We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great downtown location,walk to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 hotels in Banff
calgary,canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“great downtown location,walk to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

An average hotel,but clean and close to all downtown activities,if your a skier the ski buses arrive at the back of this hotel each morning,so convenience is key here,friendly staff,on site restaurant,nice indoor Jacuzzi area as well,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    195
    106
    45
    26
See reviews for
77
223
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Pretty much the only good thing about the hotel is the location (and the desk staff are great too)
We stayed here for 3 days and the location could not be beat, and the free parking was great too. The hotel was dated, carpet was ripped and the room was dark. The toilet did not flush, we had no soap in our room, and our towels were not changed once.

None of this would matter except you go to a hotel to sleep and this hotel is the noisiest I have ever experienced. We were put next to an ice making and the the laundry room which was going till well past midnight. The pipes in the hotel kept me up till after 3am and I sleep like a log and was exhausted by the time I went to bed. The doors were really thin and you can hear everyone in the hallways who are coming and going at 3-4am every night.

I went to a bar every night, and I am no stranger to having a good time, but I still need to sleep (particularly when every activity in Banff requires an 8am start) and I got maybe 4 hours sleep a night. The hotel has long hallways and narrow doors and poor pluming - a dangerous combination. Might want to look elsewhere if you want to actually enjoy your vacation.

Room Tip: 4th floor I heard were out of the way but I would take it in a heartbeat if you want to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear murphers,

Thank-you very much for your review. I apologize for the issues that affected your experience with us, and I would like to assure you that I will pass your concerns on to our Maintenance and Housekeeping departments to be addressed. Our guest laundry closes at 10pm for noise reasons, so it should not have disturbed you anywhere near midnight. I will personally check to ensure that access to this facility is being properly restricted after hours, and that the ice machine is functioning correctly.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our downtown location, and I hope that you might be willing to consider giving us a chance to improve on this experience on your next visit to Banff.

Best Regards,

Carl Rickards
Front Office Manager
Mount Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had 3 nights at this hotel. We found it a very pleasant stay, was clean and staff were very helpful. All toiletries provided, and there were even ear plugs in the room when we arrived (our room was at the front of the hotel.). We didn't need the ear plugs as didn't find it too noisy. Hotel is close to all restaurants, coffee shops, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear BikerGal650

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments about your recent stay with us at the Mount Royal Hotel

We are very pleased to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your kind words about our staff and for pointing out our fantastic location, which does make it very convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We hope to welcome you again to the Mount Royal when you travels bring you back to the area.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

overall good location stayed for one night , the front desk she was helpful , the room was good 3th floor at the back overlooking the car parking , the bathroom was small 1/2 renovated , when we took the room they told us that they have a small fridge , but when we got to the room it wasn't there so I call the front desk and ask where is the fridge she say oh this room have no fridge I said you told us there is a fridge she say sorry but there is no fridge the hotel is full and this was the last rooms for tonight , but if you want to put some stuff in the fridge get it down to the front desk and we will put it for you ? I said no thanks . clean room , we slept good but the condition was loud in the room old one , and the sounds off the music is loud till 1:30 or 2:00 Am they put earplugs for you in the rooms ?????

Room Tip: Rooms on the back overlooking the car parking and the buss ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear fredrek

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

We apologize for any inconvenience in regards to the issues you had with the fridge, due to the older electrical infrastructure of our building we cannot guarantee fridges to any of our guests as we feature very few rooms that have them, we are very sorry if the incorrect information was relayed to you.

We would also like to apologize for any issues you may have had with noise during your stay, we have passed all comments on to the relevant department heads in order to address these issues.

We thank you once again for taking the time to leave us your comments

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Mount Royal for 1 night reception was very friendly and efficient special mention for Ben came across in a very professional manner. Had a room on the third floor at the back overlooking the car park. Room was clean spacious and comfortable. The standout feature of this hotel is the location right in the centre of downtown which is perfect.
Hotel has a bar which is pleasant and used as an overflow for Tony Romas. Overall a good stay in a well run hotel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Globalbum

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for pointing out our fantastic location in the Heart of Banff which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We also thank you particularly for your kind words about our staff, we have passed on your comments to the staff member you cited and his manager, they will be very happy to hear they could have such a positive impact on your holiday.

We thank you again for taking the time to leave us your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Mount Royal Hotel very soon

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overall service was good and it is in a prime location for anyone looking at resteraunts, night life, etc. The only thing that caught my attention was the water from the tab was very cloudy, almost white. Water seemed to be dirty.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear devlinryan7

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we would like to assure you that the water from our taps is not dirty.

Sometimes air becomes trapped in the water mains. The air dissolves in the water when it’s under pressure but, once you turn your tap on and the pressure is released, tiny air bubbles are formed. This gives the water its white or cloudy appearance, so it is nothing to worry about.

However we are happy to hear you had an overall positive experience staying with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose this hotel because of the location in the thick of things. We were not disappointed in this respect. We were on our second leg of driving through the Rockies.
We parked our car out in the car park and went through to reception to be told our room was ready for us. Great so far.
Our room was on the 4th floor!!!!
We had to leave the lift on 2nd or 3rd floor, walk along the corridor, down some stairs and into the second lift that took us to the 4th floor. Such a palaver.
Saying that, the second lift will take you all the way down to Banff Avenue, just as far from the car park and reception as you can get.
We had a lovely view of the mountains and the room was very nice. The staff in the hotel were lovely, especially the very polite young man in the bar. We would not recommend the buffet breakfast, as when we had it, it was cold. On our last day we tried to have the menu breakfast
but this was unavailable due to some problem in the kitchen.
We did actually have a really special breakfast at the Fairmont Banff Spring Hotel.
We went to see The Rocky Mountaineer come into the station (2 hours late) and was surprised to find some of the passengers in the room next to ours.
Tommy's, next door was a great place to go for a pub meal and a drink.
Nice hotel and great location. Lovely area.

Room Tip: If you do not want to walk too far, ask for a room NOT on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Suzannejones

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel

We thank you very much for your kind words about our property and our staff, we are committed to providing excellent customer service and facilities and are extremely happy to have met those expectations during your stay with us.

We would however like to apologize for any issues you may have had breakfast on both occasions, your comments have been passed on to the restaurant to address the issues you have brought up in your review.

We once again thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments and hope to welcome you back to the Mount Royal should you return to the area.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.