We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always clean and comfortable - great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Always clean and comfortable - great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the years. Our first visit was actually complete coincidence and now it is the only place we stay in Banff. Our first visit and everyone after has always been great. Our first visit happened because we went to our old usual hotel the Banff Springs and the power happened to be out in Banff. They couldn't help us because they didn't know if they had rooms or not but the Mount Royal Hotel had lights on, a generator powering them and a room for us. We haven't looked back. This most recent visit was with our two grand daughters (8 and 4), they had a room when we walked in, it was clean, freshly renovated and as always very comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. Ample parking at the back and we always ask for a room on the back - away from the main drag. The hotel is well located right in town so in walking distance to everything. It might be 3 star but it is definitely more than that in our books.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    214
    133
    52
    26
See reviews for
91
256
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The location of the Mount Royal can't really be topped! Right on Banff Avenue, and as one of the stops for the ski bus it means that you don't have to walk anywhere with your skis! Room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. Didn't have a chance to use the whirlpool, which was down in the basement - but looked ok. There is a Tony Roma's within the hotel and a separate bar/lounge. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night over the weekend. The reviews that mention the thin walls are right, but having said that we didn't hear anyone at night or in the morning so we weren't bothered. Very clean and modern room, lovely design. Comfortable beds and the people at the desk were very pleasant and helpful. Free parking and wifi is a bonus. Amazing location, will absolutely stay here next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel has perhaps the best location in all of Banff, being right on Banff Avenue in the very middle of the action. Restaurants, pubs, bars and shops are located just outside the hotel and you can easily walk anywhere in town from here. The hotel itself is nice, though a little dated when compared with some other hotels in town. That said, we got a great price for a night's stay and would happily stay here again. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Mount Royal Hotel is right in the heart of Banff. You step out off the hotel and you're steps away from stores like The North Face, Lululemon, and the smallest Hudson Bay Company that I've ever seen.
The hotel's central location and large rear parking lot made it a pick up location for bus transport to the three major ski resorts in the area: Sunshine, Lake Louise, and Norquay. Fantastically convenient for catching the 8am bus.
The rooms were recently redecorated, but the carpet in our room looked stained. The upside of the dirty carpet was an easy going attitude towards guests bringing their skis and snowboards into their rooms. However, the rest of the room looked clean and well maintained.
Finally, bedside lighting prompted mixed feelings; the electric outlet allowed easy charging of electronic devices, but the fluorescent lighting was dim and unpleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel. It was perfect! The location, the room, the friendliness of the staff were all wonderful. The shuttles to the ski areas was very convenient, as was the first floor ski storage area. Many good restaurants nearby, and other attractions for the evenings or for a non-skiing day. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had no problem with street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It is often difficult to give a 3-star hotel a faultless review - because they are after all only 3-star. You expect something to be not up to scratch. Wrong - when it comes to the Mount Royal Hotel in Banff. Location is perfect if you want to be in the middle of everything. Service was 5-star. Cleanliness - good. Room with 2 x Queen beds was very adequate. For under $100 per night this is good value. We stayed in spring time ( felt more like winter ) for 2 nights. Easy walk from the bus and train depot. Public bus stop right outside. All the usual eating establishments surround you - Starbucks, McDonalds, Food Court etc. Tony Roma's at the hotel lobby is a good option if you dont want to go outside to eat. I suppose if you were adverse to having any sort of noise problem, you might think that this rave is a bit over the top. You can hear talk in hallways and because it is in the centre of town it is not a very quiet hotel. We were at the back of the hotel so we didnt get too much outside noise. It was St Patricks Day and the streets were filled with revellers. If you want quiet I would suggest their sister hotel Banff International Hotel just off the main drag. But if you want to be in the middle of the action this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Choose back of hotel - still with good views over Sulphur Mtn and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Louise

I was pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received while you were staying with us and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. We are happy to have had such a positive impact on your stay.

Thank you for sharing with us your comments. We truly do look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.