We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but you do get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Save Saved
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not bad but you do get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed for a hockey tournament - booked a room for 2 adults and our 3 children. I found the property to be a huge maze … I believe we stayed in building C. It is an older hotel in need of a little TLC but was an amazing deal. Rooms were very basic and clean …nothing terribly bad to say but nothing that stood out as really good. The indoor pool is in the main building so quite a haul from our building - when we did finally find the pool I found it to be quite small compared to the size of the property. Brunch in the main restaurant in the AM was good and a great price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    200
    171
    104
    70
See reviews for
167
228
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hotel wasn't too far to walk to downtown but not too close either. Super cheap with free upgrade because it was quiet that night! :) Had everything we needed, would stay here again for sure. Friendly service too.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This hotel is basic but decent. Overall its in good shape but not so neat and tidy you feel bad about the snow kicking off your ski boots as you drag yourself back to the room after a day on the hills.

Location:It is on the edge of town and unless your trying to sober up I recommend a cab or the bus back to your room as the walk is a tad long. It is really reasonable to take a cab from downtown or even the Banff Centre ~$10 with tip! If you are tapped out from skiing then hop on the ROAM bus as your bus pass is included in your accommodations-be warned tho that the pass expires every three days. When you scan it on the bus you can see the expiry date on the scanner. Also, bookmark the site on your phone to get realtime updates for the next bus at your stop. It runs on time; you can set your watch by it! It is opposite the stop for the buses (both roam and ski resort bus). If you are a family with small children and plan to dine out daily, it is doable but not ideal. That said, there are several restaurants in walking distance and two located in the hotel.

Room: Yes the reviews are right, the pillows are a bit thick. Ask your housekeeper for a thinner one if it bothers you. The TV was new and big. The heating system was loud as was the mini fridge in my room (B525). It woke me as it emanated a hum that resembled an alarm clock when it kicked on. I moved it into the bathroom (sorry housekeeping) and closed the bathroom door at night. I am a bit of a princess tho when it comes to sound. The hotel was louder on the weekends but not unbearable- there are doors all along the hall way so if someone is being too loud you can close a hall door or two. The bed was great-very comfortable. The shower was consistently warm. Yes the decor is not the Fairmont, but neither is the price. They allow you to opt out of daily housekeeping with a hanger that you place on the door and they reward you with a $5 coupon to use in the restaurant- I did so on alternate days and got free buffet breakfast on my last day.

Hotel: By far the best feature of this hotel is the beautiful hot tub. It is large, suitably warm but not too hot and the view is unbelievable. It never feels crowded. If you are lucky at night you can hear the coyotes howling if a train goes by. It is a confusing hotel to get around and could use "you are here" dots on the maps posted in the halls. I found it easier to walk around to my room on the outside of the building vs inside. There is a nice lobby with a microwave in it. A gas fireplace adds to the lobby a place to warm up yourself while you warm up leftovers from last night. Yes, security is an issue as I was able to walk into my building from outside without using my room key to open the door.

The staff: No complaints. They were good at giving information about skiing, hotel amenities and the town itself. The guys in the pro shop were fantastic helping me select new goggles.

Room Tip: If you have small kids get a room on a lower floor and near the stairwell exits. Elevators are slow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for our first night in Banff and have to say the place was okay for the money we spent. It works very well , if you are arriving late at night and leaving early next day . The room is large and clean and they have hot water .Washroom is clean and works well . Very Basic but perfect if you are only spending the night .

You can stay in canmore for the same price at the better hotel !

Room Tip: get a room close to elevator with Mountain View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Location of this property is on the edge of Banff, and parking is a little difficult to find if you show up late on a weekend. My friend did the check-in and said the front desk clerk wasn't really friendly or explained what the Inn had to offer. Security of the property is lacking as all the doors from the parking lot into the building didn't have any locks or seem to require any keys. The halls of the Inn are very outdated, smelled like pot. Definitely a party vibe, lots of younger people (and we're in our mid 20's). The room itself was gorgeous and spacious. No A/C option which is strange (we stayed in winter). The outdoor pool I'm sure is a great feature however Saturday night it was a gong show and I can't deal with loud people after a full day of skiing. Comfort level in the room was really high - can't say enough about the room. We didn't have the mountain view, we had the view of the wing next to us.

The Inn is a big place, very confusing to navigate. I think the signs in the halls could be updated, make it easier. A bonus was the ski rental shop in the Inn. Fast, friendly, easy. Hit this place up before you head to the slopes. I paid $45 for skis, boots, poles and was the only one in there at the time on Saturday morning.

Word of advice. Bring ear plugs. You'll need it because people like to have fun when you're trying to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

For $209 all in for 2 nights you cant beat the price. I understand not all the rooms are renovated but we stayed in a renovated room with no view and it had all we needed. The beds were nice and the rooms were clean. Its true that you can hear everything in the hallway but we had no noise issues. The roof top hot tub was great for an evening soak. Its about a 25 min walk to downtown and the front desk will give you free transit passes if you ask for them. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We initially were in a room in the swiss village. I would not recommend this part of the hotel at all. There were kids running around the hallway and almost had that "camp" feel. We asked for a different room and moved into the main building which had roomy clean rooms. The only complaint we had is that there is very little sound proofing between rooms or the hallway. We could hear every conversation clearly that was in the hallway.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.