We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Location Location Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at the Mount Royal for two nights. Great location, the beds were comfy the staff was wonderful and the rooms were clean. Not sure how I feel about the other reviews complaining about the "thin walls" but to each their own. Definatley stay here, its affordable, clean, friendly and in a unbelievable location!

Room Tip: Rooms on the actual avenue will be noiser of course, request differently if that will cause an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed one night at Mount Royal Hotel this weekend, using an online coupon. The staff was friendly and the room nicely appointed. I was impressed with the cleanliness. This is not a new hotel, but the beds felt new and the bedding was crisp and clean. The bathroom hadn't been renovated in a while, but was roomy enough.

The only thing that I didn't like was the bathroom lighting - the only light was over the sink which made the shower area quite dark.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre F, Director Of Operations at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Donna L.

Thank you so much for the very kind comments about our hotel, we strive to meet and exceed our valued guest's expectations!
You will be pleased to know we have begun renovations in March 2013 of all our bathrooms and inproved lighting, low flush toilets, new sinks, faucets and countertops are part of the Refreshing!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great location in center of town with neat and clean decent size rooms. Ski Bus Shuttle stop right behind hotel. Service not great...front desk staff seems like they feel like they are doing you a favor when you ask a question. Hot tub not working one day during my stay and the key continued to demagnetize. For the price and because of the location would stay here again...just don't come expecting more than the basics in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Dave961:

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location and our reasonably priced, clean, decent sized rooms, it is upsetting to hear that you were less than satisfied with other areas of our hotel. I have passed on your comments to the respective departments and, rest assured, they will not be ignored. We aim to constantly improve our service standards and it is with insight such as your own that we achieve this.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed 4 nights as part of an Expedia ski package (CAD $950 pp which included hotel, Hertz car rental and Westjet flights from Toronto). Likes: great location in centre of town, convenient parking, comfortable/spacious room and bed. Dislikes: slow/intermittent WiFi, limited dining options, street and corridor noise. Problem with shower was fixed promptly. Hot tub in basement good place to soak. Suggestions: bring earplugs, try to book a room on parking lot side. Nearby dining options include Chaya noodle bar (excellent quality/great value) and Coyote Grill (for a pricier, special night out). Best nearby pub: Elk & Oarsmen. Buy your lift tickets online at Costco.ca (3-days/3-resort pass: $180 + taxes).

Room Tip: Parking lot side, away from elevators is quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the years. Our first visit was actually complete coincidence and now it is the only place we stay in Banff. Our first visit and everyone after has always been great. Our first visit happened because we went to our old usual hotel the Banff Springs and the power happened to be out in Banff. They couldn't help us because they didn't know if they had rooms or not but the Mount Royal Hotel had lights on, a generator powering them and a room for us. We haven't looked back. This most recent visit was with our two grand daughters (8 and 4), they had a room when we walked in, it was clean, freshly renovated and as always very comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. Ample parking at the back and we always ask for a room on the back - away from the main drag. The hotel is well located right in town so in walking distance to everything. It might be 3 star but it is definitely more than that in our books.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DAB_LMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The location of the Mount Royal can't really be topped! Right on Banff Avenue, and as one of the stops for the ski bus it means that you don't have to walk anywhere with your skis! Room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. Didn't have a chance to use the whirlpool, which was down in the basement - but looked ok. There is a Tony Roma's within the hotel and a separate bar/lounge. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night over the weekend. The reviews that mention the thin walls are right, but having said that we didn't hear anyone at night or in the morning so we weren't bothered. Very clean and modern room, lovely design. Comfortable beds and the people at the desk were very pleasant and helpful. Free parking and wifi is a bonus. Amazing location, will absolutely stay here next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Banff International Hotel
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing