We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location , old Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location , old Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

overall good location stayed for one night , the front desk she was helpful , the room was good 3th floor at the back overlooking the car parking , the bathroom was small 1/2 renovated , when we took the room they told us that they have a small fridge , but when we got to the room it wasn't there so I call the front desk and ask where is the fridge she say oh this room have no fridge I said you told us there is a fridge she say sorry but there is no fridge the hotel is full and this was the last rooms for tonight , but if you want to put some stuff in the fridge get it down to the front desk and we will put it for you ? I said no thanks . clean room , we slept good but the condition was loud in the room old one , and the sounds off the music is loud till 1:30 or 2:00 Am they put earplugs for you in the rooms ?????

Room Tip: Rooms on the back overlooking the car parking and the buss ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear fredrek

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

We apologize for any inconvenience in regards to the issues you had with the fridge, due to the older electrical infrastructure of our building we cannot guarantee fridges to any of our guests as we feature very few rooms that have them, we are very sorry if the incorrect information was relayed to you.

We would also like to apologize for any issues you may have had with noise during your stay, we have passed all comments on to the relevant department heads in order to address these issues.

We thank you once again for taking the time to leave us your comments

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    261
    155
    64
    35
See reviews for
112
318
38
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed at the Mount Royal for 1 night reception was very friendly and efficient special mention for Ben came across in a very professional manner. Had a room on the third floor at the back overlooking the car park. Room was clean spacious and comfortable. The standout feature of this hotel is the location right in the centre of downtown which is perfect.
Hotel has a bar which is pleasant and used as an overflow for Tony Romas. Overall a good stay in a well run hotel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Globalbum

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for pointing out our fantastic location in the Heart of Banff which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We also thank you particularly for your kind words about our staff, we have passed on your comments to the staff member you cited and his manager, they will be very happy to hear they could have such a positive impact on your holiday.

We thank you again for taking the time to leave us your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Mount Royal Hotel very soon

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Overall service was good and it is in a prime location for anyone looking at resteraunts, night life, etc. The only thing that caught my attention was the water from the tab was very cloudy, almost white. Water seemed to be dirty.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear devlinryan7

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we would like to assure you that the water from our taps is not dirty.

Sometimes air becomes trapped in the water mains. The air dissolves in the water when it’s under pressure but, once you turn your tap on and the pressure is released, tiny air bubbles are formed. This gives the water its white or cloudy appearance, so it is nothing to worry about.

However we are happy to hear you had an overall positive experience staying with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We chose this hotel because of the location in the thick of things. We were not disappointed in this respect. We were on our second leg of driving through the Rockies.
We parked our car out in the car park and went through to reception to be told our room was ready for us. Great so far.
Our room was on the 4th floor!!!!
We had to leave the lift on 2nd or 3rd floor, walk along the corridor, down some stairs and into the second lift that took us to the 4th floor. Such a palaver.
Saying that, the second lift will take you all the way down to Banff Avenue, just as far from the car park and reception as you can get.
We had a lovely view of the mountains and the room was very nice. The staff in the hotel were lovely, especially the very polite young man in the bar. We would not recommend the buffet breakfast, as when we had it, it was cold. On our last day we tried to have the menu breakfast
but this was unavailable due to some problem in the kitchen.
We did actually have a really special breakfast at the Fairmont Banff Spring Hotel.
We went to see The Rocky Mountaineer come into the station (2 hours late) and was surprised to find some of the passengers in the room next to ours.
Tommy's, next door was a great place to go for a pub meal and a drink.
Nice hotel and great location. Lovely area.

Room Tip: If you do not want to walk too far, ask for a room NOT on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Suzannejones

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel

We thank you very much for your kind words about our property and our staff, we are committed to providing excellent customer service and facilities and are extremely happy to have met those expectations during your stay with us.

We would however like to apologize for any issues you may have had breakfast on both occasions, your comments have been passed on to the restaurant to address the issues you have brought up in your review.

We once again thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments and hope to welcome you back to the Mount Royal should you return to the area.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Rained out for camping, we had to find a hotel. Not much was left so we paid $250 + tax + fees for a king room. Carpet is tattered and stained, the bathroom is half updated, tv is on a weird bench pulled out because you can't see it from the bed. Honestly, for the price we should have gone to a Fairmont or Rimrock.
Perks are good location and a Tony Romas restaurant is in the hotel. Staff was nice, and the bed was comfortable. Hotel is quite run down - poor value.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear VicaYEG

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we deeply regret that you did not find our hotel satisfactory during your stay with us and we apologize we were not able to rectify the situation during your visit.

We are however pleased that our staff and beds

We are committed to providing the best customer service and facilities possible and we once again apologize for not meeting that standard on this occasion, we hope that you would consider us in the future as we would do everything we can to ensure a better outcome.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We liked it. Nice olde worlde charm, very central location with a great view of the mountains and free parking. Great bed, not a great bath. Very noisy in our corridor, not helped by a big gap under the door. The loveliest staff made a big difference to our experience. A good value breakfast was had at Tony Romas (attached) that tasted OK. I can’t comment on price as it was part of a package.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear cheekychubbychops

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First of all I would like to point out that your username is fantastic. Secondly we take great pride that our staff were able to affect your holiday in such a positive way, being on the front desk myself, it’s always good to hear that our efforts are appreciated and that we are achieving that which we set out to do.

But please accept our apologies for any issues you may have experienced with noise during your stay, we also do thank you for pointing out our location and free parking which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We very much hope we will welcome you back to the Mount Royal when you return to the area.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durhan (United Kingdom)
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We visited this hotel 3 years ago and were disappointed on this visit. We were booked into a second floor room on the main street but we did not expect to be kept awake between 01.30 and 02.30 by noisy revelers from 3 nearby pubs. we did change rooms for the rest of the stay and no problems with the front desk in doing this but i was a little surprised to be advised at my complaint that this after all was a party town!
The change in room was fine however taking the buffet breakfast was a mistake as the hot part of the breakfast was very cold neither did anyone ask me if the food was satisfactory. This put me off eating here at night. I would not stay at this centre town location again i would choose to stay further down the street towards the outskirts of town where the are plenty of comfortable hotels with restaurants attached. l

Room Tip: If you are not here to" party in party town" ask for a room at the rear of the hotel facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Catnap50plus

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel

Please accept our apologies for any issues you may have had with noise during your stay. Especially on weekends Banff does feature many lively Bars and nightclubs in downtown within close proximity to our property and on occasion this can lead to issues with noise, but we are glad our staff could accommodate a room change for the rest of your stay.

We would also like to apologize for any issues you may have had with food quality, we have shared your comments with the relevant department heads in order to improve quality going into the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Banff International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#20 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 944 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.