We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll definitely be coming back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We'll definitely be coming back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our first visit to the MRH and we enjoyed our stay tremendously. We found the charm of the old (and rebuilt) landmark hotel has been well preserved in the details and interior design on the guest room floors.
Brewster did a great job of providing all the modern amenities in our very comfortable room.
The hotel location is the best in town since all of downtown is quickly accessible from here.
We look forward to experiencing another equally enjoyable stay at the MRH in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Normand L:

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Mount Royal Hotel so much that you will be coming back to stay with us again. We absolutely agree that our establishment is charming yet modern and that it is superbly located right in the heart of downtown Banff.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to hosting you again when you next come to visit.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    195
    108
    45
    26
See reviews for
78
223
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is actually a very nice little hotel situated on the main street in Banff. The location is good as it has a car park but also the buses stop just across the street and can get you to all corners of Banff, other coaches pick up from the hotel to go to Calgary, and the ski centres. A comfortable leisure hotel rather than a business hotel. Service at reception was good as was the concierge for local information. The room was spotless, quiet, comfortable had fast free wifi and everything else you could need. The bar is a cosy place to come out of the cold and on the evening I was there had a complete mix of ages and a good atmosphere. I would certainly stay here again, actually much nicer than some of the larger more impersonal hotels in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Traveler:

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at The Mount Royal Hotel. We are glad that you were impressed by our ultra convenient location, front desk staff, housekeeping service and food and beverage offerings. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit the Canadian Rockies.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at the Mount Royal for two nights. Great location, the beds were comfy the staff was wonderful and the rooms were clean. Not sure how I feel about the other reviews complaining about the "thin walls" but to each their own. Definatley stay here, its affordable, clean, friendly and in a unbelievable location!

Room Tip: Rooms on the actual avenue will be noiser of course, request differently if that will cause an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed one night at Mount Royal Hotel this weekend, using an online coupon. The staff was friendly and the room nicely appointed. I was impressed with the cleanliness. This is not a new hotel, but the beds felt new and the bedding was crisp and clean. The bathroom hadn't been renovated in a while, but was roomy enough.

The only thing that I didn't like was the bathroom lighting - the only light was over the sink which made the shower area quite dark.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre F, Director Of Operations at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Donna L.

Thank you so much for the very kind comments about our hotel, we strive to meet and exceed our valued guest's expectations!
You will be pleased to know we have begun renovations in March 2013 of all our bathrooms and inproved lighting, low flush toilets, new sinks, faucets and countertops are part of the Refreshing!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great location in center of town with neat and clean decent size rooms. Ski Bus Shuttle stop right behind hotel. Service not great...front desk staff seems like they feel like they are doing you a favor when you ask a question. Hot tub not working one day during my stay and the key continued to demagnetize. For the price and because of the location would stay here again...just don't come expecting more than the basics in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Dave961:

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location and our reasonably priced, clean, decent sized rooms, it is upsetting to hear that you were less than satisfied with other areas of our hotel. I have passed on your comments to the respective departments and, rest assured, they will not be ignored. We aim to constantly improve our service standards and it is with insight such as your own that we achieve this.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed 4 nights as part of an Expedia ski package (CAD $950 pp which included hotel, Hertz car rental and Westjet flights from Toronto). Likes: great location in centre of town, convenient parking, comfortable/spacious room and bed. Dislikes: slow/intermittent WiFi, limited dining options, street and corridor noise. Problem with shower was fixed promptly. Hot tub in basement good place to soak. Suggestions: bring earplugs, try to book a room on parking lot side. Nearby dining options include Chaya noodle bar (excellent quality/great value) and Coyote Grill (for a pricier, special night out). Best nearby pub: Elk & Oarsmen. Buy your lift tickets online at Costco.ca (3-days/3-resort pass: $180 + taxes).

Room Tip: Parking lot side, away from elevators is quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the years. Our first visit was actually complete coincidence and now it is the only place we stay in Banff. Our first visit and everyone after has always been great. Our first visit happened because we went to our old usual hotel the Banff Springs and the power happened to be out in Banff. They couldn't help us because they didn't know if they had rooms or not but the Mount Royal Hotel had lights on, a generator powering them and a room for us. We haven't looked back. This most recent visit was with our two grand daughters (8 and 4), they had a room when we walked in, it was clean, freshly renovated and as always very comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. Ample parking at the back and we always ask for a room on the back - away from the main drag. The hotel is well located right in town so in walking distance to everything. It might be 3 star but it is definitely more than that in our books.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.