We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice stay on beautiful location"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 hotels in Banff
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Nice stay on beautiful location"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The rooms specially the front side view is just too good . luxury at its best . The rooms are large with all possible facilities.
Centrally located in Market and near to tourist bus stop make it easily accessible.
The food is nice also but what touches the most is the service .

Room Tip: Road side rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Phonix
Greeetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

It was a pleasure fo us to host your visit to Banff . It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I’m happy that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s central location and all our town has to offer its guests. We are truly humbled and found it a joy to have had you in house.
Thank you for sharing with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    181
    94
    42
    24
See reviews for
72
205
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

we have stayed two nights in this hotel, the room was very cosy and heater had been provided to us when we asked for it. But the view from the window was not breathtaking at all (just another building's wall), but the room was clean and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was my first time to Banff and i loved it. I went on a skiing holiday so we werent in the hotel that much but the location was great, with the ski bus parking right in the car park we always got a seat. The staff were always friendly and helpful. When we arrived we arrived to 2 rooms being booked, but it was quickly sorted out and we had no problems. We had breakfast at Tony Romas which isnt as good as some of the other hotels breafasts but was still nice. Would recommend this hotel because of the freindly staff and great location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel and signed a waiver regarding not leaving a dog unattended in our room. We briefly stepped out with the dog left in a crate in the room (broke the rules). Our dog must have barked and disturbed neighbours which is not a normal occurrence with our dog. We returned to the hotel to a locked room so we went down to the desk to get back in and there was our dog at the reception desk.. I'm not sure who gave them the right to steal or remove anything from a room since the waiver clearly indicates that the guest will have to remove the pet if necessary. We were not informed or contacted!

I would also like to note that when booking the room, I asked if there are any rooms available with 2 beds. They told me that there were none so I then booked 2 separate rooms. What do we arrive to... 2 rooms each with 2 beds in them. Oh we also found a random pill capsule on our floor when we arrived.. nice nasty touch. Needless to say.. not impressed and poorly managed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your last visit at the Mount-Royal hotel.

First let me start by apologizing for what has happened to you during your stay. Our hotel policy regarding pets is very clear and you were made aware of it on check in. What transpired next should never have happened. This was a clear mistake and we take full responsibility for this. I have personally contacted our security provider and inform them of this incident, I also refreshed their memory on the proper hotel procedure when it comes to pets in guest rooms. I was assured by the owner of the company that this will never happen again.

Once again, please accept my apologies.

Regards,

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were traveling with a bus tour group and stayed for two nights at the Mount Royal in Banff, AB. The hotel is well situated in the town, a brief walk to the Bow River Bridge in one direction and in the other the hotel is very close to all the shops and restaurants. Breakfasts were included with our package. While the breakfast buffet offered here was good, it fell short of the breakfasts we enjoyed at the six other hotels booked on our tour from Seatle through Idaho and Monatana into Alberta,and British Columbia and back to Seatle via Vancouver..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanna, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in the Mount Royal in November 2012 as a weekend getaway. I have always loved older historic buildings so that's why I booked us here. The lobby is quite beautiful but could use an update on furniture. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a small but modernized room. We had a flat screen television and 2 queen beds which was nice because we travelled with our dog. The beds were terrible. They were saggy in the middle (to us anyways) and really uncomfortable. The bathroom is clean and stocked but again very tiny, and there's a slight step up into the bathroom so if your not cautious you can trip. Also there is no continental breakfast, and parking is not ideal for people with a truck.

We dined the first night at Tony Roma's in the hotel and had a wonderful meal s f GREAT waiter.

Despite the great location, good rates and let friendly accommodations we most likely wouldn't stay here again simply because we didn't sleep well.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnarvon, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We recently stay here for 2 nights could have stayed for a few week. Not only was the hotel central but it was beautiful..and the town was amazing.
Our room was sooo comfortable and consisted of 3 rooms a seperate bedroom and living room and bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.