We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Richmond Hill, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just spent 4 days skiing in Banff, what an awesome trip! This hotel was perfect for our needs. The location was fantastic, right in the heart of the "strip". The shuttle bus stop being right behind the hotel was great, after a long day of skiing who wants to have to walk far with equipment. We took advantage of their Snow Easy special which included skiing and a boxed lunch, this was a great deal! The only negative to this special is the shuttle bus is not included which I think should be. The room included in this package was a premium room located in the back of the hotel, which according to the other reviews was a good thing because it was quiet.
We had a issue with the deadbolt on our door not working but maintenance fixed it quite promptly. The wi-fi internet was not very good, we kept losing connection which was annoying because my daughter had an application to submit while away and she was getting quite frustrated with it.
There is a ski storage room for guests to use but the locks were very difficult to use so we just kept our equipment in our room.
The room itself was very spacious and clean. The view of Cascade Mountain was spectacular! The beds and pillows were very comfortable. Love the blackout curtains. There is a safe in the room, coffee maker and kettle. Unfortunately there is no fridge, we like to eat cereal for breakfast so we filled a garbage can with ice in order to keep the milk. A small fridge would have been nice.
Having a restaurant (Tony Roma's) right in the hotel was great, we had dinner one night and the breakfast buffet on the last morning. It's nice not to have to go outside when it's cold.
The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.
The Roam bus stops were right outside the hotel which made travelling by bus very easy. Overall this was a great trip and this hotel was perfect. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    240
    143
    58
    30
See reviews for
99
292
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 10 day skiing holiday to Banff. Staying at the Mount Royal certainly made sure it was a wonderful trip.
The staff were so friendly and always helpful. Breakfast the adjoining restaurant was very good value for money, and the staff especially Tom ensured each day started on a high note.
The rooms were well equipped, the beds were very comfortable. I would go as far as saying the most comfortable of any hotel I have stayed in.
It is in a perfect location, right in the middle of town. The ski bus stops just outside, so there are no long walks to catch the bus.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear A M,

Hearing that our beds were the most comfortable of any hotel you have stayed in is wonderful praise! Thank you for your feedback and we are so glad that we could play a part in your trip being a wonderful one. This is what a holiday is all about.

Your praise of our staff has been passed along to them and they are ever grateful.

Hope all your ski holidays are wonderful

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

After spending seven nights at MRH these were our impressions:

Let's start with the negatives, so we can finish off with the good stuff

- The Internet (WIFI) was the slowest we ever encountered in any hotel. Our room didn't have any signal so we had to change rooms after one night (we're travelling for a while and really need the net to book our next destination) Luckily one of the tech guys lent us an ethernet cable which we plugged in and were finally able to access the net.

- The water pressure was sure great (like many people rave about on TA), but the shower made this really loud, high-pitch, annoying noise which made it quite hard to take a shower and relax

- The hotel can be quite noisy, especially on weekends and many of the rooms look over the main road (not really the hotel's fault, but something to be aware of).

The good stuff:

- Customer service was well above average. Staff were helpful and willing to make a difference to our stay

- The free shuttle bus (if you purchase a ski pass valid for all three Banff ski resorts) stops right behing the hotel and the hotel offers free ski storage

- The spa pool (didn't try the sauna) was great after a hard day on the slopes.

I guess the internet being so slow and temperamental made us drop our rating by one star. Unfortunately we rely on good internet to stay in touch with our family and to organize the next leg of our trip, so that is something we are quite picky about.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and try your WIFI connection before you unpack your bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on your recent stay. We value your comments and use them in our quest to ever-improve our service.

We have heard the recent comments about our usually reliable Wi-Fi and we have spent the last 3 weeks trouble-shooting with our wireless service provider on what was making our network ineffective in certain areas of the hotel. I am happy to report that we have made some adjustments to the network that are now making the signal more reliable in all areas. But I do apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay and assure you that we will continue to keep close tabs on the network.

I would also like to thank you for your warm commnets about our staff and your recognition of their willingness to make a difference. They greatly appreciate hearing such remarks!

We hope to see you again one day and thank you for staying with us

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here the week of February 17th.

Location: Great!! Right on Banff Avenue, if you're coming to ski/snowboard the shuttle picks you up right at the back of the hotel. There is a hotel restaurant as well as a Tony Roma's in the same building, if that suits your fancy.

Staff: Excellent!! Staff are very friendly and always helpful.

Rooms: We were on the 2nd floor in a premium room with 2 queen beds. They do have a limited amount of rooms with king beds in them. The pillow top mattress was very comfortable. The room was quite large, no complaints in terms of space. The rooms and hotel building for that matter are dated and could use some significant updating. Our main issue was the noise, the walls and floors of this hotel are thin. So thin in fact that they provide complimentary earplugs in your room, you can hear people walking thru the hallways as well as hear footsteps from the room above you. My best advice here is to get a room on the top floor.

If you're looking for average accommodations at a reasonable price, aren't too fussy and are not a light sleeper I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Very disappointed with staff. I have stayed here before and the rooms are average but fantastic location.
The staff repeatedly lies. When I asked for a room with a fridge they said that the building is old and can't handle fridges. The room I stayed in before had a fridge and their room service staff said there are fridges in some rooms. Then they said I couldn't switch rooms because the hotel was fully booked when their sign in the front clearly says there are vacancies.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Sara L

I was sorry to read of your disappointment with our staff. We strive to train our staff thoroughly to be able to meet every potential situation and anticipate each guest's need, but I think in your experience there must have been a misunderstanding, and I apologize that my staff were not properly prepared for that. In point of fact, about 20% of our rooms accommodate a fridge and depending on the type of room you have booked, the availability of a vacant room with a fridge will decline greatly when we are nearly full. It sometimes happens that room types with a fridge can be sold out while the hotel itself may have vacancy overall. I am extremely sorry that this was not properly communicated to you, and I will see to it that all front desk staff are prepared for this in the future.

Wishing you the best in your travels

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Ok at first glance this hotel seemed great, and it could have been. It is an awesome location right in the middle of everything and if you request a room away from the road it is very quiet. The hotel room is very nice, comfortable everything you need. My major problem(and this really ruined our stay) was that the room we stayed in was sooo hot(i mean 25 degrees or higher) and the internal thermostat didn't work. We also had a room that we weren't able to open the window too. We stayed family day weekend so the hotel was booked up and we thought that when we first go to the room someone had turned the heat up, so we turned the thermostat down and went out for our evening. When we returned at 11:30 pm the room had not cooled down at all. We couldn't sleep with the covers, and luckily we brought our own fan(as we often do for white noise) so that helped, but it was so hot we woke up in sweats and both got a terrible nights sleep. And since I rate a hotel on my sleep quality I found this to be poor. I imagine it was just this wing of the hotel, and if we had said something earlier we could have been moved rooms, but this ruined our stay. It is a good price for downtown banff and I might stay again if I was able to see the room before I booked(to confirm that it wasn't a sauna inside).

Room Tip: Ask for one that has a window you can open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We came to check in and were told that their check in time isn't until 4. We were a bit surprised, but left our stuff locked in their closet and went for a walk around the town. When we came back at 4 we were told that our room still wasn't ready. The lady helping me searched around and found us a different room that was ready. Thankfully, since the gent on the other side of her walkie talkie was saying it was going to be over an hour until our room was ready. When we walked into our room, we were confused. Modern furniture combined with poorly painted walls, and a severely stained and fraying carpet. Our bathroom was small, but I expected that, since we were staying in a very old hotel. What I didn't anticipate was the filth in the bathroom. Where the counter, tub and floor met the walls was a thick layer of dirt. (It was so bad that I snapped some pics on my phone) The water coming out of the sink stunk like rotten eggs, to the point that we used bottled water to brush our teeth. We also had no towels. We called down about the towels and were informed that we had no towels, because there were none clean. We left at one point to go check out the hot springs, and came back to find no parking. We called in and were told that we were going to have to try to find street parking then. That's right, they only have about 50 parking spots to support well over 100 rooms. When we got back from the hike from our car to our room we discovered that someone had brought us 2 towels. More were offered to us at 9pm, when we were already hanging out in bed. We love staying in Banff, and usually stay at the Ptarmigan, but thought we'd try somewhere new, since we loved the building and the reviews were decent. We've learned our lesson now.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.