We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelling with the Family Pet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Travelling with the Family Pet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Unfortunately, we were travelling in high season and had our pet dog with us. This was one of a few hotels in the Banff area that allowed a small pet. It is an older hotel and needs updating. However, in saying that, the rooms are large, clean and comfortable. As there was no air conditioning and our room was on the warm side. To cool the room we left the sliding door open. The hotel has wifi but for the most part the signal was down to one bar or not at all. The management was very accommodating of our pet, right from the large pet bed to a small toy! Even though she was well behaved we were charged an extra fee for her. The staff were pleasant and friendly. The restaurant on site has good food for reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I am glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay and that our staff was accomodating. We are proud to be one the few pet friendly hotels in Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    231
    208
    128
    93
See reviews for
200
282
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed for 6 nights on my own and was really pleased with the hotel. Sure, it is a bit dated, but my room was spacious, clean and well configured. I also had a large verandah with 180 degree mountain views. My room had a mini-fridge + microwave, a huge comfortable bed. I had a room on the top floor on the C-block.

It is a 15 minute flat, safe walk into Banff ... and you are also provided with a free pass that provides unlimited use of the ROAM bus that runs each 40 minutes. The tours I booked, and my hotel shuttle, all collected me from the lobby of the hotel so it was very convenient. The only thing to look out for is trouble finding your room! The hotel is quite a complex web of walkways, elevators and stairs. Overall I would recommend this hotel. I didn't eat at the restaurants as there is so much choice available in Banff.

Room Tip: C block on the 5th floor facing the road - had a huge balcony with incredible 180 degree mountain vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is an old place that needs an overhaul. There is no AC in most if not all rooms, and the rooms although clean are 60's .

Pool area and rooftop hot tub area are in need of work.

This is a good basic hotel but your better off to spend a little more money and get something newer in Banff.

Its also a long walk to town.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Swiss building which seemed a little newer and quieter but had no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Tired. Worn. College dorm gone bad. No AC, bad on an average day, torture on a hot summers night. Can't fault the staff - they have little to work with. The computer in the business center was one step beyond a Commodore 64 - and torturously slow. Having said that, hard to expect more on a busy night in Banff for $150. Everything's relative - I came away with no rashes or communicable diseases so all good.

Room Tip: Don't remove your shoes
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I agree with many of the reviews I have read. This is an older facility in need of upgrading. One time we got on the elevator just when a tour group had arrived. The elevator was full and there were several people waiting on the bottom floor to use it. The elevator was very slow and did not operate properly, it kept returning to the bottom floor without stopping at the upper levels. At one time there were five tour buses loading in the very small driveway area blocking all but one small driveway entrance. Pluses... clean, nice staff, fair restaurant value. Minuses... old, no air conditioning and over-priced.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the same level as the parking (it varies because there are several levels) so you can a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The place is huge. The common areas are somewhat dated but still OK. The indoor pool was fine, others enjoyed it too, and the staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't have time to check out the rooftop hot tub or the bus into town, using complimentary passes.
We started out with a reserved 2 double-bed room in the Swiss Village, a unit off to the side. It wasn't updated but was fine and clean, but they offered us an upgrade to a 2 queen bed room in the main B building, which was nicer for a nominal extra charge so we took it.
Pros: Spacious, updated room with comfy beds/bedding, a nice, big armchair, a large Samsung TV, 2 sinks, excellent, new bathtub for soaking; location is removed from the hustle and bustle of downtown Banff; covered parking spots (good for the winter)
Cons: Bit of a ways to the center of town
Overall: Would definitely come back; would be a good place for a ski vacation, too
(Stayed July 15)

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is definitely only a 2.5 star hotel, the rooms are older, bathrooms are small and dingy (blow dryer didn't even work) and no air conditioning in the rooms. However the room was clean, beds were comfortable and the staff were nice. I did my research prior to booking this so I knew what we were going to get so I wasn't surprised or disappointed. This was the cheapest hotel for the weekend and you get what you pay for so no complaints on my end.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.