We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Lymington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“brilliant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

stayed jan 2014, very central very easy reach for all café bars and restaurant,s ski pick up is out back in the car park, rooms very big and comfy, but one complaint is the air in the plumbling which made the pipes make a noise like a drill but this only happened on the odd occasion, the restaurant / lounge was also well serviced staff very friendly and helpful and will be staying here again,

Room Tip: I think any room would be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear squeak2014,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed our downtown location, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Having the ski buses pick up right behind the hotel makes it convenient for our guests to grab their gear and hope right on board!

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the noise in the pipes. We are currently in the process of resolving this issue and our pipes should be nice and quiet by the end of the week.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    216
    135
    53
    26
See reviews for
91
261
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Have stayed at the Mount Royal on numerous occasions and just love crawling into bed at night. I don't know what they do but it is heavenly. Centrally located and a good price. Ask for a room near the elevator as some of the rooms can be quite a hike.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear snowbirdwannabe_11,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

We are so happy to be able to provide you with a heavenly experience! Our comfy beds make it difficult to want to get out of bed in the morning.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great location, very clean, friendly welcoming staff. The bed was great, fantastic sheets. Easy walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. Will stay there again, would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Nathan S S,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

It is always a pleasure to receive a 5 star review from our guests. Brewster Hospitality prides itself on providing guests with a comfortable and relaxing stay.

Thank you for your recommendation and know that we are excited to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

positives; great location; refurbished rooms to an excellent standard; in room safe; good large jacuzzi; daytime reception staff excellent.

negatives: both nights of our stay awoken at around 03.00 - 03.30 by other guests. We were on the third floor. On the second night, we did ring reception twice but no one answered. The next morning, they apologised and said that someone was on duty but could not explain why they did not answer and assist in quelling the noise from next door's room.

And the bar (in Jnauary anyhow) closes when the barman feels like it. Last night it was at 10.10 and tonight we were asked to leave at 10.30 (even though there were in total 9 people still drinking).

Cleaning: one day spotless; the next, did not replenish / clean the coffee / glasses. Two different cleaners; two different experiences.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear UKDavidN,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

We are so happy to read that you enjoyed our location and hotel amenities.

Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the issues you had with our night staff. Though I cannot tell you where they were when you were trying to contact them, I do know that our agents are required to stay at the Front Desk unless a guest requires their services. I have forwarded your comments to our Front Office Manager for his review and action.

As the bar is not operated by the Mount Royal Hotel, we do not have control over staffing or hours. I have passed your concerns on to the General Manager of Tony Roma's.

Please accept our apologies for the cleaning services. Our Executive Housekeeper is aware of your review and has made certain changes to ensure there is consistency in the cleaning.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here with our friends for a snowboarding holiday. Having stayed in several hotels in Canada I would say this is a good solid 3* but with a few minor improvements could be higher. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, there is adequate room for luggage and we had plenty of hanging space to dry our gear.
We had breakfast at the restaurant downstairs every day so that we could get out on the slopes quickly, but if you fancy venturing out you will find plenty of options on your doorstep.
Staff were polite and helpful and the only minor quibble was that the rooms were inconsistently cleaned- for 2 days they were perfect and for the remainder of the week it was hit and miss, e.g one day we had someone else's bin left in our room! Maybe we'll put this down to weary staff after New Years Eve!
I should note that the service to Sunshine Village is excellent, the bus departs from the back of the hotel so you can pick up your boards from storage and head there in a few minutes.
I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Rebecca P,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the rooms, service, and breakfast at Ricky's.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconsistent housekeeping. I have forwarded your comments on to our Executive Housekeeper for her review. We hope to have these inconsistencies ironed out for our future guests.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights here and loved it. The room was clean and tiday and had everything we needed. The views are incredible and this hotel is perfectly licated. The only down side was that the house keeping take a long time to clean and service all of the rooms. On one day ours wasn't serviced until 3pm. However, the reception staff are friendly and are happy to assist you in any way possible.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Essence_1982,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

We are so pleased that you and your husband enjoyed your 3 nights with us. Some of our rooms feature incredible views of Rundle or Cascade Mountain, however views are not guaranteed with room type. Should any of our future guests be interested in a room with a view, please request it and our staff will do their very best to assign a room with the best possible view.

Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the late housekeeping service. I have passed your comments on to our Executive Housekeeper to ensure we amend this for our future guests.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back should you return to the Canadian Rockies.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

This is the worst Christmas experience ever! We booked two rooms for 4 adults and 2 children for December 24th,2013. However, when we arrived there, the front desk lady told us there was only one room under our name. We showed her the confirmation email which showed clearly that we booked one night, two rooms four adults, but the front desk agent didn't even listen to us.And keep saying that she didn't know what happened, but there was only a room. She didn't call the manager or at least try to help us to figure out what happened with system, and didn't even apologize about the inconvenience at all! We were getting very angry and she could see it through our eyes. Finally she gave us two rooms, but still, acted as a queen, no apologize. I feels like she thinks we deserved the bad luck at Christmas night! Really suck hospitality service! We will NEVER come back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Yanshudegushi,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal.

Please accept our sincerest apologies that you had the worst Christmas experience ever with us. I do believe that immediately following the mistake at check in, our Front Desk Agent made sure to contact you and resolved the situation.

I am very sorry if you feel that our attempt to correct a mistake was not satisfactory. Please feel free to reply should you wish to further discuss this.

Thank you again for your feedback,

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.