We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 hotels in Banff
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The location of the Mount Royal can't really be topped! Right on Banff Avenue, and as one of the stops for the ski bus it means that you don't have to walk anywhere with your skis! Room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. Didn't have a chance to use the whirlpool, which was down in the basement - but looked ok. There is a Tony Roma's within the hotel and a separate bar/lounge. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    199
    122
    46
    25
See reviews for
86
237
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night over the weekend. The reviews that mention the thin walls are right, but having said that we didn't hear anyone at night or in the morning so we weren't bothered. Very clean and modern room, lovely design. Comfortable beds and the people at the desk were very pleasant and helpful. Free parking and wifi is a bonus. Amazing location, will absolutely stay here next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel has perhaps the best location in all of Banff, being right on Banff Avenue in the very middle of the action. Restaurants, pubs, bars and shops are located just outside the hotel and you can easily walk anywhere in town from here. The hotel itself is nice, though a little dated when compared with some other hotels in town. That said, we got a great price for a night's stay and would happily stay here again. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Mount Royal Hotel is right in the heart of Banff. You step out off the hotel and you're steps away from stores like The North Face, Lululemon, and the smallest Hudson Bay Company that I've ever seen.
The hotel's central location and large rear parking lot made it a pick up location for bus transport to the three major ski resorts in the area: Sunshine, Lake Louise, and Norquay. Fantastically convenient for catching the 8am bus.
The rooms were recently redecorated, but the carpet in our room looked stained. The upside of the dirty carpet was an easy going attitude towards guests bringing their skis and snowboards into their rooms. However, the rest of the room looked clean and well maintained.
Finally, bedside lighting prompted mixed feelings; the electric outlet allowed easy charging of electronic devices, but the fluorescent lighting was dim and unpleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel. It was perfect! The location, the room, the friendliness of the staff were all wonderful. The shuttles to the ski areas was very convenient, as was the first floor ski storage area. Many good restaurants nearby, and other attractions for the evenings or for a non-skiing day. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had no problem with street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It is often difficult to give a 3-star hotel a faultless review - because they are after all only 3-star. You expect something to be not up to scratch. Wrong - when it comes to the Mount Royal Hotel in Banff. Location is perfect if you want to be in the middle of everything. Service was 5-star. Cleanliness - good. Room with 2 x Queen beds was very adequate. For under $100 per night this is good value. We stayed in spring time ( felt more like winter ) for 2 nights. Easy walk from the bus and train depot. Public bus stop right outside. All the usual eating establishments surround you - Starbucks, McDonalds, Food Court etc. Tony Roma's at the hotel lobby is a good option if you dont want to go outside to eat. I suppose if you were adverse to having any sort of noise problem, you might think that this rave is a bit over the top. You can hear talk in hallways and because it is in the centre of town it is not a very quiet hotel. We were at the back of the hotel so we didnt get too much outside noise. It was St Patricks Day and the streets were filled with revellers. If you want quiet I would suggest their sister hotel Banff International Hotel just off the main drag. But if you want to be in the middle of the action this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Choose back of hotel - still with good views over Sulphur Mtn and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Louise

I was pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received while you were staying with us and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. We are happy to have had such a positive impact on your stay.

Thank you for sharing with us your comments. We truly do look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The location is great, right in the heart of Banff. The service was just okay. We received a phone call from the front desk at 3am telling us we needed to switch rooms because we were in the wrong type of room. How absurd considering the front desk checked us in! We complained to the manager and they discounted our stay but should have done more. The rooms & bathrooms need some serious updating. They are so dated and for the price the rooms should be more modern, clean and renovated.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Gypsy

We are very sorry and deeply regret our services and facilities were not satisfactory during your recent stay with us. We take pride in offering the best to our guests and your experience is not common with our normal standards.

You will be happy to know that the guest rooms have recently been refreshed with an updated look, and we are currently beginning the same process in the guest bathrooms.

We thank you for your constructive comments, I have taken the liberty of sharing them with the appropiate departments.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.