We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money, quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Save Saved
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
West Yorks
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money, quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

We stayed here in early February 2009, we were a little apprehensive after reading other reviews, but we needn't have worried. Everything is fine at the Inns Of Banff. The rooms are BIG (two queen beds)....and very comfortable ones at that. We were on a room only basis & ate out (or in our room) so we can't comment on the breakfast or the restaurant. The pool & jacuzzi inside the hotel were lovely after a day on the slopes. The staff are very helpful, free local bus pass (ideal for the Banff Gondola.....which is a MUST do!!).
The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from central Banff but that is really not a problem....just wrap up!! ....and due to its location it's really quiet in the rooms....a good nights sleep every night. People have commented on the 'rabbit warren' design & we have to agree, but again it's not a problem.....you soon get used to the fact that floor 4 in block A takes you to floor 2 in block B ?!!? The ski storage area is fine & secure.
The courtesy buses were very prompt, they call & drop off at Inns of Banff first which is useful.
Banff is a beautiful place, the scenery is simply stunning, Sunshine Village is great for snowboarding....lots of wide open spaces....weekends are busier, but that's a good time to go on the Gondola. There was a good choice of restaurants......Earls was our favourite.....and Evelyn's coffee house :))
Go and see for yourself it's lovely!! (and very cold!!)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    196
    171
    103
    72
See reviews for
168
230
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South West
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

Having read the reviews on here I had somewhat low expectations of this hotel however it was more than good enough for our purposes.

The rooms were very spacious and had two queen beds in each. Although the room was a little dated and grubby in places this didn't bother us as we were not going to be spending long in the room anyhow. There was some nice touches in the room like fresh coffee every day and nice toiletries from the Rocky Mountain Soap Company.

All the ski buses picked up at the Inns of Banff first then dropped off first on the way home which was a great benefit, and the local Banff bus also picked up and dropped off right outside (ask for your free pass from reception). The hotel is a longish walk from town (15 mins) but if you time it right with the buses this isn't really a problem. The outdoor hottub on the roof is amazing with great views and there's another hot tub inside if you can't handle the run in the cold!

The only downside to this hotel was the maze-like layout - ask to be put in block A if you can. It took us around 10 mins just to get down to reception. You are also not supposed to keep snowbaords in your room, although there is a secure area to keep them where all boards are indiviually locked up.

All in all it was a pleasant enough experience for the price we paid with Inghams. The buffet breakfast in the hotel is also good when you've just arrived and haven't had time to stock up ($15),

  • Liked — Hot tub, first pick up for ski bus
  • Disliked — Maze layout, long way from town
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamber Bridge, Lancashire,UK.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

This was our 8th trip to Banff since 1998/9. On all but one occasion we have stayed at the this hotel. This time we stayed in the Delux Cottage. Frankly this particular accommodation looks tired & requires the level of investment afforded the other condos. Concerning our condo,there is only one full bathroom, the other bathroom is a closet-sized wc. There were 4 adults & 1 child in our party so the queue for the bathroom in the morning was not too long, how 8-10 people will fare is another matter. We had several complaints, some of which were attended to, but on one occasion the cleaning staff left our front door open,fortunately nothing was taken. The front desk apologised but offered nothing to smooth the waters. We know this hotel well and it is nowhere near as good as it used to be, both in value & attentiveness of staff. The restaurant menu is limited & really does not cater too well for kids. Room service is CAD3.50 extra for deivery & only starts at 1700hrs till 2230 hrs, with a CAD7.00 minimum order, this is having a laugh! My niece & nephew who were also staying at the hotel tried to use room service in the afternoon, as their menu stated it started at 11.30 am, to add insult to injury our menu was out of date too! One morning a friend of ours went down for a late breakfast, only to be told breakfast was closing as they were quiet!( With another hour officially to go according to the official times!) It was sad to see they had removed the leather sofas from the Bears Den, replaced with more tables, as a result the bar has all the ambience of a school dining room. The hotel staircarpets are patched up with duct tape where they have been worn down on the edges, this is highly dangerous and smacks of lack of care.
The impression we got this year is that the IOB is the poor relation to the Fox, Caribou & Ptarmigan, all run by the same owners as the IOB. We ate at the Fox & the menu, staff & hotel were great, as is the food at the Caribou. Come on guys, with some more care and investment the IOB could be great again, we wouldn't have stayed so many times otherwise.

  • Liked — Location, all on one level for small child.
  • Disliked — See review
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

Have just recently returned from the Inns of Banff after spending Christmas and New Year in Banff.

What an excellent hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful and always on hand to answer any questions.

Our room was a top floor One Bedroom King suite with lounge.
This room was huge, Plenty of room to relax after a busy day ski-ing.

The rooms were cleaned daily and always to a high standard.

The main hotel decor could maybe do with a spruce up as the carpet is a bit dirty but there again it is a ski hotel so it will get grubby around the main entrance area.

The best feature at this hotel is Large Roof Top Hot Spa Pool .. This is fantastic to relax in when the temperature outside is -25oC !!! .

The hotel provided us with a 14 day free bus pass as it's a 15min walk into town or 3 mins on the bus so this was certainly an added bonus.

The only down point i could find was sometimes the service in the restuarant, We ate in the Wildfire Grill a couple of time and had breakfast there a few times but gave up in the end after many times you could be queing 15-20mins to get in even when only 1/4 of the tables where being used !!! But there is plenty of good places in Banff to eat ( I would recommend Elk and Oarsman .. Excellent food ).

I would definately return to the Inns of Banff hotel and recommend it to anyone looking for a good value Ski Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Mt
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

This hotel was excellent. We stayed during the Men's Downhill World Cup. Close to downtown and very easy to get a cab. We will be staying again here again. Staff was very accommodating and helpful....Not to mention the beautiful views!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliff
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

This is a good place to stay at if you are trying to save some money. I would recommend a higher class hotel if you are on a romantic getaway but if you just need a place to sleep and are gone most of the day, I would recommend the Inns of Banff

The hotel is a bit older and at least our room needed some renovations. The room's carpet were very old and stained, I needed to keep my shoes on to stay clean. Our room did not have baseboards and dirt from the ground collected at the edge of the floating carpet. We had a problem with the shower flow, most of the water drained from the tap rather than coming out of the showerhead. I tried several times to correct the flow without success. The coffee maker still had someone else's coffee in it.

The bed was very comfortable; I found I was able to get a very good night's sleep each night.

I would be willing to stay here again because it is one of the lesser expensive hotels in the area that don't have travelers complaining about bed bugs.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — Dirty carpeting
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, On
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

We stayed in the 4 bedroom condos located in the D building at the very back of the property (lovely trees with a coyote passing through regularly).

Yes, the property is a bit dated with things like pieces of the blinds falling off every time you open them. However, we stayed here because we wanted space and that's exactly what these condos offer. On three levels you have: bottom: bedroom with TV middle: kitchen with large table that seats 8; big windows and the main door; top: huge livingroom with a wood burning fireplace and a walkout to a big deck with a bbq and gorgeous view of the mountains, 3 more bedrooms and two bathrooms (only one has a tub/shower). The condos are also very clean despite their age and the staff are really friendly. Beds are very comfortable too.

Yes, it's a bit of a walk right into town but the price is reasonable for the space you get and parking is no big trauma if you drive in (even in August we never had trouble getting a spot).

The rooftop hot pool is wonderful.

  • Liked — the space, trees, mountain views, privacy, windows, location
  • Disliked — only one shower in a 4 bedroom unit (we didn't really care though)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, October 6, 2008
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in the four bedroom condo. We agree that they are dated and as such, we will be refurbishing all the condos this fall. When reopened in December, they will feature granite counter tops, flat screen televisions, alder wood cabinets, stainless steel appliances, and all new flooring, furniture, beds, vinyl, and drapes. We are also adding an additional full bath to accommodate larger parties.

As you suggest we do have ample parking and the roof top hot pool is wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.