We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 hotels in Banff
Write a Review

441 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    181
    93
    42
    24
See reviews for
71
205
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I can't fault the hotel here. Checked in and were made to feel welcome straight away. Our room was on the third floor over looking the rear of Banff. Great location for everything I must say. The room was bright, airy, modern in it's appointings and very clean.
On the Monday night I wanted to catch the Giants vs Vikings game and decided to sink a few in the Paddock Pub sat at the bar. Spent three hours sat there talking to the barman, and some locals called Chris and another member of the team there. It was a great atmosphere and had several local whisky chasers lined up for me by the guys at the bar. All, totally unexpected but because we had been chatting all night catching the game somehow earned me the right to be given shots! Such a great bar, served foods from Tony Roma's and we ordered up a nightcap with the dessert trio to follow. Flawless performance by the crew at the Mount Royal!!

Room Tip: I get the impression these rooms are all well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear domidge,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and experienced the local charm of the Paddock.

Should you find yourself back on this side of the world we'd love to welcome you back!

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was our second stay at Mount Royal Hotel, the first time was great, which is why we returned. Unfortunately this stay was nowhere near as pleasant.

First problem was we were in a wing that had stairs between the lobby elevators and our room, which meant that we were unable to use the baggage trolley all the way to our room.

Our room had a strange smell on arrival, I think it was always there, but we got used to it.

The noise from the hallway was ridiculous, we were woken both nights multiple times between 1am-3am due to others loudly walking down the hallway. There was also random loud noises coming from the bathroom (pipes, I believe) that woke us a few times.

Otherwise everything else was okay, it was just disappointing as last time was so great, we had decided that Mount Royal was going to be our 2013/2014 winter hotel in Banff, but now we need to investigate alternative hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Jollery,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

While I am pleased that your first stay was memorable, I am very sorry that we were unable to repeat that experience for your second stay. We appreciate all of our guests and want to create memorable experiences to keep you coming back!

If you do decide to rebook with us, please request a room in the main section of the building and not in the "Cascade Wing". Our Front Desk Agents will do their very best to allocate a room they think you will enjoy.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you allow us the opportunity to host you again!

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Amazing helpful frieny staff! Great location! Clean! Modern! Great views!Great price! I would return!! :) My self and my boyfriend stayed here a few nights ago. We both loved the welcome we received from the girl at reception. Staff throughout the entire hotel were very friendly! I will return in summer time :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear BeHonest101,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

We are so pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience and that our staff made quite the impression on you.

Thank you again for your feedback and we can't wait to see you and your boyfriend in the summer!

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Great location friendly staff and good price, perfect for Banff. Will be back!!

Stayed in nob for 3 nights got a third off made this an excellent value for money choice.

Did not try the food, with its central Location you can explore the many delights of Banff avenue.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our '3rd night free' special, as well as our location and staff.

We hope you had a blast on the ski hills!

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back should you return to Banff.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We had been booked in at the Mount Royal as part of our Rockies tour and I'm so pleased we were there as it is right in the centre of Banff. Check-in was swift. We were allocated a lovely room on the third floor in a corner location overlooking the central crossroads in the town. We weren't disturbed by any noise though.
The room was clean and spacious with a nice bathroom.
We ate at night in Tony Roma's restaurant attached to the hotel and found the food good and plentiful. We ate breakfast there the next morning too but there were very few people in there. Breakfast very nice.
We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel after checkout while we had a stroll around Banff, which is a lovely town. We wished we had had longer there.
Sulphur Mountain is definitely worth a visit. But we missed the views from the top after the gondola ride as the snow was coming down very thickly!
We would stay at the Mount Royal again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Elaine M,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed the location, room, and Tony Roma's.

We wish you could have stayed with us longer as well. Hopefully next time the weather will be clear enough for you to see the incredible views from the gondola. That being said, it is quite a treat to experience snow in September!

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Visited Banff in mid October with my husband. We stayed one night at the Banff Mount Royal and it was a very nice stay. The hotel is very convenient, amongst everything the town has to offer and there is free parking right in back. The only hiccup was that our keys did not work in the door and they had to have a technician fix the lock but no big deal we just went out and explored and came back later and picked up our new keys.
If you visit definitely try the Grizzly House restaurant and cook your food on the hot stones. Also make sure to do the Banff Gondola for amazing views of the mountains and lakes.

Room Tip: Rooms right on the main street can be noisy at times but they give you complimentary ear plugs to ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear uraqc,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

We are so pleased to read that you and your husband enjoyed your stay.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience the door lock may have caused. As our doors are battery operated they sometimes die on us at the most inconvenient of times. I am glad our staff were able to sort the issue out right away and have the keys waiting for you when you returned.

The Grizzly House is a great food choice in Banff. They serve fondue and exotic animal platters for the adventurous. From Nov 14 - 24, 2013 Banff has a Bon Appetit program whereby 30 participating restaurants offer 3 course meals for either $25, $35, or $45. It's a great way to experience the different flavours of Banff!

Thank you again for the review.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.