We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice hotel right in the centre of town with nice rooms and good level of service near good brewpubs and bars and shops. The Banff chair lift is close by also walks by the river. Try the badger and stump for an excellent Mexican meal with beer from jam jars

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paxton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, MT Royal Hotel at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Paxton

I was pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received while you were with us and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. We are happy to have had a positive impact on your stay.

Thank you for sharing with us, and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I've stayed at the Mount Royal multiple times.

The location is incredible. You walk out the front door of the hotel and you're in the heart of town.

The rooms are clean. The beds are incredibly comfortable. And the hotel staff is friendly. We travel with a small dog, and we've always been accommodated. Yes the back of the hotel faces a large parking lot, but really how much time do you spend in your room when you're in Banff? And when you're surrounded by mountains it's hard to complain.

If you're an early riser, go for a walk in town and you'll see Deer walking down the main road munching on the potted flowers and shrubs.

Infact, I'm headed back to Banff in October and will be staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_Travel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, MT Royal Hotel at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear D

Greetings From the Mount Royal Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am very happy to hear we succeeded in making your stay an enjoyable one and that you were able to have such had a restful sleep. I have taken the liberty to pass your comments on to the team members who made an extra positive impact during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The location is perfect, right on the main street near all of the restaurants and the ski bus stopping right behind the hotel is excellent for skiers. The restaurants is brilliant and the Jacuzzi is good, a pool would be excellent, the hotel is very clean and the rooms are good just could be updated. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill22997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Mt Royal Hotel at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Bill

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

Thank you for sharing your Mount Royal Hotel experience! We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to ensure our guests are happy during their stay and our team is humbled and found it a joy to have you and your family in -house.

We look forward to serving you again on your next Banff getaway.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Perfectly located. Reasonably priced. Classy rooms with good clean compfy beds. Great view. Nice lobby area with friendly staff. Good restaurants all around including in the hotel itself. We loved it here, this is now our new Banff hotel. The only thing we missed was a mini fridge in our room but there is an ice machine so now we know this we will take a cooler with us next time.

Room Tip: This is the place to stay in Banff, without a doubt for shopping and nightlife etc. The location is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetmct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Mt Royal Hotel at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Janet

It was a pleasure to host your visit to both Banff and the Mount Royal Hotel. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I’m happy that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s central location and all our town has to offer its guests. We found it a joy to have served you in house.

Thank you for sharing with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The best part of the hotel was the central location. Also, the beds were comfortable, the wi-fi worked perfectly in our room, and there was a good selection of TV channels. On the other hand, the outdated bathroom was incredibly tiny and we experienced technical difficulties with our key cards. Also, the communal jacuzzi was in a windowless basement room with bad lighting and tiled floors (you feel like you're sitting in the middle of a McDonald's). When we arrived at the hotel, we ended up driving around the block, trying to figure out how to get into the parking lot. In the end, since there weren't any clear entrance signs, we just entered through the exit lane. Another observation: My family and I weren't package tourists, but it seemed that all the other guests were arriving on tour buses.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newyorker1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, MT Royal Hotel at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Newyorker

I was very pleased to read that you had a good experience while staying with us. We are one of the best placed hotels in town, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants.

Thank you for your constructive comments. I have taken the liberty to share your specific comments with the appropriate departments. We do use these as tools to help us improve and maintain our standards.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback, we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel is located (like the others) in Banff Avenue. Its got parking slots for Buses,cars,RVs. The front desk was courteous. I wasnt impressed with the rooms. Really Really small rooms.. Three people in the room and you are fighting for an elbow room. The beds were opposite to each other ..Too many things put together. Im sure they very well know about the elephant in the room but dont want to do anything about it. The internet was sluggish and never got connected once. Did not use the restaurant as Banff has tons of options from Italian to chinese to continental. There was a computer in the room that I stayed but as good as useless. No Fridge/Micro. Cramped space for tucking away your luggage. If you have more then a bag then the bed is the best place to keep it. Im sure there are better hotels then this and for the price charged I sure wont visit this again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, MT Royal Hotel at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear DamnTimeShare

I was sorry to read that your stay did not fully meet your expectation. I do agree with you that our location is perfect, seconds away from all that Banff has to offer. As for the room décor, you will be happy to know that we will be commencing renovation in our guest rooms this fall. The product will be more fresh and modern looking. I would hope that you will come back and see for yourself.

Thank you again for your feeback, we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on our Explore the Rockies tour with Brewsters (who also own this hotel) and were very pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to the Brewster Suite. An enormous suite of rooms with antique style furniture, mountain views and all the usual in room amenities. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a seperate shower and a double jacuzzi style bath. It was a real haven away from the busier parts of the hotel.

The public areas really do need to be refurbished and or redecorated as they looked grubby and unkempt. But having said that this hotel is obviously extremely busy all the time and we couldn't get into the Tony Roma's main dining area at any time during our stay. We ate once in the lounge area and it was OK, the staff were very good in here considering how busy they were. We ate once in the Paddocks, the hotels pub, which is located a few doors down the street. You can get to it from inside the hotel, but it's a very convoluted route, so quicker to go out the front door and walk down the street. The staff here were great, helpful and friendly, but again this place needs some serious renovation, torn seat covers and a generally dingy feel to it. The food was good and plentiful.

The reception staff were efficient, but not as friendly as everyone else, probably becuase they seemed to be rushed off their feet most of the time.

We had a lovely stay here andwould recommend it for the location. Difficult to recommend for the room quality and value for money as our's was top notch and we didn't experience a standard room.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlooking the main road can be noisy with revellers going home rooms at the back overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimr96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Mt Royal Hotel at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Kim

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us. And that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants.

We strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that staff went out of their way to ensure that you had a memorable stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Banff International Hotel
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing