We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Must stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Banff is a beautiful quaint town, and Mount Royal Hotel, is a lovely 'old' hotel that mirrors the lovely town. We stayed here for four nights. The hotel is located bang in the centre of town, walk able distance from all the sights (First Indians Museum) as well as the eateries and 'mall' (Safeways). It has restaurants and a gym. We were part of a Brewster vacation, and their buses come right to the door. Helpful and courteous staff

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your recent visit at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was very pleased to read that you had such a great experience while you were staying with us. You are not the first person to comment on our fantastic location, its it unbeatable. Having the Brewster bus pick-up right at the back of the hotel is for sure very convenient. Staff training throughout Brewster is one of the company primary goal, I’m glad you had some positive interaction with different members of the company.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback and we hope to see you again.

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    204
    125
    50
    26
See reviews for
90
240
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I stayed at Mount Royal for 2 nights. I was on a Caravan Tours bus trip. This hotel is centrally located. Within walking distance to/from shops, restaurants and breathtaking scenery! The room was very clean, had a great view of the mountains.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was thrilled to see that you had such a good stay with us. Our location is one of our biggest asset, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. It is perfect when you don’t have a vehicle. The view is breathtaking I do agree with you. Almost all of our rooms have a mountain view. I will pass on your nice comments to our staff.

Once again, thank-you for your comments and we hope to see you next year.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

This is one of the older hotels in Banff, located right smack in the middle of town at the corner of Banff Ave and Caribou St. Step outside the front doors and you're amongst bars, restaurants, cafe, shops and all things touristy.

As expected the room and bathroom was not very big but comfortable enough. Floorboards in the corridors were a bit squeaky and we could hear anyone speaking there. Our sleep was disrupted by guests running to their rooms, talking loudly & slamming doors into the wee hours of the morning. Better sound proofing is required especially for those rooms near the lifts.

Service at the front desk and the restaurant was pleasant but not outstanding.

Room Tip: Get away from the lifts and high traffic areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your last visit at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I’m glad to see that you’ve enjoy your stay with us, our location is for sure very practical, right in the heart of town. We are indeed an historic hotel, the second oldest hotel in Banff, having said that, we are doing upgrades to our rooms on a yearly basis. There will be some improvements to our guest rooms in the near future. We do take comments like yours to heart, it helps us improving.

Once again, thank-you for your comments and we hope to see you soon.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

This place is owned by Brewster, which seems to own nearly all the hotels in Banff and run all the coach tours, so it's used mainly by coach parties.

We stayed here four nights. We were kept awake on the first night, firstly by a noisy group next door (walls seemed to be very thin), then by someone getting ready to leave early the next morning, probably because they were leaving on a coach tour. We got moved to an upstairs room without any problem, but were woken early on another night by people from another coach party leaving early.

The place is in need of modernisation, though our first room was better than the second.

Oh, and a black mark for service - I stupidly left my adaptor for UK plugs in a previous hotel, and managed to borrow one from a previous hotel without any problem, but the receptionist here just directed me to the nearest department store. Cheers.

At least the location was good - right in the centre and near plenty of good restaurants. We didn't have breakfast or dinner in the hotel.

Room Tip: go for the top floor - no creaking floorboards above
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent visit at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was very sorry to read that your most recent stay with us did not fully meet your expectation. You are correct in saying that the hotel is own by Brewster, but we are the only hotel that Brewster own in Banff. We do have a sister hotel at the Glacier ice field near Jasper. Like most hotel in Banff, we are extremely busy with tours and individuals during the summer season witch unfortunately means that at time those individuals tends to wake up early. I’m glad to see that our front-desk staff was able to provide you with a different room after your first night.

Once again thank-you for your comments, we do take them to heart.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. Position excellent and looked o,.k. from outside. Room we had was large and rated "superior". Bathroom was dingy and dark and had signs of mold around bath and sink. Plumbing in bath was dire and water did not drain away quickly Did not complain as was only there for 2 days, any longer and I would have. Breakfast was disappointing for a full buffet and was not appetising. Also do not like the glass mugs, much prefer china, although, of course, that is a personal taste. Not sure, apart from position, would consider staying here again, as not very cheap.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your last visit at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I am sorry to see that your stay did not fully meet your expectations. I will personally pass on all of your concerns to our department heads. We do take comments like yours very seriously and we use it as a tool to improve our overall product. I will also take a look at the breakfast buffet for myself.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

The mount royal gave us a great rate on a double room, it was well proportioned and clean. One point only - there was not an opening window in the room which coupled with the air con made the air in the room rather dry!
Certainly didn't spoil our stay however, a great hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent visit at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was very pleased to see that you’ve enjoyed your visit with us. We do take great pride in our product and staff training, we always try to improve. It’s always nice to read such positive feedback.
I will pass on your comments to our staff.

Once again, thank-you for your comments and we hope to see you again.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The hotel is right on the main street of Banff, a very convenient location with free parking and free wifi, but that is where the good things finish. Room is average but clean. The rooms are stuffy and most with very small windows that cannot be opened. The noise from the water pipes is very loud, every time the shower or toilet is used in another room you know about it. When we stayed the air conditioning broke down at 3.30pm in the afternoon and was not fixed until 11am the next day, no note or message to guest from management explaining the fault and the estimated time it would be fixed. Mentioned to front desk and they were, yes we know about it, it's fixed now. Also the bed was made with the wrong sized sheet, it only just tucked in on either side but only one end of the bed could be tucked in so either a lose sheet at the head or toes. It wasn't pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms along the front street have larger windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank-you for your comments in regards to your last visit at the Mount-Royal hotel.

Our location is for sure unbeatable, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. We are one of only a handful of hotels in Banff that do not charge for parking, it’s complementary for all guests. I will pass on your concerns to the appropriate department head. We do have several room categories at the hotel. Some have windows that open, some don’t. We are always willing to try and help our guest with their concerns once you are on site. Providing occupancy permits, we can offer you a different room.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback, it does help us improving.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.