We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Drachten
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

One of the first hotels you see when you arrive in Banff is the inns of banff. Like every hotel in that place, it is expensive, way too expensive for what you get, I might add! And whad do you get? Here it goes: no AC, just a crappy fan, a dirty floor, a bathroom that's in serious need for updating, a tv, however modern, but with a lousy reception which became so annoying we had to turn it off, a very weak wifi signal, you had to sit in a particular spot in the room to get just one bar, and on top of it all, the beds were very small! So, my advice is: stay out!

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    208
    182
    115
    74
See reviews for
174
251
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lifesjourney01
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel looked fine from the outside, but rooms were very "worn".
The upper decks off the rooms were large, but not appealing enough to sit outside.
A couple of plastic chairs and crumbling stucco.
The walls were very thin, so would recommend top floor so as to not hear noise overhead.
However, there is no elevator so pack lightly.
The beds were ok, but made that lovely plastic sheet sound whenever you moved.
There was no heat on in room, according to the thermostat, but it was hot enough that we had to sleep with deck door wide open all night.Thankfully we had noone scaling the balconies between rooms as it would have been easy enough to do.
With a little $$$ and cosmetic improvements, this hotel could be brought up to a higher tourist standard. As it sits now..I would only recommend to school groups as an economical stay.
The bathroom was old and hair dryer didnt work.
Coffee was supplied for a coffee maker, but no coffe maker in room..only an electric kettle.
On the upside....all staff were very pleasant and location to town was good....about a 20 minute walk or transit stopped right across street (which hotel gave complimentary transit passes to hotel guests)

Room Tip: Request a refurbished room if they have any??
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

No A/C, front desk staff could use some customer service training, no towels at outdoor pool, tiny bathroom that had stains on floorand not very clean (and a broken door stop thats unavoidable to step on) Wifi and TV keeps cutting out and week, no parking close to room. Sneezed all night as there must have been pets in room previously so if people are being charged for pets the hotel should clean up. Outdoor hot pool was nice with view of mountains though. In general, it needs some serious updating and maintenance. Get a cheap deal online and its good for a nights stay but thats it. Cant imagine paying regular room rates.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I know summer is the busy season but really $199.00 to stay here, after just paying $109.00 for a room in Whistler which was great to this!!! It was really hot out - no AC but a crappy little fan that made so much noise we had to turn if off. The little fridge didn't even keep our food cold we had to throw most of it out! We stayed July 8, 2014. The room was really dirty, stuff on the rug and black stuff all over the bathroom floor and the deck had something all over it not sure what. The one thing that was good was the bed was very nice and the sheets were clean. I had waited to comment of the room to see if the hotel got back to me. I had left a comment at the front desk before we left and my email but nothing.....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Unfortunately, we were travelling in high season and had our pet dog with us. This was one of a few hotels in the Banff area that allowed a small pet. It is an older hotel and needs updating. However, in saying that, the rooms are large, clean and comfortable. As there was no air conditioning and our room was on the warm side. To cool the room we left the sliding door open. The hotel has wifi but for the most part the signal was down to one bar or not at all. The management was very accommodating of our pet, right from the large pet bed to a small toy! Even though she was well behaved we were charged an extra fee for her. The staff were pleasant and friendly. The restaurant on site has good food for reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I am glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay and that our staff was accomodating. We are proud to be one the few pet friendly hotels in Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed for 6 nights on my own and was really pleased with the hotel. Sure, it is a bit dated, but my room was spacious, clean and well configured. I also had a large verandah with 180 degree mountain views. My room had a mini-fridge + microwave, a huge comfortable bed. I had a room on the top floor on the C-block.

It is a 15 minute flat, safe walk into Banff ... and you are also provided with a free pass that provides unlimited use of the ROAM bus that runs each 40 minutes. The tours I booked, and my hotel shuttle, all collected me from the lobby of the hotel so it was very convenient. The only thing to look out for is trouble finding your room! The hotel is quite a complex web of walkways, elevators and stairs. Overall I would recommend this hotel. I didn't eat at the restaurants as there is so much choice available in Banff.

Room Tip: C block on the 5th floor facing the road - had a huge balcony with incredible 180 degree mountain vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is an old place that needs an overhaul. There is no AC in most if not all rooms, and the rooms although clean are 60's .

Pool area and rooftop hot tub area are in need of work.

This is a good basic hotel but your better off to spend a little more money and get something newer in Banff.

Its also a long walk to town.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Swiss building which seemed a little newer and quieter but had no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.