We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A royal pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 33 hotels in Banff
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A royal pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It is often difficult to give a 3-star hotel a faultless review - because they are after all only 3-star. You expect something to be not up to scratch. Wrong - when it comes to the Mount Royal Hotel in Banff. Location is perfect if you want to be in the middle of everything. Service was 5-star. Cleanliness - good. Room with 2 x Queen beds was very adequate. For under $100 per night this is good value. We stayed in spring time ( felt more like winter ) for 2 nights. Easy walk from the bus and train depot. Public bus stop right outside. All the usual eating establishments surround you - Starbucks, McDonalds, Food Court etc. Tony Roma's at the hotel lobby is a good option if you dont want to go outside to eat. I suppose if you were adverse to having any sort of noise problem, you might think that this rave is a bit over the top. You can hear talk in hallways and because it is in the centre of town it is not a very quiet hotel. We were at the back of the hotel so we didnt get too much outside noise. It was St Patricks Day and the streets were filled with revellers. If you want quiet I would suggest their sister hotel Banff International Hotel just off the main drag. But if you want to be in the middle of the action this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Choose back of hotel - still with good views over Sulphur Mtn and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Louise

I was pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received while you were staying with us and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. We are happy to have had such a positive impact on your stay.

Thank you for sharing with us your comments. We truly do look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    199
    124
    48
    25
See reviews for
87
238
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The location is great, right in the heart of Banff. The service was just okay. We received a phone call from the front desk at 3am telling us we needed to switch rooms because we were in the wrong type of room. How absurd considering the front desk checked us in! We complained to the manager and they discounted our stay but should have done more. The rooms & bathrooms need some serious updating. They are so dated and for the price the rooms should be more modern, clean and renovated.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Gypsy

We are very sorry and deeply regret our services and facilities were not satisfactory during your recent stay with us. We take pride in offering the best to our guests and your experience is not common with our normal standards.

You will be happy to know that the guest rooms have recently been refreshed with an updated look, and we are currently beginning the same process in the guest bathrooms.

We thank you for your constructive comments, I have taken the liberty of sharing them with the appropiate departments.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the Mount Royal Hotel in Banff for one night this past weekend. We are from Calgary and have travelled extensively to Banff over the years and have stayed in many hotels so we are very familiar with the area.

The primary reason for picking this hotel, is there was a good rate on Expedia. As we were just staying one night and going skiing the following day, we didn’t need an anything fancy and were really looking for a good rate.

The best part about this hotel is definitely location. It is right on Banff Ave, right downtown with close access to everything. Most other Banff hotels are a good walk away from downtown, but this one was very conveniently located. Check in was also fast, our room was ready early which was great, and the free parking out back was nice.

The rooms were ok, you can tell they have made some upgrades but for the most part they are pretty dated and worn looking. The bathrooms, especially, could use a refresh. We used the hot tub too, it was a good temperature, and large size, but again the area which is located is just very dated, and kind of dingy being down in the basement.

We would have been relatively satisfied with our stay, however our sleep quality was very poor. The walls were very thin, and we could hear voices coming from many different rooms late into the night and we just did not sleep well. There weren’t even any “parties” going on in any rooms, the walls are just so thin that even people having conversations at normal levels ends up seeming very loud.

Overall, it was ok for the price but we will likely not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Ains

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel. We appericate your constructive comments as we do use them as tools to help us constantly improve.

You will be happy to know that we will be commencing renovations in our bathrooms this year. They will be receiving an refresh and update. I would hope that you will come back and see for yourself.

Once again, thank-you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel is very handy if you're in town to ski/board. We were there for 10 days and didn't rent a car - the fact that the local bus left from directly behind the hotel was a major plus.

Apart from location I'd say the whole experience was average but the price is reasonable and I guess you get what you pay for.

Breakfast wasn't included in our package and we tried the hot buffet one day which seemed pretty over priced for what we got and the fact that it was almost cold (the heater had broken I believe).

Staff were courteous, only real interaction was booking some dog sledding which was def worth doing. Although they were trying to push a firm that don't let you "drive" the dogs on your own, I think I would have been disappointed with that considering it's quite pricey but luckily I'd heard another firm was far better so had to inquire.

Banff is fab, amazing scenery and nice people but everything's pretty slow in comparison to the Alps - admin systems, lifts, service, apres ski. Don't go expecting an Alps skiing experience basically where everything tends to run like clockwork (I know this is because they're better set up for millions of tourists though and banff don't get those numbers). Just to give a really small example we spent about 40 minutes at the bus desk at the airport on arrival trying to find our booking, the system was basically really inefficient and the woman had no sense of urgency.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear London

It was a pleasure to host your visit to both Banff and the Mount Royal Hotel. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay. And that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s central location and all our town has to offer its guests. We found it a joy to have hosted you in house.


Thank you for sharing you comments with us. I have taken to sharing them with the remainder of the management team. We truly look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked 10 nights at the Mount Royal Hotel from 13th February until 23rd February 2013 and had read all of the reviews prior to booking. It was our first time staying at this hotel.

This was our 6th trip to Banff so we are very familiar with the area and knew the hotel was in a fantastic location for the town centre. We always book a car to get us to the mountains for skiing so parking was essential for us and there was plenty of parking to the rear of the hotel.

The room we were given was fully refurbished and was more than adequate for us as a family given the price we had paid. My only complaint about the room is that we were on the 2nd floor and right above the entrance to the Paddock Bar. Whilst this in itself wasn't an issue as there was no noise from the bar at all, the door way was very busy with smokers! From around 11pm there was noise from people coming to and from the bar but this escalated after 2am at closing time. Each evening had different levels of noise! I would request a room to the rear of the hotel even though the view might not be as nice.

The staff in the hotel were very helpful when we had any issues and although our room could be noisy at night, I would still recommend this hotel on the basis of its location, the staff, good car parking and the room quality.

We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel as we were up and out before breakfast started at 7am, so we had breakfast on the mountain or in McDonalds next door which is 24hours, so I'm unable to comment on the breakfast. We did eat dinner at Tony Romas on a number of occasions and the food was always plentiful and excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a room to the rear of the hotel if you want a quiet nights sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Tomsuz

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

I was glad to read that you and your family had a good experience while you were staying with us, and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel.

As a team we always strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that staff went out of their way to ensure that you had a memorable stay. We appericate your feedback with regards to the recent renovations, I will be sure to share you comments with the rest of our team.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We look forward to serving you and your family again in the near future.

Sincerely

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed a weekend in this modest older hotel. It was quiet even though it was on the major street. The parking for cars was bait awkward as there were too few spaces for the guests. The hotel is well situated for many restaurants.

Room Tip: Close to everything in downtown Banff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Harp

I was pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received while you were with us and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. We are happy to have had a positive impact on your stay.

Thank you for sharing with us, I will be sure to pass your constructive comments off to the rest of our management team.

We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We travel quite a bit in Canada and have been quite lucky in getting good service and good hotels. However, in Banff, this hotel ranks fairly low. The hotel is quite old and needs updating with water stains on the ceiling and dim lighting; staff seem to be sparse with no night crews or security to clean up the pizza slices and boxes strewn down the hallway and in the elevator of the third floor and the McDonald's drinks in the other elevator--(and what we hoped was just pop spilled in the middle of the elevator!) ; inability to control the heat in the room, which was set very high and made sleeping uncomfortable; windows that don't open and a dismal view of the back of the alleyway and the heating system. The trip was a package won at a Christmas party with the room being reserved one month prior by my work. The reservation was held but all credit card info faxed and called in by my business was lost/misplaced and we ended up paying again after a phone call by the indifferent front staff who simply shrugged her shoulders and told us there was no other solution. Another couple was also checking in and their emailed reservation had been lost/misplaced and again the front desk dismissed them with a wry smile and an "is there anything else" look. The only thing going for this hotel is the central location on Banff Avenue, but then again, you should check out the other hotels that line the avenue for better service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

We are very sorry and deeply regret that our services and facilities were not satisfactory during your recent stay with us. We take great pride in offering the best to our guests and your experience is not common with our normal standards.

I have taken the liberty to share your comments with the managers of departments. We do take these comments to heart and use them to help us improve and maintain our standards.

We thank-you for your feedback, and look forward to sharing with you the true Mount Royal experience on your return to Banff.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;