We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great value hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Mount Royal Hotel. The value was fantastic, it was so cheap I was not expecting it to be anywhere near as nice as it was.

The rooms were very modern, TV quite large with a good choice of channels.

I had read previous reviews that said there was no fridge, so we prepared ourselves for no fridge - but just like anywhere else there was a bar fridge. I had also read that it was too warm in the room, definitely not the case for us. If anything we couldn't get the room hot, but it was always comfortable.

The shower temperature was a bit random, sometimes it would barely get lukewarm then all of a sudden it's boiling hot.

The bed was super comfortable and the location was just fantastic.

Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Level 3 was great. We had a room facing the car park, which was probably not as nice as the street s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Joolery

It was a pleasure to host your visit to both Banff and the Mount Royal Hotel. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I’m happy that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s central location and all our town has to offer its guests. We found it a joy to have served you in house.

Thank you for sharing with us and we look forward to serving you in Banff again soon.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    215
    134
    53
    26
See reviews for
91
258
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland Line, Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Two nights in mid-summer. Had asked for basic housing on fairly short notice & was given gloomy comfortable room deep in winding bowels of building; view of ventilation equipment. Bathroom cramped; nice tub. The room was only for sleeping & it was GREAT to be in the center of town. Staff friendly. Would stay again --- but Homestead Inn is not far away and that had served me well with its airy top-floor room a few summers before. It's a hotel but listed for some reason in TripAdvisor "Banff Inns & B & Bs"

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Venturesome

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel, right in the heart of downtown Banff.

We thank for your constructive comments, I have taken the liberty to pass them on to the appropriate department heads. This will help us to improve and maintain our standards.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Let’s start with the Perfect location of this hotel! It’s right in the middle of all the action in Banff. Check in was smooth & parking was a breeze (It’s in the back of the building) From what I saw there was no pool in the hotel but I could be wrong. We ate at a Greek restaurant near by (Blakan, I'll be writing a review about this place soon too) Food was AMAZING!!!

As for the room, it was ok (See picture attached). Beds were nice and pillows were really soft. Cleanliness was not an issue. A few friends/coworkers were staying there too and they both mentioned the rooms were dirty and had blood stains (One on the wall and the other on the floor) They also said their bed had white stuff on it and they had to ask for it to be cleaned. When we came back in the afternoon around 4 the room still hadn’t been cleaned and we had to ask again, finally they changed the sheets but they still refused to sleep in the bed. Other than this incident our stay was good and we’d go again but we’d only pick this hotel for its location and recommend you thoroughly check your room before getting comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Tourdemi

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel.

I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you enjoyed staying in the heart of downtown Banff.

I am deeply sorry the hotel did not meet expectations in all facets of your friends experience. Rest assured I have passed on all the details of your stay to the appropriate managers and we are working diligently to make sure that the experience you had does not happen again.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends again on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Mount Royal. The hotel is situated right in the middle of Banff Ave so a great location! Our room was very clean & the staff were friendly & helpful. Our safe did not work so I called the front desk & a maintenance guy arrived to fix it within 5 minutes of my call. Overall we were very impressed & we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Louise

I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us. And that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants.

We strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that staff went out of their way to ensure that you had a memorable stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Decided to stay at the Mount Royal because of great downtown location. Our Hotel room was recently renovated but done on the cheap. It definately is a 2 or 3 star hotel but you cannot beat the location. We enjoy a day on the slopes, quick shower and then a night on the town.....so for that reason....It is an economical place to sleep. We will surely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Banff have a great view of the mountains. Fun to watch the people on the street. Hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Twogoodtrends

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us. And that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed. We found it a joy to have hosted you.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in the Pinnicle suite . When sat on the couch had amazing views from all 3 sides .The room was huge . It is very old and dated but goes with the setting of Banff . Everything was very clean and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The location is second to none being right on the main street , pubs , clubs ,shopping ,restaurants and museums all on your door step !!
BUT if your into swanky over priced hotels this is not for you ... look for those and stay there so not to complain about this little piece of Banffs history ... I will definatly be coming back here ...LOVED IT !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Cocowarnes

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

We were pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received during your recent stay with us.

We always strive to ensure our guests are truly happy with every stay and our team are humbled and found it an equal joy of have you in-house.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you want a central place in Banff Mount Royal hotel is for you. It is an older hotel but it still has great character. The ceiling are so nice and tall it gives the rooms a nice open feel. If your looking for a place within walking distances of all the great banff nightlife this spot couldn’t get any better. It was great to go for dinner and drinks and not have to worry about getting home cause the hotel is so central and easy to walk to.
The bed was very comfortable. We stayed for 2 night and got upgraded to a suite it was really nice to have an extra room as we had friends come up and meet up and it was great to have a sitting room to have pre drinks in.
If your looking for a quite place this hotel may not be for your. It can get a little loud if your room is right over looking banff ave cause all the pubs and restaurants are below the hotel. However if you got a room on the other side im sure you would not hear the noise.
This is no 5 star hotel like banff springs however if you want to spend your money on other things to do around banff that can add up pick the mount royal. Its a good price, great location, great staff and the money you save can be used to do lots of other fun things around banff. I would 100% stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Dana

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us. And that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants.

We strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that staff went out of their way to ensure that you had a memorable stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.