We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average room, some drawbacks, but prime location bumps up experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Average room, some drawbacks, but prime location bumps up experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

As there is no 3.5, I assess the Mount Royal Hotel as a 4 out of 5, but most of those points are because it has an unbeatable location in the heart of Banff downtown, with convenient parking at the back of the property. Mount Royal Hotel offers value for money if you can't afford the Rim Rock or the Fairmont.

I stayed for 2 nights in a basic but nice king bed room on the 3rd floor. Unfortunately, the WiFi didn't reliably reach us inside the room, but there is a nice internet area on the 2nd floor where you can sit and get excellent reception.

There are two main areas of 'complaint': one is the noise. Sound really echos along the long corridors, and you can hear peoples' conversations as they converse at normal conversation value. Moreover, there was a group of snowboarding partiers across the hall, and their comings and goings at all hours of the night was quite loud. I asked at the front desk if there were any other available rooms, and unfortunately, there weren't. I didn't get much sleep that night, perhaps not assisted by the lumpiest pillows I've ever felt - it was like sleeping on a bag of buttons.

Secondly, the bathroom was not stellar. The pipes emit a high-pitch whine and I thought it was going to explode. The toilet was only bolted to the floor on one side. There was no extractor fan. The worst part was how long it took for the water to become warm - I had to run the tap for a solid 10 minutes before the water was at an appropriate temperature for a shower. The dark, clingy, dingy beige shower curtain made it feel like you were showering in a cave. This is a shame, as the room is otherwise nice; management would do well to invest in some bathroom renovations. However, there were some nice toiletries in the bathroom.

The room itself was nice, with a big TV. The bedside lights were mounted in an odd place on the wall, so that you had to physically get out of bed and almost stand on your tiptoes in order to turn them off. Somewhat annoying design. No in-room fridge, although an ice bucket was supplied with an ice machine a walk down the hall. Presence of a vending machine near the elevators was nice for a midnight snack.

I appreciated how you could easily control the temperature in the room with an electric thermostat.

Front desk staff wasn't particularly full of pep or personality during the afternoon shift, but the night clerk tried to be helpful even with somewhat limited English. In particular, there was a friendly guy who worked in the adjoining lounge - a convenient place to duck into. (Even though it said it's open til 2 pm, it closed just after 10 pm on Sunday.)

I would, all in all, recommend this hotel as a good place to stay if you are looking for a prime location in Banff for a reasonable price. There are some drawbacks but none which would deter me from staying there again (I'd just bring ear plugs and my own pillow).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Karforr

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

I was very pleased to read that you had a good experience while staying with us. We are one of the best placed hotels in town, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. As a team we strive to provide the best for our guests and found it a joy to have hosted you in-house.

Thank you for your constructive comments. I have taken the liberty to share them with the appropriate departments. We do use these as tools to help us improve and maintain our standards.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback, we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    206
    128
    51
    26
See reviews for
90
245
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edwardsville, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great value for your money. Excellent, friendly staff. Located in the town. Close to all ammendities. Comfortable beds and room was nice. Surrounded by the shopping district. View from our room was amazing.

Room Tip: Front of building has the view of The Rockies and shops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Diane

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

I was glad to read about your exceptional experience while staying with us. And that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants.

We strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that staff went out of their way to ensure that you had a memorable stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I really liked our room, it was the cheapest option in hotel, room had 2 queen beds and a separate area with small coffee table, chairs, coach, it was separated from bedroom. There are some minuses: one air duct was very dirty and water was not hot in hot tub. However, I'll give 5 stars for excellent value of price. Great location, quick chek-in and check-out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Marina

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your experience while you were staying with us. We strive to ensure that all our guests are happy, and we found it a joy to have had you in-house.

We thank for your constructive comments, I have taken the liberty to pass them on to the appropriate department heads. This will help us to improve and maintain our standards.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Mount Royal Hotel. The value was fantastic, it was so cheap I was not expecting it to be anywhere near as nice as it was.

The rooms were very modern, TV quite large with a good choice of channels.

I had read previous reviews that said there was no fridge, so we prepared ourselves for no fridge - but just like anywhere else there was a bar fridge. I had also read that it was too warm in the room, definitely not the case for us. If anything we couldn't get the room hot, but it was always comfortable.

The shower temperature was a bit random, sometimes it would barely get lukewarm then all of a sudden it's boiling hot.

The bed was super comfortable and the location was just fantastic.

Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Level 3 was great. We had a room facing the car park, which was probably not as nice as the street s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Joolery

It was a pleasure to host your visit to both Banff and the Mount Royal Hotel. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I’m happy that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s central location and all our town has to offer its guests. We found it a joy to have served you in house.

Thank you for sharing with us and we look forward to serving you in Banff again soon.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland Line, Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Two nights in mid-summer. Had asked for basic housing on fairly short notice & was given gloomy comfortable room deep in winding bowels of building; view of ventilation equipment. Bathroom cramped; nice tub. The room was only for sleeping & it was GREAT to be in the center of town. Staff friendly. Would stay again --- but Homestead Inn is not far away and that had served me well with its airy top-floor room a few summers before. It's a hotel but listed for some reason in TripAdvisor "Banff Inns & B & Bs"

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Venturesome

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel, right in the heart of downtown Banff.

We thank for your constructive comments, I have taken the liberty to pass them on to the appropriate department heads. This will help us to improve and maintain our standards.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Let’s start with the Perfect location of this hotel! It’s right in the middle of all the action in Banff. Check in was smooth & parking was a breeze (It’s in the back of the building) From what I saw there was no pool in the hotel but I could be wrong. We ate at a Greek restaurant near by (Blakan, I'll be writing a review about this place soon too) Food was AMAZING!!!

As for the room, it was ok (See picture attached). Beds were nice and pillows were really soft. Cleanliness was not an issue. A few friends/coworkers were staying there too and they both mentioned the rooms were dirty and had blood stains (One on the wall and the other on the floor) They also said their bed had white stuff on it and they had to ask for it to be cleaned. When we came back in the afternoon around 4 the room still hadn’t been cleaned and we had to ask again, finally they changed the sheets but they still refused to sleep in the bed. Other than this incident our stay was good and we’d go again but we’d only pick this hotel for its location and recommend you thoroughly check your room before getting comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Tourdemi

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel.

I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you enjoyed staying in the heart of downtown Banff.

I am deeply sorry the hotel did not meet expectations in all facets of your friends experience. Rest assured I have passed on all the details of your stay to the appropriate managers and we are working diligently to make sure that the experience you had does not happen again.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends again on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Mount Royal. The hotel is situated right in the middle of Banff Ave so a great location! Our room was very clean & the staff were friendly & helpful. Our safe did not work so I called the front desk & a maintenance guy arrived to fix it within 5 minutes of my call. Overall we were very impressed & we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Louise

I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us. And that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants.

We strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that staff went out of their way to ensure that you had a memorable stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;