We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Reasonable Accomodation.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location, Reasonable Accomodation.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Let’s start with the Perfect location of this hotel! It’s right in the middle of all the action in Banff. Check in was smooth & parking was a breeze (It’s in the back of the building) From what I saw there was no pool in the hotel but I could be wrong. We ate at a Greek restaurant near by (Blakan, I'll be writing a review about this place soon too) Food was AMAZING!!!

As for the room, it was ok (See picture attached). Beds were nice and pillows were really soft. Cleanliness was not an issue. A few friends/coworkers were staying there too and they both mentioned the rooms were dirty and had blood stains (One on the wall and the other on the floor) They also said their bed had white stuff on it and they had to ask for it to be cleaned. When we came back in the afternoon around 4 the room still hadn’t been cleaned and we had to ask again, finally they changed the sheets but they still refused to sleep in the bed. Other than this incident our stay was good and we’d go again but we’d only pick this hotel for its location and recommend you thoroughly check your room before getting comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Tourdemi

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel.

I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you enjoyed staying in the heart of downtown Banff.

I am deeply sorry the hotel did not meet expectations in all facets of your friends experience. Rest assured I have passed on all the details of your stay to the appropriate managers and we are working diligently to make sure that the experience you had does not happen again.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends again on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    268
    157
    68
    38
See reviews for
121
324
39
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Mount Royal. The hotel is situated right in the middle of Banff Ave so a great location! Our room was very clean & the staff were friendly & helpful. Our safe did not work so I called the front desk & a maintenance guy arrived to fix it within 5 minutes of my call. Overall we were very impressed & we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Louise

I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us. And that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants.

We strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that staff went out of their way to ensure that you had a memorable stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Decided to stay at the Mount Royal because of great downtown location. Our Hotel room was recently renovated but done on the cheap. It definately is a 2 or 3 star hotel but you cannot beat the location. We enjoy a day on the slopes, quick shower and then a night on the town.....so for that reason....It is an economical place to sleep. We will surely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Banff have a great view of the mountains. Fun to watch the people on the street. Hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Twogoodtrends

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us. And that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed. We found it a joy to have hosted you.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in the Pinnicle suite . When sat on the couch had amazing views from all 3 sides .The room was huge . It is very old and dated but goes with the setting of Banff . Everything was very clean and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The location is second to none being right on the main street , pubs , clubs ,shopping ,restaurants and museums all on your door step !!
BUT if your into swanky over priced hotels this is not for you ... look for those and stay there so not to complain about this little piece of Banffs history ... I will definatly be coming back here ...LOVED IT !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Cocowarnes

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

We were pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received during your recent stay with us.

We always strive to ensure our guests are truly happy with every stay and our team are humbled and found it an equal joy of have you in-house.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you want a central place in Banff Mount Royal hotel is for you. It is an older hotel but it still has great character. The ceiling are so nice and tall it gives the rooms a nice open feel. If your looking for a place within walking distances of all the great banff nightlife this spot couldn’t get any better. It was great to go for dinner and drinks and not have to worry about getting home cause the hotel is so central and easy to walk to.
The bed was very comfortable. We stayed for 2 night and got upgraded to a suite it was really nice to have an extra room as we had friends come up and meet up and it was great to have a sitting room to have pre drinks in.
If your looking for a quite place this hotel may not be for your. It can get a little loud if your room is right over looking banff ave cause all the pubs and restaurants are below the hotel. However if you got a room on the other side im sure you would not hear the noise.
This is no 5 star hotel like banff springs however if you want to spend your money on other things to do around banff that can add up pick the mount royal. Its a good price, great location, great staff and the money you save can be used to do lots of other fun things around banff. I would 100% stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Dana

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us. And that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants.

We strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that staff went out of their way to ensure that you had a memorable stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked about 3 weeks in advance, booked a King bed. Upon arrival, we were told they didnt have any left, they would give us 2 queens. I was not happy as we booked so far ahead. When we got to the room, it had to small double beds, very uncomfortable for 2 people to sleep in one. The whirlpool from hotel was broken, the sheets on the bed had big brown stains on there, they thermostat was broken or not functioning so it was very hot in the room all day and night, even with windows open in -10 degrees. Beds were hard, bar right beside the hotel with very noisy patrons at 2:30AM, staff wasnt helpful or sorry for anything, seemed like they couldnt care less. No fridge or microwave so couldnt take anything along, and they charge $3 for a small bottle of water. Very disappointed with this hotel, will not stay there again.

Room Tip: we chose a room, they didnt give it to us, if possible get one away from side of hotel with the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Henrietta

We are very sorry and deeply regret that our services and facilities were not satisfactory during your recent stay with us. We take great pride in offering the best to our guests and your experience is not common with our normal standards.

Thank you for your constructive comments. I have taken the liberty to share your specific comments with the appropriate managers of departments. We do use these as tools to help us improve and maintain our standards.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights over the holidays. They had ample parking and the check in process was very fast and efficient. We chose to store our skis in our room which wasn't a problem, but there were also complimentary ski lockers on site. Our room had a king bed and a mountain view. It was very quiet and comfortable. We ate at the lounge in the bar which didn't have a wait, and had full access to the Tony Roma's restaurant. You can call the restaurant for takeout and bring it up to your room as well :) I would definitely go back. Only a 15 minute drive door to door at Sunshine Village Ski Resort!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Jessica

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

It was a pleasure to host your visit to both Banff and the Mount Royal Hotel. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I’m happy that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s central location and all our town has to offer its guests. We found it a joy to have served you in house.

Thank you for sharing with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Banff International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#20 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.