We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The best I can say is that the location in Banff Avenue is great. Staff were indifferent to any complaints, room not ready at 5.00pm - not good enough. Room was ok but parts of the hotel are a little tired and must be due for an upgrade fairly soon. Repeat, location excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear AlanM827

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost I would like to sincerely apologize for some of the issues you experienced during your stay with us, we have been experiencing delay issues with our laundry contractor resulting in delayed check-in times on a few occasions this summer, but we recognize that this is not the problem of the guest and we are doing everything possible to avoid these delays and check people in as early as possible.

I regret to hear that you felt our staff were indifferent, I am confident under the difficult circumstances they did everything possible to assist you and other guests within the realm of what was possible at that time.

We are however glad to hear that you enjoyed our location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer and we once again apologize that were not able to check you in on time on the occasion of your visit.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    206
    128
    50
    26
See reviews for
90
245
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

First time at this hotel, have been other brewster properties in banff and they were ok. This experience by far is the worse I have had at any hotel.

We got there early so we asked if we could be notified if the room is available earlier, we were never notified even though they had told us that there was a good chance that the room could be available earlier (I would of just appreciated if it was not possible that we were just told that, nothing worse then over promise under deliver). We finally got in the room and wow I have never seen a room that was this dirty, there were marks all over the carpet.......a crack in the wall of the tub (right by the shower head), on top of that there was a wet spot on the carpet in front of the washroom door (about 1 feet by 1 feet). So I went downstairs to talk front desk, she looked at me like I was just complaining about something that wasnt that big of a deal. She then said that she would call maintenance to have a look at it, not sure if maintenance looked at it but the wet spot got worse when we got back in the room.....she also did not follow up and let us know what was going on.

I totally understand the price for this hotel was very good, and we should not be complaining. The fact is I have never wrote a review like this, but I strongly feel that this experience has to be shared as I would not like anyone else to go through this.

I would never go back to Mount Royal Hotel, because I truly believe as a customer I was not valued and that really angers. If there was a option to do 0 starts I would for this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear CoVinhLuong,

Thank-you for your honest and detailed review, and I apologize unreservedly for the disappointing experience that you had while staying with us. I have passed on your concerns about the condition of the room to our Maintenance Manager and Executive Housekeeper, and we will be sure to address them.

I'm also sorry that we were not able to prepare the room earlier than our regular check-in time for you. As you no doubt noticed, Banff is extremely busy at this time of the year and although we are usually able to accommodate (hence our Front Desk team saying that there was a good chance), occasionally we just aren't able to prepare the room quickly enough. I apologize that you felt we over-promised and under-delivered, that is certainly the opposite of our service philosophy.

I hope that you would consider giving us another try to improve on this experience the next time that you visit Banff.

Best Regards,
Carl Rickards
Front Office Manager, Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diogo, Thies, Senegal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights when visiting Banff, we chose the hotel due to its location which is right in the heart of the main strip "Banff ave" we chose this so we didn't have to drive all the time to go out for a few drinks,
The Hotel itself was very clean and tidy, We stayed in the 2 rooms next to the penthouse suite which was very peaceful and quiet!
We had a issue with the toilet which was fixed straight away with a friendly service.
There is a tony romas just below where we had breakfast the one morning and it was a buffet style breakfast for $12, which done the job so to speak.
Parking around the rear of the hotel was a great feature too plenty of room for lots more vehicles.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear 243DavidF243

On behalf of all of us here at Brewster Hospitality we were like to sincerely thank you for your 5 star review of our property and we are very glad to hear that you had such a fantastic time in Banff and that our staff were prompt in fixing the issue with your toilet.

Our goal is always to provide the best guest experience possible and we are very happy that you felt we reached that goal on the occasion of your visit.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Mount Royal Hotel again in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

A very busy hotel though tired a d showing signs of wear, some carpets worn and grubby.A shame as it would take little to rectify.Bedroom small,portable aircon unit, comfortable small double bed and tiny bathroom.Safe was useful.Staff were young helpful and enthusiastic from many nations.Dinner taken in lounge as restaurant was busy.Good food well cooked & presented.Breakfast your average hot buffet.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Globaltraveller55

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we would like to sincerely apologize for some of the issues you brought up in your review; we have currently embarked on a program through our maintenance department to clean every carpet in the hotel to address the concerns of our guests.

We are however happy that you found our staff so helpful and you are quite right, we are made up of many nations at the Front Desk including South Africa, Sweden, the UK, Australia, the Philippines, Canada and Germany.

We once again thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts so we can know our strengths and address our weaknesses to provide the best guest experience possible going into the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The hotel is in an amazing location with all the shops and restaurants right on your doorstop. However, the rooms themselves so very badly need some money spent on them! Although large rooms the carpets were badly stained and ripped and the furniture damaged. The front of house staff are very good and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Catherine H

Thank for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we apologize for the various issues you brought up in your review in regards to the state of the room, this is not consistent with our standards and your comments have been passed on to both our housekeeping and maintenance department to address.

We are however happy to hear that you found our staff helpful and that you enjoyed our location in the Heart of Banff which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all the Bow Valley has to offer.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future to improve upon this experience.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Since we were not driving, we wanted a downtown location for walking to the regional sites. Mount Royal was a good choice. Aside from the noisy neighbors who were eventually quieted, the staff was very helpful all around. The breakfast buffet was gratis because of the overnight noise and it was busy because of a tour group. All in all it was OK and convenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Sparky6843

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost I would like to apologize for the issues you had with noise, I’m glad our staff could solve that situation for you.

We regret to hear that your stay was only satisfactory; our goal is to exceed guest expectations which we clearly have not done on this occasion.

However as you said it was a good choice, we hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermiston, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

It is an older hotel but can't beat being smack downtown of Banff. All the other hotels were way out on Timbuktu. So we did good. It wasn't noisy at all though we booked early and got a good room on the top floor.

If noise bothers u you should get some earplugs they work wonders. My mom and I have also figured on taking to small fans if your driving . the fans helped allot in the room.

The room was clean beds comfortable and the room nice and cool.

Has free WiFi and free parking its not hard to find once u get a map of the parking.

The staff is knowledgeable and always helpful and friendly and greet you with a smile.

Over all 100% satisfied if we ever get back this way the mount royal is the place to stay !!!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Rebekah Oakensh... H

We would like to thank you very much for your glowing review of the Mount Royal Hotel, our goal is 100% guest satisfaction and we are very pleased to hear that for yourself and your mother we were able to provide you with such a fantastic stay, complemented with a fantastic time in Banff.

We also thank you for your kind words about our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mount Royal Hotel should your journeys bring you back to Banff.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.