We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outdoor hot tub” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Save Saved
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great outdoor hot tub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in at this hotel on a Sunday night. It was very quiet in Banff in general because it is off season. The hotel is older but definitely good prices the bedding has been updated but there is no duvet cover it is just between 2 regular sheets. The rooms need to be cleaned better and also needed some updating. Like new paint and carpet. Our first room smelled like cigarettes but when I told the staff they were happy to move us.


We were in room 418 which was in the main building, or building A. The balcony faced the main road in to Banff, it was a nice view, but could have been more private for a couple if the room was higher up or in a different building. There was also a door with a loud fan noise behind it, maybe a service room. I didn't mind the noise because I like to sleep with a fan on. Another strange thing was the bathroom did not have a ceiling fan in it.

We has two queen beds in our room. The first beds sheets were stained. We simply switched the sheets and they were fine. The beds were relatively comfy good enough for a one or two night stay.

The outdoor hot tub is the best part of this hotel. It is in building be on the far end. Its have great views of the mountains and is good in size, and the water is hot. The outdoor hot tub is open from 10 a.m. To 10 p.m. They also have an indoor hot tub and pool but we did not go there.

All in all if you are not going to spend very much time in your room and are looking for the best hot tub for a awesome price, inns of Banff is a great choice.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    201
    174
    107
    73
See reviews for
170
235
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We have stayed before at the Swiss village building at Inns of Banff (it is a long two-story building right of the Japanese restaurant, when one is facing the hotel form the street). Those rooms are tiny, with double beds.

This time we got a superior room and they are big, with comfortable beds. The room has 2 sinks, which is handy when one uses the bathroom. There is also a coffee machine, kettle, very small fridge (probably about a little bit above 1 cubic foot space, good for storage of food for 1, max 2 days), and a big TV.

What I like most about Inns of Banff is their huge outdoor pools. They have an indoor one too, which is close to the Lobby, but it smells a lot like chlorine and is small, without the beautiful views of the mountains around Banff, which the outdoor ones have. There is also a small pool in the room with the indoor hot pool. There are two saunas (male and female) in the respective locker rooms. One needs to turn them on, 10 minutes before they plan to use them.

Customer service is excellent, whenever we needed something, they would deliver it in a very short time. An elevator stopped working in the evening and it was fixed before we had to use it in the morning!

Probably the only relatively bad thing about this hotel is its location. It is further away from the center of the town. If it is minus 30 degrees C it would be impractical to go by foot to the centre of Banff for shopping, dining, etc.)

Room Tip: Superior rooms are spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I booked this 3 bed apartment with all the snowboarding extras for my son and his friend with Inghams Holidays. I'm 55 they were 19 it's Christmas 2013. Spent £6000 and something, then read Trip Advisor reports. Panicked!!! This place is perfect. The hotel layout is quirkey but there is always staff to point in the right direction. I'm 55 wish I could have joined in to go to hot tub. D'on't know about the rest of the rooms but the staff were brillent at looking after our appt. Just think about you go out for ur first coffee or cig and the whole wildlife are there. This hotel has been screwed up by trip advisor reports I would like to say go to it and enjoy. hOTEL staff brillent. Thanks Inns of Banff for a great Christmas

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review. We agree, our staff are the best !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Even though this place seems to get mixed reviews we stayed here because a friend had recommended it. Based on the reviews we weren't sure what we were going to find. Once we arrived the service was great. We got the mountain view room and the room was fine. It was nice and clean with plenty of room for the kids. The kids liked the outdoor pool a lot. The food at the restaurants was good and priced right. We didn't hear any noise at night. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for good value for a family.

Room Tip: We got the mountain view room. It was only a little bit more money, the view is very nice, the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

After reading mixed reviews I was uneasy about staying at this hotel. The boyfriend booked a ski and stay package through travelzoo.com which I absolutely recommend! The ski bus was included in price......great pirk - tri lift ticket for the hill - picked up in front of hotel - many choice of pick up times.The parking was stupid crazy at Sunshine and Lake Louise. Very happy to be dropped off and picked up at the front door.
Inns of Banff Hotel:
1. Reception was quick and had very friendly staff. Very large Hotel with many stairs. Covered and underground parking was nice.
2. Superior Room building B (limited view) was big - clean but a little warm. Had to open sliding door for air.
3, Beds and pillows were firm. Feather duvets and the large samsung t.v were a nice touch
4. Fridge came in handy for drinks.
5. Next door to us was a party room from mid afternoon till 3:00 am and we had NO problem sleeping. To our surprise......we couldn't hear a thing.....well very faintly!
6. Hallways were a bit noisy with creaking doors and the thumping of people walking but to be expected in an older hotel.
7. Roof top hot tub was clean and a nice touch after a day on the hill. Staff said NO drinks and I fully understand as there were many partiers in this Hotel. We brought in a drink in a plastic cup with no issues.
8. Restaurant ......Had buffet only once......don't recommend (very bland and was barely warm)
9. Basement Pub......drinks were reasonably priced. Nice staff and cozy. Children are allowed in room.
10. A bit of a walk to the downtown area as this hotel is on the outskirts of Banff but there are free roaming passes (bus) and schedules include with your stay shall you not want to drive.

Room Tip: Ask for a reno'd room in building "B" if you want to use the outdoor hot tub. "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Four of us stayed for a week and we would go back to the Inns of Banff. Especially for the huge hot tub and the view! We had heard mixed reviews aboit the rooms so we were pleasantly surprised with our room in block D. I'm guessing it was one of the renovated rooms based on some of the other comments. It was clean and comfortable, quiet during the week and busy on the weekend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our check inn was smooth, but finding our room wasn't - its a big property. The hotel is older, but clean. It needs a renovation. Up close, many exterior details have been left untended. Our room was a King Suite upgrade #524, and had a slight odour. My partner remarked how the mattress made squishy noises - there was some type of plastic under pad. The bed was comfortable however. The best part about the Inns of Banff is the outdoor hot tubs on the 3rd floor of building B. If you like hot tubbing, ask for a room close to this feature.
As for food, we ate there twice. Upon arrival, The pub on the lowest level had great pub food. We must walked over 100 stairs each way to get there though. The complex is built on a hill, on the side of Tunnel Mountain. There are some challenges for sure. My steak sandwich was prepared perfectly as was my partner's burger. Fries were crisp.
The second meal was disappointing. We had the breakfast buffet. The hot food wasn't hot, The eggs had the consistency of fudge, the bacon was soo salty I could not eat it. The best part of the meal was the juice.
I don't know if I would stay here again, Banff has lots of great hotels better than this one.

Room Tip: ask for a room near the outdoor hottubs in Building B
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the breakfast buffet and I will address your comments with the Chef. I am glad you experienced our cozy Bears Den pub on the lower level of “A” building. Besides great food, we have live entertainment on weekends and kids are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.