We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stole dog from room without informing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stole dog from room without informing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel and signed a waiver regarding not leaving a dog unattended in our room. We briefly stepped out with the dog left in a crate in the room (broke the rules). Our dog must have barked and disturbed neighbours which is not a normal occurrence with our dog. We returned to the hotel to a locked room so we went down to the desk to get back in and there was our dog at the reception desk.. I'm not sure who gave them the right to steal or remove anything from a room since the waiver clearly indicates that the guest will have to remove the pet if necessary. We were not informed or contacted!

I would also like to note that when booking the room, I asked if there are any rooms available with 2 beds. They told me that there were none so I then booked 2 separate rooms. What do we arrive to... 2 rooms each with 2 beds in them. Oh we also found a random pill capsule on our floor when we arrived.. nice nasty touch. Needless to say.. not impressed and poorly managed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your last visit at the Mount-Royal hotel.

First let me start by apologizing for what has happened to you during your stay. Our hotel policy regarding pets is very clear and you were made aware of it on check in. What transpired next should never have happened. This was a clear mistake and we take full responsibility for this. I have personally contacted our security provider and inform them of this incident, I also refreshed their memory on the proper hotel procedure when it comes to pets in guest rooms. I was assured by the owner of the company that this will never happen again.

Once again, please accept my apologies.

Regards,

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    216
    135
    53
    26
See reviews for
91
261
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were traveling with a bus tour group and stayed for two nights at the Mount Royal in Banff, AB. The hotel is well situated in the town, a brief walk to the Bow River Bridge in one direction and in the other the hotel is very close to all the shops and restaurants. Breakfasts were included with our package. While the breakfast buffet offered here was good, it fell short of the breakfasts we enjoyed at the six other hotels booked on our tour from Seatle through Idaho and Monatana into Alberta,and British Columbia and back to Seatle via Vancouver..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanna, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in the Mount Royal in November 2012 as a weekend getaway. I have always loved older historic buildings so that's why I booked us here. The lobby is quite beautiful but could use an update on furniture. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a small but modernized room. We had a flat screen television and 2 queen beds which was nice because we travelled with our dog. The beds were terrible. They were saggy in the middle (to us anyways) and really uncomfortable. The bathroom is clean and stocked but again very tiny, and there's a slight step up into the bathroom so if your not cautious you can trip. Also there is no continental breakfast, and parking is not ideal for people with a truck.

We dined the first night at Tony Roma's in the hotel and had a wonderful meal s f GREAT waiter.

Despite the great location, good rates and let friendly accommodations we most likely wouldn't stay here again simply because we didn't sleep well.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnarvon, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We recently stay here for 2 nights could have stayed for a few week. Not only was the hotel central but it was beautiful..and the town was amazing.
Our room was sooo comfortable and consisted of 3 rooms a seperate bedroom and living room and bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Awsome location. Room was ok. Bathroom was very small and awkward. Staff was very personable and helpful. Would stay here again. Pizza place, Aardvark , across the street was great for take out! Room, itself, was a comfortable size. Everything was clean, but, older

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford,Pa
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed two nights during our Canadian Rocky trip. It is centrally located to all the stores and restaurants and the views in Banff were fantastic. While walking down Banff Ave the first night we even saw a elk walking in town and eating flowers in front of the stores. The hotel rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a very busy hotel with lots of tour groups coming and going. It is centrally located on the main street and convenient to all amenities.
The rooms are of a reasonable size and well equipped with tea/coffee making facilties. The bathroom is a tad small but plenty of towels and toiletries.
The car park was being tarmaced whilst we were there but this was not a big issue(they have to upgrade things sometimes!) We just found parking on the road on the next block.
There is an issue with noisy doors - I spoke to the manager that perhaps the door retarders could be improved to prevent them slamming shut. Also it is a good idea to request a room on the back of the hotel, on the third floor and away from tour groups who tend to leave early and forget that other guests are still sleeping!
There is outside noise from people on their way home from pubs and clubs but there is little the hotel can do about this! Take our advice and see if you can get a room on the back and on the top floor.
The bar areas and restaurant are quick and efficient. The food and beers are good and we ate there most nights.This is an excellent hotel for sightseeing and exploring the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Third floor at the back of the hotel. Also away from the lift, drinks dispenser and ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.