We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a disaster” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“It was a disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

When we first checked in it started off badly. The clerk was not very helpful at all. The hotel promised free parking on site, it was full so she instructed us to park on the street. When i asked her where it was ok to park she advised me to see the signs and use common sense. The room was ok, nothing special. It all started to get really bad at 11:00 pm when we found out we were surrounded by a big party of kids. They went on until midnight and than left the hotel. Guess what, 3:00 am they all came back and partied all night. We called the front desk numerous times and they said there was nothing they could do. We asked to be moved and they said no. Wow I was upset. In the morning I complained again to the front counter and was told there was nothing they could do for me. I mentioned we would not stay there again and they said OK. Wow. Problems happen, but it is how they are handled that makes the difference. Don't stay here. Worst hotel stay for us ever.

Room Tip: One not in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

Please accept our sincere apologies for your recent experience staying at The Mount Royal Hotel. We take great pride in our staff being helpful and accommodating and want to assure you that your experience is not common with our hotel standards. We take your complaints very seriously and appropriate action will be taken.

Thank you for providing us with this knowledge, it is much appreciated.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    231
    141
    54
    29
See reviews for
93
281
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was my fifth visit to Canada and my forth to Banff. We had never stayed in The Mount Royal before, but I am glad we did! We had a room which had 2 double beds in and all the other 'usual' stuff. The storage for skis was good and a lock was provided free of charge from reception. After a long day skiing, sometimes we just wanted to relax and there was no better place than Tony Roma's Lounge which was downstairs and located within the hotel's lobby, so we didn't even have to brave the cold! I am hoping to visit Banff again and I will definitely be approaching this hotel for vacancies first. The location is fantastic as it is right in the middle of Banff Avenue. Thanks to The Mount Royal staff too who were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Samantha E:

We are very flattered that you enjoyed your stay at The Mount Royal Hotel so much. We completely agree that the onsite facilities including free ski storage and Tony Roma’s are extremely convenient, especially after a long day on the hill! Our central location is indeed fantastic and we are pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

Thank you again for sharing your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Banff.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our first visit to the MRH and we enjoyed our stay tremendously. We found the charm of the old (and rebuilt) landmark hotel has been well preserved in the details and interior design on the guest room floors.
Brewster did a great job of providing all the modern amenities in our very comfortable room.
The hotel location is the best in town since all of downtown is quickly accessible from here.
We look forward to experiencing another equally enjoyable stay at the MRH in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Normand L:

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Mount Royal Hotel so much that you will be coming back to stay with us again. We absolutely agree that our establishment is charming yet modern and that it is superbly located right in the heart of downtown Banff.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to hosting you again when you next come to visit.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is actually a very nice little hotel situated on the main street in Banff. The location is good as it has a car park but also the buses stop just across the street and can get you to all corners of Banff, other coaches pick up from the hotel to go to Calgary, and the ski centres. A comfortable leisure hotel rather than a business hotel. Service at reception was good as was the concierge for local information. The room was spotless, quiet, comfortable had fast free wifi and everything else you could need. The bar is a cosy place to come out of the cold and on the evening I was there had a complete mix of ages and a good atmosphere. I would certainly stay here again, actually much nicer than some of the larger more impersonal hotels in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Traveler:

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at The Mount Royal Hotel. We are glad that you were impressed by our ultra convenient location, front desk staff, housekeeping service and food and beverage offerings. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit the Canadian Rockies.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at the Mount Royal for two nights. Great location, the beds were comfy the staff was wonderful and the rooms were clean. Not sure how I feel about the other reviews complaining about the "thin walls" but to each their own. Definatley stay here, its affordable, clean, friendly and in a unbelievable location!

Room Tip: Rooms on the actual avenue will be noiser of course, request differently if that will cause an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed one night at Mount Royal Hotel this weekend, using an online coupon. The staff was friendly and the room nicely appointed. I was impressed with the cleanliness. This is not a new hotel, but the beds felt new and the bedding was crisp and clean. The bathroom hadn't been renovated in a while, but was roomy enough.

The only thing that I didn't like was the bathroom lighting - the only light was over the sink which made the shower area quite dark.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre F, Director Of Operations at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Donna L.

Thank you so much for the very kind comments about our hotel, we strive to meet and exceed our valued guest's expectations!
You will be pleased to know we have begun renovations in March 2013 of all our bathrooms and inproved lighting, low flush toilets, new sinks, faucets and countertops are part of the Refreshing!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great location in center of town with neat and clean decent size rooms. Ski Bus Shuttle stop right behind hotel. Service not great...front desk staff seems like they feel like they are doing you a favor when you ask a question. Hot tub not working one day during my stay and the key continued to demagnetize. For the price and because of the location would stay here again...just don't come expecting more than the basics in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Dave961:

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location and our reasonably priced, clean, decent sized rooms, it is upsetting to hear that you were less than satisfied with other areas of our hotel. I have passed on your comments to the respective departments and, rest assured, they will not be ignored. We aim to constantly improve our service standards and it is with insight such as your own that we achieve this.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.