We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly Staff, Comfy Beds, Great Outdoor Hot Tub,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Staff, Comfy Beds, Great Outdoor Hot Tub,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed at "The Inns" for 12 nights in Feb & had a great time. All the staff are very friendly & courteous & can't do enough to aid & assist when required. We stayed in a refurbished room which was large, clean, well presented, had a modern, large, flat-screen tv & very comfortable beds with quality bedding - the only thing missing is a LARGE wardrobe as storage is limited (particularly with skiing gear) & there is ample room for one. Ski lockers are provided free of charge, as are are the safes behind reception. The outdoor hot-tub is superb with towels provided. The ski buses stop across the road & the "Roam" bus also stops right outside the hotel, the complimentary "Roam" pass is a welcome bonus & the buses are very efficient & punctual. Overall, I would recommend the Inns Of Banff without hesitation

Room Tip: Refurbished Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your great comments. I will pass them on to the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    239
    215
    131
    94
See reviews for
209
287
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Arrived late afternoon 8th Feb for 12 nights.
Check in was efficient and directions to our room clear.
The room was lovely, 2 queen beds with mountain view. Everyday our beds were remade, coffee supplies replenished and towels changed if needed. We asked for extra towels which appeared within half an hour. More storage should be a consideration though.
Even on a busy weekend our sleep was not disturbed
The outdoor hot tub was lovely. A bonus was that the towels were supplied and there was not even a shortage at the busiest of times.
Ski hire was also situated in the hotel. Friendly and efficient. I had a problem with my ski boots which was rectified with no fuss. The added bonus was that the hotel provided free ski equipment lock up.
Ask at reception and they will provide you with a free 'roam' bus card for your stay (change it every 3 days) This saved us $10 return trip.
The bar downstairs provided nice food and the bar staff friendly.

Overall we had a fab stay..



Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for the great review.
As you have indicated we are a perfect hotel for skiers. The hotel has its own ski rental shop, the ski bus picks up and drops off right across the street, and the large outdoor hot pool sooths sore muscles. End the day in the Bears Den Pub, with great food and a cold beer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I had heard mixed reviews regarding the Inns of Banff, such as it being loud, dated etc, so I was worried before I arrived.

When I got there, the staff was friendly and helpful, our room was newly renovated and definitely worth the $110 a night rate for 2 queen beds. The bathroom is a bit small and dated but you get 2 sinks so its easy to balance it with multiple couples. Great view, friendly service, the outdoor pool was nice, the area was a bit messy depending on the day as you get the younger snowboarders but overall it wasn't that bad.

As for noise, our area was quiet I had no problems sleeping, my girlfriend who typically needs ear plugs was able to sleep without them. It was a great place to stay, you're a little off the strip but its a short walk and they have a shuttle or taxi. The restaurants in the hotel are great if you dont want to venture too far.

I have nothing but good things to say about the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the Swiss area ones, We had a great view and it seemed quieter, spend the money and get away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The room needs some TLC. Some of the outlets didn't work, the outlet covers did not fully cover the electrical outlet, the bathtub stopper would not come out, we needed a knife to let the water out to pull up the stopper, if our room had not been on the 5th floor with nothing obstructing our view to the mountains (if our room faced the other side) it would not had been worth it. The walk to the lobby was crazy if we stayed inside, so confusing and little to no signage to help navigate the way. Yes we like we could opt out of cleaning but we did not realize that you would not be refilling coffee, giving only one is pointless if you offer skipping services. We did opt out of cleaning for the first 3 days and one more after that but when we did have the room cleaned, coffee cups were not taken and cleaned or replaced, no new toilet paper was given, we even had to call to have the room clean and items replaced. The $5 food incentive was no incentive as the breakfast place was sub par, we only ate there once and did not think it was worth it, there other restaurants in Banff were much nicer and had more choices. Your other sister hotels were much nicer as we were with and extremely large group (over 150 of us in total) and we were at many other hotels visiting.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had a standard room which was spacious and had very comfortable beds and pillows. I liked the deck with mountain views. The large 2 outdoor hot tubs were fantastic after a day skiing. I like the location as it offers quick access to the highway but is not right downtown but a short distance from everything. I really appreciate the indoor parking. It makes loading in the morning very easy. Not a five star hotel but Great Value!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I was truly surprised with this hotel especially with the rooms. They have updated the photos on the website since I booked a room here so I was pleasantly surprised to see how nice the rooms were. It was perfect for our needs. Really clean and spacious. Beds were really comfortable. Outdoor hot pool was really nice but the indoor pool was really small and held no interest for the kids. Staff were excellent and friendly. The only two things that I would comment on as a negative is that there does not seem to enough parking and one of the waiters in the Wild Fire restaurant needs to improve on his appearance - both mornings we had breakfast he looked like he just rolled out of bed - hair very messy and greasy. Ick! The food in the Wild Fire grill was pretty good but the first morning of our stay we had the buffet and I was not impressed - food was cold! Next day we ordered from the menu and it was very good. The hotel is on the left side of Banff Avenue right when you enter Banff however, it is about a 15-20 minute walk to downtown but the hotel offers free bus passes for the Roam transit which is quite handy.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the Block C are much bigger than the ones facing the north but you do not get m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your great comments on the rooms, cleanliness, and friendly staff. The hotel is divided into three distinct room type options. Swiss Village is the detached building on the downtown side of the complex and it contains budget accommodation. Three or four bedroom condos are available at the back of the complex. The main building in which you stayed was refurbished in the fall. This renovation included new 40 inch televisions, beds, in-room carpets, lamps, and bedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Booked here as I wasn't planning on spending much time in the hotel. Yes, the hotel is old and the décor (very) outdated, but reasonably clean and the price is right. This is a good choice if you want to save some $ and aren't going to be in the hotel much anyway.

Pool area was actually quite nice, great view.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.0 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#20 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spruce Grove Inn
Spruce Grove Inn
#30 of 31 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#21 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.