We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central to shopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Banff
bathurst
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Central to shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Central to shops, restaurants etc. beds very comfortable, spacious room but disappointed there was no fridge in the room for our drinks and chocolates we bought, I have never been to accomodation that has no refrigeration. Bathroom was clean but outdated

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Rechargedbat:

The Mount Royal Hotel prides itself on being a charming hotel ideally located in downtown Banff. We were pleased that you enjoyed it’s convenience to shops and restaurants, found the beds comfortable and the rooms spacious. Unfortunately, due to the historical nature of the hotel and the associated delicate electrical framework, we are unable to have fridges in the majority of the rooms as it would overload the system. We do, however, have a few rooms that have fridges and these are available on request. We are happy to inform you that the bathrooms have recently undergone renovation and the project is nearing completion. Perhaps, when you come back to visit Banff, you will come and see for yourself.

Your business is important to us and we appreciate your comments and suggestions.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    204
    125
    50
    25
See reviews for
90
240
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Clean, spacious room with flat screen tv, free wifii in rooms. Bed and pillows very comfortable.
Food in restaurant was excellent quality.
In one of the main streets of the town very close to the shops!
Reception did not answer their phone between 2100 and 2100!! i stopped ringing after that as wanted an early morning wake up call!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear M00nm0nkey:

Thank you for giving the Mount Royal Hotel a 4 star rating on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your kind words and are pleased that you enjoyed the excellent food and our spacious, well equipped rooms with comfortable beds and pillows. Our location is certainly very convenient being so close to the shops and everything else that downtown Banff has to offer. I have passed on your telephone comments to our Front Office Manager and apologize for the inconvenience. We will use your insight to better improve our service standards in the future.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return when you are next in the area.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandler
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The room was clean and modern comfy. Hotel was in the downtown area near all the busy tourist hangouts. Bus stop was right across street from the hotel and bought a day pass for $5 to get around town to Sulfur mountain to ride cable car, visit Fairmont hot springs hotel, Bow fall, which is near Fairmont hotel and Tunnel mountain area. This hotel not only offer a coffee maker, also offer a electric tea kettle to boil water for a cup of hot coco or whatever you desire. There are couple of restaurants on the premise but there were pungent BBQ smell whenever I walked into the lobby. The lobby area was always busy and full of people. Therefore, we didn't spend lots of time there. They can use a little updating in the lobby area. Otherwise, it was a nice stay.

Room Tip: Do not arrive too late in the day. Our second floor room facing the street was not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Roadwarrior2320:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel. We value reading that you found our rooms to be clean, comfortable and well equipped and our downtown location very convenient to transit, shopping and dining. We appreciate knowing that our guests have been well served so that we can even better our service standards in the future.

Thank you again for sharing your insight and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel there was confusion over our booking whilst this was being sorted by the friendly staff we were given complimentary drinks in the bar. The room was large, clean and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant ajoined to the hotel lobby and had great food. We were informed that it was mothers day so was nice to be treated by our daughter to dinner. Danielle seemed to be working whenever we were around, she served us in the bar and then in the restaurant she was extremely friendly and efficient. This hotel is in a very central location and we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear 186338Dawn1962:

Thank you for giving the Mount Royal Hotel a 5 star rating on Trip Advisor!

We are thrilled that our friendly staff were able to sort out the confusion over your booking while you were offered complimentary drinks in the bar. We are also pleased to read that you enjoyed our large, clean and comfortable rooms and very central location. I have passed your kind comments on to Danielle and her Manager so that they are aware of the extra positive impact she had on your visit.

Your business is important to us and we look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Banff.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I parked my car in Mount Royal Hotel parking lot and one of their tourist buses hit my car! they called me to let me know about the accident and they also called the RCMP. So when I talked to the manager about the accident and told him that you should be responsible for what happened to my car because it is a private property and I parked exactly in the designated area, he said we are not responsible for what happened in our parking (although there was not any sign saying that in the parking lot)!!He even didn't apologize me or giving me any offer on my stay at their hotel...funny?!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear NStraveler2000:

Please be assured that we are sympathetic to your situation. The accident did not occur as a result of negligence on the part of a hotel employee or vehicle and thus, as per the sign-in sheet that all guests are required to complete upon check in, the hotel is not responsible for damage to personal property in our parking lot. Our staff members immediately contacted both yourself and the RCMP when informed of the accident. The RCMP has made a full report and it should now be left in the capable hands of the respective insurance companies to resolve.

We hope that you enjoyed your trip to Banff regardless and apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great service, price and location. Everyone had to walk or cab to meet where we were staying. Everything happens around the Mount Royal. We relaxed in the lounge for a glass of wine, ate breakfast at Tony Roma's and had our "last call" at the downstairs pub. Tons of other places nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear David C:

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel! Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the great service, affordable price, on site dining options and excellent location of our hotel. Our most important goal is to ensure that our guests are happy and well served and reading flattering comments, such as your own, reiterate that we are achieving just this.

We appreciate you giving us a 5 star rating on Trip Advisor and look forward to your return when you are next visiting the area.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our 3rd stay here and in a Junior Suite with a view of mainstreet and the mountains from 2 huge bay windows in the living room & bedroom. Check-in was warm nand friendly.Parking was full but adjoining public parking was free until 11am next mornings so not a big deal. A smaller suite was still surprisingly big and the wine and chocolate my hubby requested was waiting...actually sat in the huge bay window as we toasted my birthday! Bathroom is small but tons of towels and so clean. Nice big bedroom! All the good restaurants and shopping are around you too. In room fridge & coffee. Couch bed would allow 4 people to share this room if need be. Will stay again and again..what a location!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear MsBonita:

Thank you for giving the Mount Royal Hotel a 5 star rating on Trip Advisor! We are thrilled that your birthday celebration at our hotel was so memorable and that you enjoyed staying in one of our Junior Suites. Our location is indeed fantastic, right in the heart of downtown and, most importantly, within easy walking distance of all the restaurants and shops that Banff has to offer.

We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your return when you next decide to visit the area.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.