We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Clean, but bit noisy!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, Clean, but bit noisy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The room was fairly clean and modern, but as we stayed in the second floor, it was very noisy from the people walking upstairs. We could hear creeking and stumping noise from upstairs. Strongly recommend to pick a top floor room. The best of the hotel is the friendly staff and great location, it is right in downtown.

Room Tip: Must choose the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear DKReviews,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the loud noises you experienced from the guests staying above you. Should you experience any issues or discomforts please contact the front desk and we will be happy to assist you.

We are however very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff and great location.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back should you return to Banff.

Sincerely,

Meaghan Young
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    268
    157
    68
    38
See reviews for
121
324
39
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Had a great stay at Mount Royal. The beds were incredible - only criticism is that we found it hard to get out of them to explore banff! Fantastic value for money and in the perfect location right in the centre of town. Would definitely stay again in the future.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Paula1305

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

It is fantastic to hear that you found such great value in our property and please accept our apologies that you found our beds so comfortable; our intention was not to impede your exploration of the area.

We do also thank you for pointing out our fantastic location in the heart of Banff which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful BC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The staff here were all exceptionally welcoming and helpful. The room was very clean and the bed quite comfortable. Rate was very reasonable. It is very handy to great restaurants and shopping as well as local bus service. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Request a room at the "back" off the main street (quieter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Miraclesmom

Thank you for your very kind words about your recent visit to the Mount Royal Hotel
It is fantastic to know that you found our staff so exceptional during your visit, being among them it is always good to know that we are achieving that which we set out to do and we thank you for these comments and it is also good to hear that you found such great value in our property and you enjoyed our rooms as well.

We hope to welcome you back very soon

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were staying in Banff for one night before going to the Fairmont Lake Louise. This hotel was convenient for that purpose alone. The room was very outdated. And the bathroom was more or less horrible. I wouldn't even take a shower there because it was that bad. Tiles were coming off the floor, the toilet paper was at least 3 or 4 feet from the toilet, you really needed to have Go-go-gadget arms in order to reach it.

Our luggage didn't arrive on our flight and we were awoken at 1am by the bell stand to tell us it had arrived. Lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Ikslum19:

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We always strive to anticipate our guest's expectations and I am very sorry that we did not meet yours. Most of our rooms have been renovated lately and have a sleek, modern look combined with the older character of the downtown building. We have also extensively refurbished our bathrooms. The issues that you experienced are not common and I apologize that you experienced them. We will certainly address the issues you found with great speed and thank you once more for your vaulable feedback.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We booked two rooms last year when visiting and showing some friends from overseas around. I've been to a lot of hotels in Banff around the same price range as this one and they all seem to be very outdated, however the Mount Royal hotel rooms are very modern, sleek, yet still very comfortable and nice. Staff was nice, rooms were clean, and the view was very nice (Banff Ave.) It is also an extremely convenient place to stay, as everything you need - restaurants, mall, shops - are very close by including the awesome ice cream shop and candy store! Great place to stay for the price you are paying.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Cynthia L,

We are delighted that you found our rooms simultaneously modern, clean and comfortable. We intend to provide great value in a great location with very nice staff and to receive your feedback that we hit the mark with you is gratifying to everyone in the venture.

We thank you for taking the time to post your comments, and should you be back in Banff, we hope to provide the same great value.

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at the Mount Royal with my wife in December. We loved it and were very happy with our choice. Value was excellent as we booked using the third night free deal. We had a fantastic room that had a great view out over the street and up to the mountains. Parking was free behind the hotel and we easily got a park every time we needed to which was great during the very busy Christmas-New Years period. Location in Banff is excellent, close walking distance to the whole centre of town. Staff at reception were friendly and willing to assist as much as possible.
We would definitely stay at the Mount Royal again and will be recommending to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Labroy

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

We are very glad to hear we were able to provide you with such a fantastic experience during the holiday season, we always strive to provide the best facilities and customer service possible and it’s always good to know we have met those expectations.

I have passed your comments on to our staff, who will be happy to know their efforts are appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back to the Mount Royal the next time you visit the area

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We live in Calgary and often visit Banff as its such a short and lovely drive into the mountains. We often stay downtown at numerous hotels but thought we'd give the Mount Royal a try for a change. I'll start off by saying the hotel is lovely, as are all the staff and very polite. We did encounter a few issues though. Firstly was our room. We upgraded to a kingsize room, and although the room was lovely, we were at the back with a view and the noise of the air conditioner from our window. Not what we were expecting having upgraded!! Neither was the parking. When we booked we asked about parking and was told over the phone that there was parking, and it was Free.........Not the case. Upon arrival we were told that the parking was full and we'd have to park on the street. Again not something you'd expect for the price of an upgraded room. What was particularly annoying though was the parking. The hotel doesn't have the biggest parking lot, but we we're stunned to see how many cars were parked taking up two and even three spaces!!! We mentioned this to the receptionist but we're not sure what was done about it. They need to manage what little parking they do have a lot better. Upgraded rooms should have parking guaranteed and if these rooms aren't used, then their spaces should be used at a first come first serve basis. Like i said, we stay in Banff often and it's a shame because this one thing will probably deter us from staying at the Mount Royal again.

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms don't come with guaranteed parking and some even have an A/C unit outside their w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have had with parking during your stay with us.

Unfortunately due to land restrictions within National Park boundaries and particularly in downtown, parking is one of Banffs primary issues with visitors and while we are always happy to receive constructive criticism, it is simply not feasible to provide guaranteed parking to any of our guests, regardless of room type, but we will definitely look into ways to manage our parking space more effectively.

We also do thank you for your kind words about our room and our staff.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Banff International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#20 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.