was innovative with the guests benefiting with $5 restaurant credit if they opt out of room service. Overall offered excellent value with wifi included.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Kathy B

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your visit to the Mount Royal Hotel.

We are very happy to hear you had such a positive experience with us and enjoyed our great location, Green Choice Program and free Wi-Fi.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mount Royal Hotel very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.