We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March Break ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Save Saved
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“March Break ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Four of us stayed for a week and we would go back to the Inns of Banff. Especially for the huge hot tub and the view! We had heard mixed reviews aboit the rooms so we were pleasantly surprised with our room in block D. I'm guessing it was one of the renovated rooms based on some of the other comments. It was clean and comfortable, quiet during the week and busy on the weekend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    201
    174
    107
    73
See reviews for
170
235
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, AB
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our check inn was smooth, but finding our room wasn't - its a big property. The hotel is older, but clean. It needs a renovation. Up close, many exterior details have been left untended. Our room was a King Suite upgrade #524, and had a slight odour. My partner remarked how the mattress made squishy noises - there was some type of plastic under pad. The bed was comfortable however. The best part about the Inns of Banff is the outdoor hot tubs on the 3rd floor of building B. If you like hot tubbing, ask for a room close to this feature.
As for food, we ate there twice. Upon arrival, The pub on the lowest level had great pub food. We must walked over 100 stairs each way to get there though. The complex is built on a hill, on the side of Tunnel Mountain. There are some challenges for sure. My steak sandwich was prepared perfectly as was my partner's burger. Fries were crisp.
The second meal was disappointing. We had the breakfast buffet. The hot food wasn't hot, The eggs had the consistency of fudge, the bacon was soo salty I could not eat it. The best part of the meal was the juice.
I don't know if I would stay here again, Banff has lots of great hotels better than this one.

Room Tip: ask for a room near the outdoor hottubs in Building B
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the breakfast buffet and I will address your comments with the Chef. I am glad you experienced our cozy Bears Den pub on the lower level of “A” building. Besides great food, we have live entertainment on weekends and kids are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The room was good the beds were a little hard for my liking and could use some modern touches but for the price I'm not complaining. The room was clean and I found parking with no problems. quiet place to stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel is a disaster. I am writing this review having had the police leave as a result of a domestic dispute taking place in the Condo overhead.

Having booked the hotel as a result of a favourable listing I was disappointed to note that on arrival our accommodation was located at the rear of the hotel in a separate building some distance from the facilities.

Our room was cleaned occasionally and at the weekend (ie tonight) we were forced to call the police due to a disturbance in the block, I had contacted security in the hotel to report the incident but no one responded and was left with no option but to call the police as the occupants had threatened us with violence.

This visit has ruined our experience of Banff and I feel that I have spent $4,000 for a condo that looks shabby and is in a location that cant be adequately monitored by hotel staff.

This hotel is part of the 'Inns of Banff group' which includes Caribou Lodge and other properties.

It gets extremely busy at the weekend with visitors from Calgary and the Hotel seems very unprepared when dealing with disturbances.

from the outside this property looks shabby, our experience reflects this and we have registered our dissatisfaction with the hotel and the local police.

No apology has been forthcoming.
As I write I am listening to loud raucous noises of drunken parties and people involved in disputes.

the worst hotel stay I have ever had to endure
there are lots of nice hotels in Banff, my advice is select anywhere but here!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
The Management at the Inns of Banff tries to take the positive out of all reviews and use the information to improve. What all hotels struggle with are reviews that provide inaccurate information. That is the case in this review. What Mr Dundalk doesn't know and fails to mention is that we spoke to the police and their account is completely different from the one in his review. We also spoke to guests from the condos in the area of his room. The police indicate that one of Mr Dundalk's guests was arrested and the incident was contained to his room only. He also fails to mention that earlier in the evening someone from his party threatened to punch one of our front desk employees in the face when in his opinion, their taxi took too long to arrive. He fails to mention his aggressive and bullying conduct when speaking to the front office manager on the morning after the incident, conduct that took place in full view of numerous employees, including myself. After a pattern of violence, threats, and bullying, it is unfortunate that these guests chose to ask for an apology instead of providing one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here with a large group on a ski trip. The rooms we were in (main building, levels 4 and 5) were all spacious with balconies either overlooking the street side or the next building and some background. The beds were very comfortable and we slept well. We did have a problem with our heater the first night and called the front desk. They addressed the issue right away. The handyman on staff that evening was not able to fix the heater that night but did bring us space heaters that sufficed for one night. The problem was fixed the next day. The hot tub was the highlight of the hotel. The ski area buses pick up and drop off right across from the hotel..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed at "The Inns" for 12 nights in Feb & had a great time. All the staff are very friendly & courteous & can't do enough to aid & assist when required. We stayed in a refurbished room which was large, clean, well presented, had a modern, large, flat-screen tv & very comfortable beds with quality bedding - the only thing missing is a LARGE wardrobe as storage is limited (particularly with skiing gear) & there is ample room for one. Ski lockers are provided free of charge, as are are the safes behind reception. The outdoor hot-tub is superb with towels provided. The ski buses stop across the road & the "Roam" bus also stops right outside the hotel, the complimentary "Roam" pass is a welcome bonus & the buses are very efficient & punctual. Overall, I would recommend the Inns Of Banff without hesitation

Room Tip: Refurbished Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your great comments. I will pass them on to the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Arrived late afternoon 8th Feb for 12 nights.
Check in was efficient and directions to our room clear.
The room was lovely, 2 queen beds with mountain view. Everyday our beds were remade, coffee supplies replenished and towels changed if needed. We asked for extra towels which appeared within half an hour. More storage should be a consideration though.
Even on a busy weekend our sleep was not disturbed
The outdoor hot tub was lovely. A bonus was that the towels were supplied and there was not even a shortage at the busiest of times.
Ski hire was also situated in the hotel. Friendly and efficient. I had a problem with my ski boots which was rectified with no fuss. The added bonus was that the hotel provided free ski equipment lock up.
Ask at reception and they will provide you with a free 'roam' bus card for your stay (change it every 3 days) This saved us $10 return trip.
The bar downstairs provided nice food and the bar staff friendly.

Overall we had a fab stay..



Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for the great review.
As you have indicated we are a perfect hotel for skiers. The hotel has its own ski rental shop, the ski bus picks up and drops off right across the street, and the large outdoor hot pool sooths sore muscles. End the day in the Bears Den Pub, with great food and a cold beer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.