We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mount Royal, Banff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Guelph
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Mount Royal, Banff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The hotel is very well situated - you can park in the hotel lot and then walk along the shops and restaurants without having to drive. The restaurant attached to this hotel - we had breakfast the first morning, wasnt worth it and very expensive. The room the first night was great, had a fridge etc ( we left for Jasper for 2 nights) but the room we were given on the 2nd night stay was way inferior, no fridge, the kleenex wasnt stocked and the bathroom was tiny. Having had such a nice room the first night, this was a disappointment. The beds were very, very soft and not terribly comfortable because of this. The staff however were pleasant

Room Tip: we were placed on the 2nd floor both times and there was an ac unit outside the window that was on c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    204
    125
    50
    25
See reviews for
90
240
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

A great Hotel in the middle of Banff. Our room was spacious, recently renovated and comfortable. I did request a room in the new section (after reading a review on tripadvisor before I booked), and we got our request. The room had a coffee machine as well as a kettle, we were happy to have a kettle as we only drink tea. Alot of Hotels in Canada and the USA only have coffee machines so we were very happy to have a kettle. The room also had a small fridge, flat screen TV and aircond. The windows also opened in the room for fresh air if needed. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was nice and hot. Because the Hotel is in the middle of town it was a bit noisy at night, but I knew this before I booked but to me it was worth having a little noise at night to have a Hotel in the middle of town. The Hotel offers free parking which is wonderful. The staff were helpful and the Hotel offers free fast wifi in the rooms and also in the lobby. There is a Safeway grocery shop within 7 minutes walk of the Hotel and there are lots of restaurant choices in the area. This Hotel is a great place to stay and was fully booked the 2 nights we were there.. so that says something.. Would happily stay there again..

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The hotel is centrally located near shops and dining (no need to drive). There is a large parking lot available which was really handy since the public lots fill up fast and there is a time limit. The room was good sized, though the bathroom was really tiny. The room was clean, which is really important to me. The walls are a bit thin but that is pretty common with hotels, especially older ones. The room was equipped with a flat screen and a fridge. The hotel has some character to it being as it is the 3rd oldest hotel in Banff. Lots of old photos to look at and walking down the hallways take you back in time. Overall, it was a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Loved this hotel because you could walk to everything in Banff. Very convenient and comfortable. Breakfast in Tony Roma's was very good. The staff was very helpful in the restaurant and hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The location is great, located on the main street of downtown Banff. Grocery store, shops, restaurants and the river are all within easy walking distance. The room furnishings were worn but the room was clean. Electrical outlets were hard to access to charge electronics. Oddly, the toilet was so close to the wall, you had to tilt your shoulders to use it. The location and the beautiful view out our window more than made up for any room concerns.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Literally right in the centre of town, and everything at our doorstep. Our room was 2 queens and was spacious and neat. No noise came in from outside even though we were on busy street, just a bit of hallway noise from people partying late and our room was near the elevators, so that's normal i guess. Just wish we had a fridge in the room to keep our drinks cold. Tony Roma's restaurant downstairs from the hotel was good too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The Mount Royal was having a special online. We booked in for $83 a night which was a good price especially as the hostel for 2 people is the same. The room was rather aged with old beds (very soft) and pealing wall paper ect. The room had the typical furniture although the closet is shockingly small. The best part was our window was massive and overlooked the main avenue and mountains. We did realize after that our room was rare however as most windows were much smaller. The bathroom had a useful clothes line in the shower to dry things. The wifi was a good strength throughout the hotel.

Overall nothing special but does have the typical amenities. Ask for the rooms in the front with the big windows (farthest side from the corner).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.