We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mount Royal Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 33 hotels in Banff
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Mount Royal Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed there on June 11th and 12th. The hotel was clean, the location was great, and there is a McDonald's a few doors down if you want a cheap meal. You can walk up and down the street and shop to your heart's content. The hotel also has a Tony Roma's restaurant in the lobby, and there is a no-frills hot tub in the basement area. There is free parking behind the hotel (they give you a printed parking pass to put on your car's dashboard during your stay.) I would recommend this hotel if you want to be centrally located, and do not plan to spend a lot of time in your hotel room. It's very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Debbie:

Thank you for submitting a review regarding your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our great downtown location and onsite parking, dining and hot tub facilities. We value knowing that our guests have been well served so that we can celebrate our successes and work towards even better service in the future.

We appreciate your insight and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    199
    123
    46
    25
See reviews for
86
237
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbridge, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very nice hotel and most welcoming staff. There was a slight difficulty about our booking but we were assured that we need not worry & sure enough it was sorted in a few minutes. We had a lovely big comfortable room & even though it was to the front street it was quiet. Brendan helped us with directions to various attractions which added to the pleasure of our stay. The hotel was ideally located for walkers like ourselves as it was very central. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Noirin60:

Thank you for giving the Mount Royal Hotel a 5/5 rating on Trip Advisor. We are glad that enjoyed our central location and your lovely, big, comfortable, quiet room. It is also pleasing to read that you found our staff most welcoming and that Brendan, in particular, was very helpful. I will pass your praise on to both him and his manager so that they are aware of the extra positive impact that he had on your stay with us.

We appreciate your positive comments and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Canadian Rockies.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A good hotel with clean, spacious rooms and a comfortable bed. The staff were friendly and helpful - we would particularly like to mention Brendan, who pointed us in the right direction twice!
It was a bit noisy outside on the night we were there, but that is obviously not the hotel's fault and is the price you pay for a central location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear LondonpairLondon:

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our clean, spacious, comfortable rooms, central location and friendly, helpful staff. I will pass on your kind comments to both Brendan and his manager so that they are aware of the extra positive impact that he had on your visit with us.

We appreciate your valuable insight and will use your feedback to aid in the continual improvement of our service standards. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Banff.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located in mid village Banff. The staff are super friendly and courteous and the newly renovated rooms are spacious and spotless. The lobby is a bit tired and out of date so don't be put off by that first impression. It's on the main drag so the rooms near the centre of each floor and at the back are quietest and preferred. I was in town for a conference at the Banff Springs and it was a lovely walk to work from the Mount Royal and I saved a bundle to spend on yummy local cuisine at Saltlik and Maple Cafe, the two local hot dining spots, both a short stroll from the Mount Royal. I will most def return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear MaryPat590:

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel. We are glad that you liked our convenient downtown location and super friendly, courteous staff. It is also great to read that you enjoyed one of our newly renovated, spacious and spotless rooms.

We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Banff. Thank you once again for sharing your insight.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Was given worst room in hotel. Window looked onto brick wall, carpet stained, bathroom door wouldn't shut, place was in incredibly noisy. Air conditioning unit under window buzzed all night. Annoyingly hotel was not not full but still gave us a terrible room. Worst hotel in our trip to the Rockies. Stay somewhere else

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Magoobie:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Mount Royal Hotel. Please accept our apologies for your less than optimal experience and be assured that our front desk staff are there to help. If they are aware of your dissatisfaction with your room allocation and a comparable room is available, they can move you.

We appreciate your comments and suggestions and thank you again.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamba, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

well located in Main Street (but a little noisy because of it - next time go another block or two (300 or 400 block)). staff great- very helpful and followed up. breakfast as expected for continental buffet and staff very friendly and pleasant. Restaurants generally good and priced to match - Giorgio's, Melissa's for lunch (loved "missteak" pun), Evelyns (2 we think (saw 3) very good, Tapas at El Toro best choice.

Room Tip: their may be quieter rooms higher up or in other sections (looks like the hotel has been extended an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear FCarroll18:

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mount Royal Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you liked our central location, friendly, hard working staff and your continental buffet breakfast. Our primary aim is to ensure that our guests have been well served and with feedback, such as your own, it seems that we are succeeding in reaching this goal.

We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Canadian Rockies.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Mount Royal is right downtown and so centrally located to shopping, the Cascade Gardens, carriage rides, visitor's center, restaurants, etc. A great "base camp" for visiting everything there is to see around Banff. Plenty of parking in the back. Staff was great and the rooms are very nice. A great older building with plenty of character.

Room Tip: I would assume the rooms in the back overlooking the parking lot are probably a bit more quiet, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Murphy5708:

Thank you for giving the Mount Royal Hotel a 5 star rating on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our central location, indeed a great “base camp” for visiting the town of Banff. Free onsite car parking, great staff, nice rooms and plenty of character are all hotel elements that we pride ourselves on and are glad that you agree.

We value your insightful comments and look forward to serving you in the future. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.