We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed at the Mount Royal in July, found the Staff very friendly unfortunately the Room we were allocated was past its sell by date. Tried to tune in the radio and the bedside shelf fell on my foot.Not a good start.The plus side of the Hotel is the location right in the centre of Town.

Room Tip: Avoid end of corridor rooms, ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Arthur S

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we are happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and that you enjoyed our location in the Heart of Banff, which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We regret to hear that you did not enjoy the room assigned to you during your stay, some of our rooms do feature slightly older decor and we are very sorry that we were not able to offer you a different room.

We are also very concerned about your comments regarding the bedside shelf, please accept our sincerest apologies and we have passed your comments onto our maintenance department in order to avoid these kinds of issues in the future.

Many of our rooms do feature an updated decor and feel and we hope you will give us another chance to improve upon this experience and we’d be happy to accommodate you in one of the aforementioned room types should your journeys bring you back to Banff.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    231
    141
    54
    29
See reviews for
93
281
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great location, freindly staff, especially the guy on the tours/info , he was ver good, Dan I think they called him.
Beds are so comfy, could have slept in them for hours, but too much to do !
Slap bang in the middle of the town, can't get any more central, didn't go for the breakfast option, as it was a little on the expensive side, but there are plenty of other options, and McDonalds 50m away is a fail safe option if all else fails!

The Hotel is obviously old, but it is has pretty tidy rooms, that look ike they have had half a make over, the Beds/Bathroom ect have all new decor, but the carpets leave a lot to be desired, ours was full of stains, that hadnt been cleaned very well, one obviously looked like someone had been sick over the side of the bed, which is not a nice sight, and let the hotel down for me, when the receptionist asked if my stay was good, I said everything was great but you need new carpets in the room, she agreed, so the hotel know about the problem.

Apart from that its a great base, at the end of the day, you only sleep there most of the time , and its central location and free parking are its main plus points. It does have free wifi , albeit a little slow at times .
If you are in one of the end rooms like we were, be aware of the ice making machine at the end , this is noisy for the rooms are the very end I would think, also you an use the lift at that side of the hotel which takes you straight down to the main street, so you dont have to walk all the way down the hallway to get out of the hotel, something a lot of people who stayed didn't know about

Room Tip: Dont get one near the end of the corridors near the ice making machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Paul C

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review about your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay, this is not at all consistent with our standards and your troubling comments have been passed on to our housekeeping department in order to ensure these kinds of shortfalls are avoided in the future.

But we do thank you for your kind words about our staff and we are very happy to hear you so thoroughly enjoyed our beds and our location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We hope you will choose to stay at the Mount Royal Hotel again when your travels bring you back to the area.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckingham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

After a long flight to Calgary and arriving in awful weather, the Mount Royal was a good place to recover and acclimatise. Although the decor is rather dark and a bit tired, everything was spotlessly clean, the room well equipped and the bed extremely comfortable. The location is excellent and it takes seconds to reach a wide range of shops and restaurants, mere minutes to reach the lovely riverside walks. We had both dinner and breakfast in the attached restaurant. There was a comprehensive, if a bit expensive, buffet breakfast, which was very welcome. The staff were very helpful when we arrived tired and disorientated and readily facilitated a change of room for one of our party.
A couple of tips if you are heading into the Rockies: the local Safeway store will make you sandwiches to order. Also, the Bow Valley Parkway route to Lake Louise was beautiful. We took a pleasant detour into Kootenay NP and were rewarded with our first Grizzly Bear sighting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear wendy h

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel

We are very happy to hear you had such a thoroughly positive experience with us and that you enjoyed the location and comfort of our beds and we also thank you for your kind words about our staff, being on the front desk myself it is always good to hear we are achieving that which we set out to do.

We also thank you for the wonderful tips you have left your fellow travellers about the area.

We hope to welcome you back to the Mount Royal Hotel when your travels bring you to Banff again.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This very large hotel is very well located in Banff downtown but this must be their best benefit..
All coach tours overnight here and independent travellers seem not very welcome.
We complained about A/C and Wifi not working in our room but these problems have never been solved.
Parking spaces were not sufficient and we had to park in another lot.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear rimage2000

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay, for our Wi-Fi we have recently upgraded our entire network which we believe has resolved the problem. For the A/C we are very sorry that we failed to resolve this issue, your comments have been passed on to the relevant department heads to better address these issues in the future as it should have been dealt with during your stay.

As you also mentioned parking was an issue during your stay and we once again apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused, due to land restrictions within national park boundaries and particularly in downtown Banff on occasion we do struggle with capacity as we are not allowed to construct anymore parking spaces.

But primarily we would like to assure you that we welcome all guests, group and individual alike and we apologize for anything that gave a different impression as all our guests are important to us.

We hope despite your difficulties during this stay you would allow us the chance to improve upon this experience in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We love the location of this hotel.. Its right in downtown Banff with everything in walking distance.. However, the hotel itself is just ok. It isn't anything fancy but has all the amenities and good service. We asked for a King room, which was tucked away in a corner with no view. Plenty if parking is available and its free.. Its one of the oldest hotel in Banff, and I would recommend it overall as long as you are not expecting 5 star standards.. They often have great deals on their website so I recommend booking directly with them..

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Aarij B

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for anything that did not meet your expectations, as you pointed out we may not be a 5 star hotel but we always strive to exceed the expectations of our guests and it wouldn’t appear we did so on this occasion.

However we are glad to hear that you find great value in the deals we offer and that our service level could be one of the highpoints of your visit.

We hope you will stay with us again and that we can improve upon this experience going into the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary,canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

An average hotel,but clean and close to all downtown activities,if your a skier the ski buses arrive at the back of this hotel each morning,so convenience is key here,friendly staff,on site restaurant,nice indoor Jacuzzi area as well,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear jack123156

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

We are very happy to hear you had an overall positive experience during your stay with us and we thank you for pointing some of the facilities we offer our guests and for your kind words about our staff who always strive to create positive experiences for our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to the Mount Royal very soon

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Pretty much the only good thing about the hotel is the location (and the desk staff are great too)
We stayed here for 3 days and the location could not be beat, and the free parking was great too. The hotel was dated, carpet was ripped and the room was dark. The toilet did not flush, we had no soap in our room, and our towels were not changed once.

None of this would matter except you go to a hotel to sleep and this hotel is the noisiest I have ever experienced. We were put next to an ice making and the the laundry room which was going till well past midnight. The pipes in the hotel kept me up till after 3am and I sleep like a log and was exhausted by the time I went to bed. The doors were really thin and you can hear everyone in the hallways who are coming and going at 3-4am every night.

I went to a bar every night, and I am no stranger to having a good time, but I still need to sleep (particularly when every activity in Banff requires an 8am start) and I got maybe 4 hours sleep a night. The hotel has long hallways and narrow doors and poor pluming - a dangerous combination. Might want to look elsewhere if you want to actually enjoy your vacation.

Room Tip: 4th floor I heard were out of the way but I would take it in a heartbeat if you want to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear murphers,

Thank-you very much for your review. I apologize for the issues that affected your experience with us, and I would like to assure you that I will pass your concerns on to our Maintenance and Housekeeping departments to be addressed. Our guest laundry closes at 10pm for noise reasons, so it should not have disturbed you anywhere near midnight. I will personally check to ensure that access to this facility is being properly restricted after hours, and that the ice machine is functioning correctly.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our downtown location, and I hope that you might be willing to consider giving us a chance to improve on this experience on your next visit to Banff.

Best Regards,

Carl Rickards
Front Office Manager
Mount Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.