We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Good Parking.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Great location, Good Parking.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We arrived at the hotel, checked in and recieved a parking pass where our vehicle stayed the whole time because we walked everywhere. Older hotel but it has still been updated.
Room facing Main street was awesome. Our room was pretty far from the main lobby but we still had an elevator and another entrance so close to our room it was great. The one odd thing was we had a flat sheet covering the mattress instead of a fitted one. So you would find yourself sleeping on the bare mattress during the night, which to me was a little odd. But that just may have been a mistake by a new cleaner.
Overall good stay we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Facing Mainstreet if you like to have the sun, and a view of all the activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Dustin C,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mount Royal Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the convenience of a downtown location.

It is very common for hotels to use 2 flat sheets instead of using 1 fitted/1 flat and this was not a housekeeping mistake. Please accept our apologies if the sheet came off the mattress at night, this was not intentional. It should be tucked under the mattress tightly enough that the sheet does not come off while you are sleeping. Once again, please accept our apologies.


Thank you for your business and we hope to be able to welcome you back should you find yourself in Banff again.

Sincerely,
Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    208
    131
    52
    26
See reviews for
90
253
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel because I was only in Banff for 2 nights visiting friends and I didn't want to spend my days walking miles to get to town. This hotel is literally in the middle of town.
I got in fairly late (48 hours after leave home!) and was able to check in quite easily. By the time I had settled in though the room service was shut at only 10pm. Luckily Subway is 24hr and I knew where the supermarket was so I was fine.
The room itself, although far from the elevator, and had a few stairs to navigate (with a 23kg suitcase which was not easy!), was big and just what I needed. The bed was comfortable, like a cloud. The bathroom was fairly small given the size of the room but it was big enough for what I needed (a toilet and a shower) and it was clean.
The staff are friendly whether checking in, checking out, or asking for something. After not so attentive air hosts/hostesses and a surly customs officer it was so nice to be greeted by someone friendly.

If I ever need a hotel in Banff again, it will be th Mount Royal for sure! Maybe next time I will have time to use the pool or check out the restaurant and bar...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Kelly B,

Thank you for your kind review of the Mount Royal Hotel. It was a pleasure to host you and we are pleased that our staff were able to provide you with the kind of service you should have received on your flight!

We do apologize that our food and beverage were not open late enough to suit your needs. Our front desk staff are knowledgeable about all the restaurants and fast food locations in town that are open late should you require any alternatives to Subway (though a late night Subway always hits the spot).

Thank you for staying at the Mount Royal Hotel and for your loyalty. We would love to host you again should you find yourself back in Banff.

Sincerely,
Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The location of this hotel is great - right in the centre of Banff. Stores, cafes and restaurants are within walking distance. The room we stayed in was modern, clean and comfortable - it also faced onto the main street and there was some noise in the early hours, but not enough to disrupt your sleep too much.
The parking is behind the hotel and very convenient - no issues with security for the two nights we stayed here.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Baglady13,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful experience when you stayed with us. We are very proud of our downtown location and its convenience to restaurants, shopping, and attractions. We are glad that you enjoyed the renovations in the rooms that give them a more modern look.

Banff is a very safe town and we are happy that you did not experience any issues. We do employ a third party security company to perform security checks throughout the night as an added security in the rare chance that something should happen.

We are very happy to read that you will be visiting us again in the future as we would love to host you again.

Thank you for your business and loyalty,

Sincerely,
Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Alberta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We arrived around 12.00, knew we couldn't check in but it was wonderful that we were able to get a parking pass. We were told we could check back later but guarenteed check in is 4pm. We left to have lunch and explore. We returned at 3.20pm, I explained that I had a sick family member with me who was in need of lying down as she tires easy due to chemotherapy. They still didn't rush and so we felt they lacked a little compassion. I had to go back and check, they didn't call us in lounge area once room was ready. Rooms are very nice, updated but carpets need a clean. I would stay again but would request a room at the front. The view at the back is of the parking lot, and partly a brick wall in our case.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear overthepond2000,

Thank you for your feedback of the Mount Royal Hotel.

Please accept our sincerest apologies that we were not able to accommodate you and your party with an early check in. Our front desk agents do their best to check in guests as early as they can but some days there are too many factors that make this impossible. It was not acceptable for our agents to not come and retrieve you as soon as your room was ready and I do apologize for that as well. Management in charge will be made aware of this complaint for further review.

We are pleased to hear that, aside from check in, you enjoyed your stay. Our carpets are undergoing routine deep cleaning to brighten them up.

Thank you for your feedback and suggestions.

Sincerely,
Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It was expensive, but then again on par with the Banff price range. Location was central, parking was free, room was comfortable. No breakfast, which was a small minus. Nothing to complain about, but nothing overly special either. Rooms are old, but the hotel is historical and they are clean and have modern decor. Worked fine for our one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Cattis26,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your room and the convenient location.

Our rooms are definitely old. The hotel is over a hundred years old with strong historical roots for the town of Banff. We have tried to maintain the historical integrity of the building while updating the rooms for a modern and more comfortable feel.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to host you again should you find yourself back in Banff National Park.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,
Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel in Banff for a reasonable price. My sister and I stayed here for 2 nights and were quite comfortable. We didn't spend a lot of time in our room so we were just looking for a quiet, clean, place close to the centre of town and we found it at this hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Kelly C,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness and quiet in our hotel located in the heart of the downtown area. We appreciate hearing that our hotel met the needs of you and your sister.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and thank you for your business. We hope to host you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.