We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated Rooms, great value for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Renovated Rooms, great value for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I had heard mixed reviews regarding the Inns of Banff, such as it being loud, dated etc, so I was worried before I arrived.

When I got there, the staff was friendly and helpful, our room was newly renovated and definitely worth the $110 a night rate for 2 queen beds. The bathroom is a bit small and dated but you get 2 sinks so its easy to balance it with multiple couples. Great view, friendly service, the outdoor pool was nice, the area was a bit messy depending on the day as you get the younger snowboarders but overall it wasn't that bad.

As for noise, our area was quiet I had no problems sleeping, my girlfriend who typically needs ear plugs was able to sleep without them. It was a great place to stay, you're a little off the strip but its a short walk and they have a shuttle or taxi. The restaurants in the hotel are great if you dont want to venture too far.

I have nothing but good things to say about the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the Swiss area ones, We had a great view and it seemed quieter, spend the money and get away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    208
    183
    115
    74
See reviews for
175
251
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The room needs some TLC. Some of the outlets didn't work, the outlet covers did not fully cover the electrical outlet, the bathtub stopper would not come out, we needed a knife to let the water out to pull up the stopper, if our room had not been on the 5th floor with nothing obstructing our view to the mountains (if our room faced the other side) it would not had been worth it. The walk to the lobby was crazy if we stayed inside, so confusing and little to no signage to help navigate the way. Yes we like we could opt out of cleaning but we did not realize that you would not be refilling coffee, giving only one is pointless if you offer skipping services. We did opt out of cleaning for the first 3 days and one more after that but when we did have the room cleaned, coffee cups were not taken and cleaned or replaced, no new toilet paper was given, we even had to call to have the room clean and items replaced. The $5 food incentive was no incentive as the breakfast place was sub par, we only ate there once and did not think it was worth it, there other restaurants in Banff were much nicer and had more choices. Your other sister hotels were much nicer as we were with and extremely large group (over 150 of us in total) and we were at many other hotels visiting.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had a standard room which was spacious and had very comfortable beds and pillows. I liked the deck with mountain views. The large 2 outdoor hot tubs were fantastic after a day skiing. I like the location as it offers quick access to the highway but is not right downtown but a short distance from everything. I really appreciate the indoor parking. It makes loading in the morning very easy. Not a five star hotel but Great Value!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I was truly surprised with this hotel especially with the rooms. They have updated the photos on the website since I booked a room here so I was pleasantly surprised to see how nice the rooms were. It was perfect for our needs. Really clean and spacious. Beds were really comfortable. Outdoor hot pool was really nice but the indoor pool was really small and held no interest for the kids. Staff were excellent and friendly. The only two things that I would comment on as a negative is that there does not seem to enough parking and one of the waiters in the Wild Fire restaurant needs to improve on his appearance - both mornings we had breakfast he looked like he just rolled out of bed - hair very messy and greasy. Ick! The food in the Wild Fire grill was pretty good but the first morning of our stay we had the buffet and I was not impressed - food was cold! Next day we ordered from the menu and it was very good. The hotel is on the left side of Banff Avenue right when you enter Banff however, it is about a 15-20 minute walk to downtown but the hotel offers free bus passes for the Roam transit which is quite handy.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the Block C are much bigger than the ones facing the north but you do not get m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your great comments on the rooms, cleanliness, and friendly staff. The hotel is divided into three distinct room type options. Swiss Village is the detached building on the downtown side of the complex and it contains budget accommodation. Three or four bedroom condos are available at the back of the complex. The main building in which you stayed was refurbished in the fall. This renovation included new 40 inch televisions, beds, in-room carpets, lamps, and bedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Booked here as I wasn't planning on spending much time in the hotel. Yes, the hotel is old and the décor (very) outdated, but reasonably clean and the price is right. This is a good choice if you want to save some $ and aren't going to be in the hotel much anyway.

Pool area was actually quite nice, great view.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Over the years I've stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world, including about 8 in Banff (there's still time!). Inns of Banff was one of the most unique! The hotel is built into a slope near the east entrance of Banff, which puts it quite a walk from the downtown bars and restaurants. The Hotel thought ahead and provides free "Roam" transit passes.
The decor in the Inns of Banff is dated but it is also clean, so the "classic" decor just added to the charm. Our room was a spacious double queen that was warm, clean and inviting.
Our favourite and most memorable amenity was the rooftop, outdoor hot pool. What a view! Our kids loved it, we loved it, the other guests loved it. It was a little hard to find the first time because of the hillside orientation of the hotel, but absolutely worth it.

All in all, we will definitely be back. It was our first time staying this Far East in Banff, and I'm so glad we did!
Well done Inns of Banff. No complaints here!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
All guests at the Inns of Banff are entitled to use the complimentary Roam bus service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

The dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed in .... Splashes on wall from guests spilling stuff, he toilet had something clogging it when I arrived, the carpet was disgusting, dirty behind the beds when I was trying to reach the plug in, wire handing out at the plug in source, loud drunk guests kept us up till all hours. Needless to say I will NEVER stay there again !!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.