We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place to stay in Banff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A very good place to stay in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were in Banff for the weekend and stayed in this hotel. Being in downtown Banff is the greatest advantages as all attractions are pretty close by and shopping on Banff Ave. is easy. Also, it is close to most of the good restaurants in Banff. The room was nicely furnished and spacious. The beds are awesomely comfortable. This is important for a good night's sleep after some serious hiking around Banff. Being operated by Brewster has its advantages, so that you can book many of Brewster's tours and packages at the hotel itself (if you don't do it online). The check-in was speedy and same goes with the check-out. One precaution to be taken. Avoid the rooms on facing the road, as noise from the pub and streets below might disturb your sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the Banff Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    206
    128
    51
    26
See reviews for
90
245
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a small hotel located in the heart of downtown Banff. We were given a room on the 4th floor, which required us to walk from one elevator to another, a long walk up and down a short flight of stairs: difficult with luggage. The room itself was clean, but small. It is very basic and could use a facelift.

Room Tip: Refuse a room on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in the fall (no snow yet) and have to say it was the WORST hotel I have stayed at in a long time. I imagine the location is great for the slopes in ski season but in fall, man it is sad. They have no air in the rooms whether it is warm and you need a/c or cold and you need heat. Internet didn'twork for two days. And they decided to pave the parking lot, so they closed it for construction, leaving us tob have to fight for street parking on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your recent at the Mount-Royal hotel,

I was very sorry to see that your stay did not match your expectations. We are always happy to send one of our staff to help guest who have difficulty operating the thermostat. There is both A/C and heat in all of our guest rooms. As for the internet, I do apologize, we have had technical issues last week but it is now resolve and working perfectly. The paving of the parking lot is now completed. Unfortunately, there is never a good time to do this, we try our hardest to minimize guest impact.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback.

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The location is perfect; in the middle of town. Just make sure you don't have a room on the main street side. Also, make sure they aren't getting the carpets cleaned if you are on the main street side. The main street view is nice but getting no sleep for two days was not good.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the side facing the main street. People get out of the bars and stand on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, MT Royal Hotel at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Woodland

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us.
We were glad to hear that you had the opportunity take advantage of our excellent location close to many of Banff’s shops and activities.

We are grateful for your constructive comments and I have taken the liberty to pass them on to the Management staff, which will help us to improve and maintain our standards.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice hotel right in the centre of town with nice rooms and good level of service near good brewpubs and bars and shops. The Banff chair lift is close by also walks by the river. Try the badger and stump for an excellent Mexican meal with beer from jam jars

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, MT Royal Hotel at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Paxton

I was pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received while you were with us and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. We are happy to have had a positive impact on your stay.

Thank you for sharing with us, and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I've stayed at the Mount Royal multiple times.

The location is incredible. You walk out the front door of the hotel and you're in the heart of town.

The rooms are clean. The beds are incredibly comfortable. And the hotel staff is friendly. We travel with a small dog, and we've always been accommodated. Yes the back of the hotel faces a large parking lot, but really how much time do you spend in your room when you're in Banff? And when you're surrounded by mountains it's hard to complain.

If you're an early riser, go for a walk in town and you'll see Deer walking down the main road munching on the potted flowers and shrubs.

Infact, I'm headed back to Banff in October and will be staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, MT Royal Hotel at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear D

Greetings From the Mount Royal Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am very happy to hear we succeeded in making your stay an enjoyable one and that you were able to have such had a restful sleep. I have taken the liberty to pass your comments on to the team members who made an extra positive impact during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The location is perfect, right on the main street near all of the restaurants and the ski bus stopping right behind the hotel is excellent for skiers. The restaurants is brilliant and the Jacuzzi is good, a pool would be excellent, the hotel is very clean and the rooms are good just could be updated. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Mt Royal Hotel at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Bill

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

Thank you for sharing your Mount Royal Hotel experience! We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to ensure our guests are happy during their stay and our team is humbled and found it a joy to have you and your family in -house.

We look forward to serving you again on your next Banff getaway.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;