We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On Banff Avenue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 hotels in Banff
canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“On Banff Avenue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed a weekend in this modest older hotel. It was quiet even though it was on the major street. The parking for cars was bait awkward as there were too few spaces for the guests. The hotel is well situated for many restaurants.

Room Tip: Close to everything in downtown Banff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Harp

I was pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received while you were with us and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. We are happy to have had a positive impact on your stay.

Thank you for sharing with us, I will be sure to pass your constructive comments off to the rest of our management team.

We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    199
    122
    46
    25
See reviews for
85
237
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We travel quite a bit in Canada and have been quite lucky in getting good service and good hotels. However, in Banff, this hotel ranks fairly low. The hotel is quite old and needs updating with water stains on the ceiling and dim lighting; staff seem to be sparse with no night crews or security to clean up the pizza slices and boxes strewn down the hallway and in the elevator of the third floor and the McDonald's drinks in the other elevator--(and what we hoped was just pop spilled in the middle of the elevator!) ; inability to control the heat in the room, which was set very high and made sleeping uncomfortable; windows that don't open and a dismal view of the back of the alleyway and the heating system. The trip was a package won at a Christmas party with the room being reserved one month prior by my work. The reservation was held but all credit card info faxed and called in by my business was lost/misplaced and we ended up paying again after a phone call by the indifferent front staff who simply shrugged her shoulders and told us there was no other solution. Another couple was also checking in and their emailed reservation had been lost/misplaced and again the front desk dismissed them with a wry smile and an "is there anything else" look. The only thing going for this hotel is the central location on Banff Avenue, but then again, you should check out the other hotels that line the avenue for better service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

We are very sorry and deeply regret that our services and facilities were not satisfactory during your recent stay with us. We take great pride in offering the best to our guests and your experience is not common with our normal standards.

I have taken the liberty to share your comments with the managers of departments. We do take these comments to heart and use them to help us improve and maintain our standards.

We thank-you for your feedback, and look forward to sharing with you the true Mount Royal experience on your return to Banff.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Checked in on Friday night Feb 15, and were kept up from 10pm - 5am with the noise of a group that had been placed on the same floor as us. Furthermore we were placed 2 doors down from the elevator to make things worse.
We were startled at 2am when a girl stepped off the elevator and shreaked at the top of her lungs. At this point I called the front desk and spoke to the night auditor. I asked if they had security in the hotel as it sounds like a big party in the hallway. He then said he'd be right up. They all went to their rooms and shortly after that it continued.
In the morning I spoke with the front desk supervisor and asked if we could be moved from the front to the back of the hotel and on a different floor. She then took no time in telling me that there was no rooms left for the evening. I've been in the hotel industry 12 yrs and even I know that you take care of the guests you already have and the checkin's to come take a back seat until you have. This girl obviously needs further training from her manager. VERY displeased with this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Will,

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

We have taken good note of your comments during your recent stay with us and I was deeply saddened to learn of the unfortunate experience you encountered in the evening as well as with our services.

We pride ourselves in offering only the best to our guests and assure this experience is not common with that of our standards. Please be assured your comments are being reviewed with the respective department heads to ensure a better service in the future.

I find it unfortunate we have let you down this time. While I understand our apology will not undo a bad experience I certainly hope, its one step closer to reinstating your confidence in how much we care about your experience.

Thank you again for sharing with us, we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It's old to be sure, but the rooms were updated, the plumbing and heating worked surprisingly well for a heritage building and the location is unbeatable.

The room was fairly small and down the end of long, windy hallways but once inside, it was great. The bed was comfy, the linens new and the bathroom was newer and very clean.

The only complaint was the opening and closing of other doors around my room was noisy and happened all through the night.

I'd stay again either by myself or with friends. Can't beat the price for downtown!

Room Tip: Tell the front desk if you'd prefer minimal walking otherwise you may end up needing a map to fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Laura

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

We were pleased to hear of your pleasant experience while staying with us.

We strive to ensure that our guests are happy during their stay. It is fantastic to hear that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s facilities, and all our town has to offer its guests. We found it a joy to have hosted you in house.

Thank you for sharing your comments with us, we look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

As there is no 3.5, I assess the Mount Royal Hotel as a 4 out of 5, but most of those points are because it has an unbeatable location in the heart of Banff downtown, with convenient parking at the back of the property. Mount Royal Hotel offers value for money if you can't afford the Rim Rock or the Fairmont.

I stayed for 2 nights in a basic but nice king bed room on the 3rd floor. Unfortunately, the WiFi didn't reliably reach us inside the room, but there is a nice internet area on the 2nd floor where you can sit and get excellent reception.

There are two main areas of 'complaint': one is the noise. Sound really echos along the long corridors, and you can hear peoples' conversations as they converse at normal conversation value. Moreover, there was a group of snowboarding partiers across the hall, and their comings and goings at all hours of the night was quite loud. I asked at the front desk if there were any other available rooms, and unfortunately, there weren't. I didn't get much sleep that night, perhaps not assisted by the lumpiest pillows I've ever felt - it was like sleeping on a bag of buttons.

Secondly, the bathroom was not stellar. The pipes emit a high-pitch whine and I thought it was going to explode. The toilet was only bolted to the floor on one side. There was no extractor fan. The worst part was how long it took for the water to become warm - I had to run the tap for a solid 10 minutes before the water was at an appropriate temperature for a shower. The dark, clingy, dingy beige shower curtain made it feel like you were showering in a cave. This is a shame, as the room is otherwise nice; management would do well to invest in some bathroom renovations. However, there were some nice toiletries in the bathroom.

The room itself was nice, with a big TV. The bedside lights were mounted in an odd place on the wall, so that you had to physically get out of bed and almost stand on your tiptoes in order to turn them off. Somewhat annoying design. No in-room fridge, although an ice bucket was supplied with an ice machine a walk down the hall. Presence of a vending machine near the elevators was nice for a midnight snack.

I appreciated how you could easily control the temperature in the room with an electric thermostat.

Front desk staff wasn't particularly full of pep or personality during the afternoon shift, but the night clerk tried to be helpful even with somewhat limited English. In particular, there was a friendly guy who worked in the adjoining lounge - a convenient place to duck into. (Even though it said it's open til 2 pm, it closed just after 10 pm on Sunday.)

I would, all in all, recommend this hotel as a good place to stay if you are looking for a prime location in Banff for a reasonable price. There are some drawbacks but none which would deter me from staying there again (I'd just bring ear plugs and my own pillow).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Karforr

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

I was very pleased to read that you had a good experience while staying with us. We are one of the best placed hotels in town, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. As a team we strive to provide the best for our guests and found it a joy to have hosted you in-house.

Thank you for your constructive comments. I have taken the liberty to share them with the appropriate departments. We do use these as tools to help us improve and maintain our standards.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback, we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great value for your money. Excellent, friendly staff. Located in the town. Close to all ammendities. Comfortable beds and room was nice. Surrounded by the shopping district. View from our room was amazing.

Room Tip: Front of building has the view of The Rockies and shops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Diane

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

I was glad to read about your exceptional experience while staying with us. And that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants.

We strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that staff went out of their way to ensure that you had a memorable stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I really liked our room, it was the cheapest option in hotel, room had 2 queen beds and a separate area with small coffee table, chairs, coach, it was separated from bedroom. There are some minuses: one air duct was very dirty and water was not hot in hot tub. However, I'll give 5 stars for excellent value of price. Great location, quick chek-in and check-out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Marina

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your experience while you were staying with us. We strive to ensure that all our guests are happy, and we found it a joy to have had you in-house.

We thank for your constructive comments, I have taken the liberty to pass them on to the appropriate department heads. This will help us to improve and maintain our standards.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.