We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mount Royal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mount Royal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Having just returned from our 3rd visit to this hotel we can highly recommend it, our stay was excellent as was our room.
We found the staff, including the cleaners very welcoming, and polite, no request from us ignored, and the value for money was excellent.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

It is fantastic to hear you had such a great return visit with us and that our staff were able to provide you with the best experience possible as we always strive to do and I have passed your comments on to all of them, they’re always happy to know their efforts are appreciated.

We hope we can welcome you back many times again in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    236
    142
    55
    30
See reviews for
96
288
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poulton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Great hotel, perfect central location, relaxed friendly atmosphere. All staff we met were friendly efficient, helpful and gave excellent service. No complaints at all, would definitely recommend this hotel & would return there.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Dgrantham,

Thank you for your most recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel. I will make sure to pass on your wonderful comments to our staff.

We are so pleased that that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would be happy to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Meaghan Young
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Just returned from our annual 10 day ski holiday based in Banff. Have previously stayed at the Red Carpet (once), Inns of Banff (twice), and Caribou Lodge (3 times) on Banff Avenue, but thought we'd try the Mount Royal due to it's central location. (walking into town and back in the evenings when it's minus 20+ can be a challenge)

What a big mistake! We suffered 4 nights with virtually no sleep due to the noise from other guests until after 4am, with grown men riding luggage trolleys up and down the corridors. The noise only stopping after a security company (who must be on speed dial!) were called in to patrol the corridors.

The construction of the hotel doesn't help, the hollow floors and stairs amplifying every footstep, but the main problem is the target demographic of people out to get drunk at the weekends and returning noisily at all hours. We actually were disturbed from our first night on Wednesday right through to Sunday morning when we decided to move to another hotel for our remaining 5 days holiday

The staff, and Darren Hill the Desk Manager were very empathetic but in practice could do little to improve things, there was even a man passed out in reception at 3.40am Sunday morning whilst I was complaining about the noise! The policy of the company seems to be to attract both couples/families on 10 day skiing trips and weekend party goers, and it just doesn't work, for skiers anyway. The weekenders are too drunk to even care about anyone else.

Subsequent conversations with bar/waiting staff and taxi drivers around the town revealed that the disturbances at this hotel are well known, a ski company rep even said "noisy? people running up and down the corridors?" the moment the hotel's name was mentioned!

I feel for the frontline staff who end up having to deal with these drunken idiots, plus the sleep deprived and consequently irate guests complaining about them.

Aside from the above, I agree with some other reviews in that the hotel doesn't feel like it's been updated and beyond the foyer looks quite tired. When we checked in the radio/alarm couldn't be turned off, the electronic safe wasn't working and the bathroom door wouldn't close, so not a good first impression.

We were offered a degree of financial compensation, but we still lost out, as well as losing a day's skiing due to moving hotels, something we will never get back.

The location is great, but unless you plan to get drunk every night and sleep through the noise there are far better hotels for those on a skiing holiday.

Room Tip: Avoid the weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Mount Royal (Feb 2014) - I think I read somewhere that the hotel had recently undergone a refurb but it wasn't obvious. The rooms are dated and the carpets look old - the bathrooms certainly weren't new (except perhaps the sink??). If they have spent money recently then they didn't spend much.

The location of the hotel is definitely its best feature - Banff really isn't very big though so even the hotels which aren't so central aren't that far away from town. The breakfast (which we only had once as it was $30 for two) was average - the selection wasn't great and their was very little healthy options. You can get a much better (and cheaper) breakfast in town.

The worst thing for us was the noise in the hotel - especially at the weekends - its obviously one of the cheaper hotels in Banff and it shows in the crowds of lads it attracts. We had to ask to move rooms twice while we were there - once because we were put in the attached wing (4th floor) and felt too out of it, plus there was a constant 'hum' from a generator or something outside, and once because a group of particularly noisy lads checked in near us. The walls of the rooms really are paper thin - something I've read on here more than once.

To be fair to the staff both times when we asked to move they accommodated without question - which did make me think maybe we weren't the first people to ask?!

Other things to note - we really enjoyed the Tony Roma restaurant attached but I know not everyone thinks the same, we never used the sauna so cant comment, the ski storage is ok but the keys didn't work so we had to get the hotel to sort them out for us, the hotel is nice and warm - which was a god-send as it was -25 outside. Oh and the chap in reception who has a little desk set-up and will answer your questions was really, really helpful.

We had a lovely holiday but would definitely pay a bit more for a better hotel next time - a good nights sleep is priceless.

Room Tip: 4th floor is an attached wing with no direct lift access from reception. Room 455 has one double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

We take your comments very seriously and they provide us with fuel to step up our efforts to always improve our service and to provide the best possible service.

I apologize that certain features of your stay were not satisfactory, in particular the noise issues that you had to contend with. I have been working with our security patrols to provide a more pro-active approach to potential noise disturbances. While challenging in downtown Banff, we do and wlll ever aim for a restful environment in which the enjoyment of one guest is not allowed to infringe upon the rest of another guest.

We are grateful for your positive comments regarding Tony Roma's and our helpful concierge and have passed these along.

Thanks again for your honest feedback

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just spent 4 days skiing in Banff, what an awesome trip! This hotel was perfect for our needs. The location was fantastic, right in the heart of the "strip". The shuttle bus stop being right behind the hotel was great, after a long day of skiing who wants to have to walk far with equipment. We took advantage of their Snow Easy special which included skiing and a boxed lunch, this was a great deal! The only negative to this special is the shuttle bus is not included which I think should be. The room included in this package was a premium room located in the back of the hotel, which according to the other reviews was a good thing because it was quiet.
We had a issue with the deadbolt on our door not working but maintenance fixed it quite promptly. The wi-fi internet was not very good, we kept losing connection which was annoying because my daughter had an application to submit while away and she was getting quite frustrated with it.
There is a ski storage room for guests to use but the locks were very difficult to use so we just kept our equipment in our room.
The room itself was very spacious and clean. The view of Cascade Mountain was spectacular! The beds and pillows were very comfortable. Love the blackout curtains. There is a safe in the room, coffee maker and kettle. Unfortunately there is no fridge, we like to eat cereal for breakfast so we filled a garbage can with ice in order to keep the milk. A small fridge would have been nice.
Having a restaurant (Tony Roma's) right in the hotel was great, we had dinner one night and the breakfast buffet on the last morning. It's nice not to have to go outside when it's cold.
The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.
The Roam bus stops were right outside the hotel which made travelling by bus very easy. Overall this was a great trip and this hotel was perfect. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 10 day skiing holiday to Banff. Staying at the Mount Royal certainly made sure it was a wonderful trip.
The staff were so friendly and always helpful. Breakfast the adjoining restaurant was very good value for money, and the staff especially Tom ensured each day started on a high note.
The rooms were well equipped, the beds were very comfortable. I would go as far as saying the most comfortable of any hotel I have stayed in.
It is in a perfect location, right in the middle of town. The ski bus stops just outside, so there are no long walks to catch the bus.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear A M,

Hearing that our beds were the most comfortable of any hotel you have stayed in is wonderful praise! Thank you for your feedback and we are so glad that we could play a part in your trip being a wonderful one. This is what a holiday is all about.

Your praise of our staff has been passed along to them and they are ever grateful.

Hope all your ski holidays are wonderful

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

After spending seven nights at MRH these were our impressions:

Let's start with the negatives, so we can finish off with the good stuff

- The Internet (WIFI) was the slowest we ever encountered in any hotel. Our room didn't have any signal so we had to change rooms after one night (we're travelling for a while and really need the net to book our next destination) Luckily one of the tech guys lent us an ethernet cable which we plugged in and were finally able to access the net.

- The water pressure was sure great (like many people rave about on TA), but the shower made this really loud, high-pitch, annoying noise which made it quite hard to take a shower and relax

- The hotel can be quite noisy, especially on weekends and many of the rooms look over the main road (not really the hotel's fault, but something to be aware of).

The good stuff:

- Customer service was well above average. Staff were helpful and willing to make a difference to our stay

- The free shuttle bus (if you purchase a ski pass valid for all three Banff ski resorts) stops right behing the hotel and the hotel offers free ski storage

- The spa pool (didn't try the sauna) was great after a hard day on the slopes.

I guess the internet being so slow and temperamental made us drop our rating by one star. Unfortunately we rely on good internet to stay in touch with our family and to organize the next leg of our trip, so that is something we are quite picky about.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and try your WIFI connection before you unpack your bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on your recent stay. We value your comments and use them in our quest to ever-improve our service.

We have heard the recent comments about our usually reliable Wi-Fi and we have spent the last 3 weeks trouble-shooting with our wireless service provider on what was making our network ineffective in certain areas of the hotel. I am happy to report that we have made some adjustments to the network that are now making the signal more reliable in all areas. But I do apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay and assure you that we will continue to keep close tabs on the network.

I would also like to thank you for your warm commnets about our staff and your recognition of their willingness to make a difference. They greatly appreciate hearing such remarks!

We hope to see you again one day and thank you for staying with us

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.