We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, clean hotel, easy walk to town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Save Saved
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent, clean hotel, easy walk to town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel suits for those who want a decent, clean place to stay. The outdoor hot tub on the rooftop with a beautiful view of the mountains makes this hotel worth it.
The walk to town takes about 15 minutes, but there is a free shuttle if preferred.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    198
    168
    102
    69
See reviews for
165
225
24
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a hockey tournament. Prior to arrival my expectations were quite low due to the age and reviews on the property. I was pleasantly surprised.

This is an older, basic, simple type motel, but it is really unique in a good way and the rooms are very large and clean. Our room with 2 queen beds was fairly outdated, but they are starting to renovate the rooms. It was larger than newer hotels and certainly served its purpose. We had the superior room with mountain view and there was a great view from the outdoor balcony. We were planning to bring our dog so upon reservation I was told I had to upgrade to this higher room category as only certain rooms allow pets. I found this a bit silly that in order to have a dog in my room I had to book a 'nicer' room, maybe would make more sense to only allow pets in the basic room category? As well, on top of paying extra for the mountain view there is also a $25/night pet charge. This is pretty steep, they are pet friendly, but it costs you approx. $40 extra per night after the mandatory upgrade and pet fee. In their favor I will say that the 'Pet Pack' waiting in your room on arrival was a nice touch.

The Hotel is laid out in 3 buildings, A, B and C and they are connected by interior ped-ways. It is built into a hill so there is a lot of up and down stairs making your way between buildings, this added to the unique charm of the place. It was pretty confusing trying to find the swimming pools and lobby area from C building, but we found it quite fun. There is a very small indoor pool and hot tub and then an oversize hot tub outside on the top of B building. This outdoor pool is not to be missed, fantastic mountain views and kept nice and hot, very neat!

We ate once in the café and also downstairs in the Pub, both were excellent. They had live music on Sat Night that we thoroughly enjoyed.

The prices here make it a good choice in Banff on a budget (as long as you don't bring a pet!). It is located far down the main street from the shops, but still walkable if you are mobile. I would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: If mobility is an issue phone hotel directly to book as there are a lot of stairs and walking at thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent two nights here as part of our ten day tour of the Canadian Rockies.

we arrived after dark and were initially a bit overcome by the sprawling nature of the place. It seemed to be endless soulless corridors and ugly concrete buildings. However, once we got into our room any doubts vanished. It was clean, very large and equipped with everything we needed including a fridge and microwave.

All the staff were, without exception friendly and helpful.

The location is about ten minutes walk away from the main shopping area in Banff which meant that it is quiet. We had no complaints about it at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Room was OK - amenities were also OK - Restaurant was excellant. We tried for a room with 2 queens were told ther was none available but they could upgrade us to a King with a pullout at an extra cost of $20.00 a night and this would include a microwave. To me this was not an upgade and microwaves should be a standard feature in every room!!. Also the TV is substandard very poor picture quality. Did not mind staying here but these minor inconviences did not sit well with me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We have recently upgraded our televisions to 40 inch Samsung flat screens so I am confident this was not an actual TV issue. We are in the final stages of converting our cable packages to digital. This combination should provide quality viewing experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Large facility a bit clinical, very good staff and good location at edge of busy Banff ave.
We got free upgrade to 3 bdrm condo, which was big and well laid out. Parking very good. Easy to walk to restaurants and into town.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here for a girls night. The room was semi clean but outdated. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel was quiet. The restaurant was alright, enjoyed the breakfast. Location was also just average, not right by bars and shopping in Banff but easily assessable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

we had two rooms for 5 of us plus an 11 week old baby.
Stayed one night as we were on our way to Jasper.
We looked online & got the best price we could find & they matched in at reception, we had two rooms, both rooms had 2 Queen sized beds in each.
Rooms were warm & clean, bathroom needs a bit of updating ( looking a little grubby ) the heating worked well but plus side was you could actually open the window to let in fresh mountain air.
We eventually found the indoor pool on the ground floor tucked away, the pool was a little 'cool'!!! but hot tub was VERY hot, towels available , but they were a little on the small side.
didn't eat in hotel, but it was very close to all local eateries. beautiful setting on the edge of town so was quiet EXCEPT for the noise at 3.30 am where it sounded like someone was pulling a trolley maybe with laundry in it?
It woke us up, but we did go back to sleep.
Room was only set up for 2 people , but we asked for extra for our third person & they arrived in good time.
Would consider again if the price was right.

Room Tip: We had ground floor rooms, not special disabled rooms, but with a mobility disability I found with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.