We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hot tub with views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Callander, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Super hot tub with views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Inns of Banff is in a great location if you want to be just a bit back from busy downtown Banff. Super views from mountain view rooms and the large hot tub. 20 minute walk to the town or hop on the shuttle bus. Nice large rooms ideal to relax in after a day out in the Rockies. The restaurant used to be really good. However its really just bar meals in the evening. Not that big a problem as there are plenty restaurants pretty close and the Japanese restaurant upstairs. Well spread out blocks can involve a bit of walking so ask for a room at the front if you do not want to negotiate stairs and corridors. It was a bit tired looking last time, but they were busy upgrading it last time I was there.

Room Tip: book a front block room to avoid corridors and stairs to get to the rear blocks. Worth the extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    212
    186
    116
    74
See reviews for
176
257
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Every time I go to Banff this hotel is my number one choice. And I have to admit that the only reason for that is the heated rooftop pool overlooking the mountains. Other than that the hotel as seen better days, the rooms are run down and the service at the restaurant is not very good. Overall it is a good hotel but not the one to stay at if you want luxury.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
The roof top hot pool is a great feature. Renovations are currently in progress with all the Superior rooms scheduled for completion by mid December. The renovation includes televisions, carpet, soft seating, paint, lighting, and mattresses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The staff was quite friendly and helpful, but the hotel looked very run down. Beware of the indoor pool and hot tub! Surface of indoor pool was chipped, water looked dirty, and hot tub was filthy. Outdoor hot pool was ok, but party central – not great for kids. Our room was run down, with years of dirt and stains. Parking was hard to find. I thought that Inns Of Banff, even though an older hotel, would be brought up to a higher standard as part of the Banff Lodging Company. I was wrong. We had a reduced rate as part of the Winterstart race, but we won't stay in this hotel again. And we wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
The indoor hot pool was completely retiled just recently and the Alberta Health Board requires weekly pool water sampling and maintains rigid high standards. Guest comments regarding their experience in the hot pool are overwhelmingly positive.

The Inns of Banff rooms are currently being renovated. This includes beds, bedding, televisions, soft seating, lighting, paint, and carpet. It sounds like you reserved out budget accommodation in our Swiss Village building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olds
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Staff at desk were very friendly and helpful. The room was okay and very reasonably priced, the Japanese restaurant situated in the hotel has great food, and the rooftop outdoor hot tub was great with an awesome view ! It was obvious that the inn has wings being updated / renovated so good to know that improvements are being made to rooms.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My sister and brother along with his wife and myself were travelling from Cold Lake to Banff via Calgary. The scenery along the way was breathtaking. We saw a mother moose and two calf moose crossing the road about an hour into our journey.We arrived in Banff approx 1600h with no hotel reservations made. It was almost impossible to find a hotel for the night until the Inns of Banff. Their condo was the only available space. We jumped at the chance to spend the night there. The condo came complete with 4 bedrooms, each with a large screen TV, 3 bathrooms, a large kitchen and living room for approx. 300$, all amenities included. The condo was spotless. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The only downside was finding parking for our condo #. Our condo was in the back of the building but the balcony looked out from the front which gave us a breathtaking view of the Rockies. I will book our next holiday with the Inns
of Banff and request the same condo #. Now I can hardly wait for next years holiday time

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radium Hot Springs, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Over priced for what you get.
Rooms were dirty and in need of repair.
We asked to be moved to cleaner room when we first arrived which they accommodated but the second room assigned to us was not any better.
My son and his wife also had a room which was in same condition.
Would not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary,Alberta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

They charge me twice for my room and made me call back a few times supposely because of technical problems and also made me wait on the line for a long period. The room was freshly paint and had a nasty odor. the bathroom was also not too clean with paint all over the floor.

Room Tip: mountain view near outside hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.