We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comformtable, great outdoor hot tub, indoor parking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very comformtable, great outdoor hot tub, indoor parking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had a standard room which was spacious and had very comfortable beds and pillows. I liked the deck with mountain views. The large 2 outdoor hot tubs were fantastic after a day skiing. I like the location as it offers quick access to the highway but is not right downtown but a short distance from everything. I really appreciate the indoor parking. It makes loading in the morning very easy. Not a five star hotel but Great Value!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    239
    214
    131
    94
See reviews for
208
287
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I was truly surprised with this hotel especially with the rooms. They have updated the photos on the website since I booked a room here so I was pleasantly surprised to see how nice the rooms were. It was perfect for our needs. Really clean and spacious. Beds were really comfortable. Outdoor hot pool was really nice but the indoor pool was really small and held no interest for the kids. Staff were excellent and friendly. The only two things that I would comment on as a negative is that there does not seem to enough parking and one of the waiters in the Wild Fire restaurant needs to improve on his appearance - both mornings we had breakfast he looked like he just rolled out of bed - hair very messy and greasy. Ick! The food in the Wild Fire grill was pretty good but the first morning of our stay we had the buffet and I was not impressed - food was cold! Next day we ordered from the menu and it was very good. The hotel is on the left side of Banff Avenue right when you enter Banff however, it is about a 15-20 minute walk to downtown but the hotel offers free bus passes for the Roam transit which is quite handy.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the Block C are much bigger than the ones facing the north but you do not get m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your great comments on the rooms, cleanliness, and friendly staff. The hotel is divided into three distinct room type options. Swiss Village is the detached building on the downtown side of the complex and it contains budget accommodation. Three or four bedroom condos are available at the back of the complex. The main building in which you stayed was refurbished in the fall. This renovation included new 40 inch televisions, beds, in-room carpets, lamps, and bedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Booked here as I wasn't planning on spending much time in the hotel. Yes, the hotel is old and the décor (very) outdated, but reasonably clean and the price is right. This is a good choice if you want to save some $ and aren't going to be in the hotel much anyway.

Pool area was actually quite nice, great view.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Over the years I've stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world, including about 8 in Banff (there's still time!). Inns of Banff was one of the most unique! The hotel is built into a slope near the east entrance of Banff, which puts it quite a walk from the downtown bars and restaurants. The Hotel thought ahead and provides free "Roam" transit passes.
The decor in the Inns of Banff is dated but it is also clean, so the "classic" decor just added to the charm. Our room was a spacious double queen that was warm, clean and inviting.
Our favourite and most memorable amenity was the rooftop, outdoor hot pool. What a view! Our kids loved it, we loved it, the other guests loved it. It was a little hard to find the first time because of the hillside orientation of the hotel, but absolutely worth it.

All in all, we will definitely be back. It was our first time staying this Far East in Banff, and I'm so glad we did!
Well done Inns of Banff. No complaints here!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
All guests at the Inns of Banff are entitled to use the complimentary Roam bus service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed in .... Splashes on wall from guests spilling stuff, he toilet had something clogging it when I arrived, the carpet was disgusting, dirty behind the beds when I was trying to reach the plug in, wire handing out at the plug in source, loud drunk guests kept us up till all hours. Needless to say I will NEVER stay there again !!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Very basic and very much in need of a face lift as this property has seen much better days. The rooms was quite old (but clean). Good for a quick night's stay but not a place that you would want to spend much time in.

Location is fine if you have a car but you will need a cab in the winter if you want to head to downtown.

Also, very poor cell coverage in hotel with many dead spots.

Price is right though for this type of accommodation.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building - Building A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed for a hockey tournament - booked a room for 2 adults and our 3 children. I found the property to be a huge maze … I believe we stayed in building C. It is an older hotel in need of a little TLC but was an amazing deal. Rooms were very basic and clean …nothing terribly bad to say but nothing that stood out as really good. The indoor pool is in the main building so quite a haul from our building - when we did finally find the pool I found it to be quite small compared to the size of the property. Brunch in the main restaurant in the AM was good and a great price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.0 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#20 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spruce Grove Inn
Spruce Grove Inn
#30 of 31 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#21 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.