We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but did the job” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tired but did the job”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

A spacious hotel with the basic amenities that you would expect. If you are after a dry warm clean bed, then you will be well served. If you are looking for a quality, pampered luxury experience, this hotel is not for you. The hotel is built on a steep hill so orienteering skills are desirable to find you room although well signposted hallways show you the way.
The staff are friendly and helpful and eager to assist you. The view from each room, all of which have a balcony, is amazing. The outside pools are good, one very hot. The indoor pool is good for a swim or relax and also has a hot tub.
Safety is an issue. The light fittings were held together with black tape, one of the switches fell off. You are advised that valuables should be left in the main safe at reception, which is free, and, judging by some earlier attempts to forced our doors ( damaged locks), seemed the sensible precaution to take. The owners must rake it in and should spend some of their profit refurbishing this otherwise good hotel to bring it up to date.
The hotel is a 20 minute walk from the centre of Banff but you do get a free bus pass for the duration of your stay to hop on and off the frequent ROAM bus as you wish, a helpful touch to rid you of driving/parking worries.
Overall, a no frills hotel which does what it says on the tin, somewhat overpriced for the quality of the room.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    212
    189
    117
    75
See reviews for
176
259
26
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We staying at the Inns of Banff about four years ago and had quite a pleasant stay. This time, our extended family rented one of the four bedroom condos for six nights. The layout was great for three couples and four kids. However, I couldn't help noticing that the rooms were the worse for wear since our last stay. My understanding is that the ownership changed sometime between then and now. Some of the drawer pulls in the dressers were broken. The kitchen faucet was loose. One of the toilets didn't flush everytime. Most seriously, the glass door on one of the showers came untracked because of a broken bracket and the door fell against the wall. We were fortunate that it didn't break: our daughter may have been seriously hurt. To be fair, when we reported this last problem, they sent around a handyman right away, and the problem was addressed by the following day.

The other issue was housekeeping. We arrived on Friday and we were told that the rooms would be cleaned every three days. No cleaning until we phoned on Tuesday, and although the sheets and towels were changed, it was clear that there was no other cleaning done, and the floor had clearly not been vacuumed.

Also be warned that both pools are rather small, and were very crowded during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We arrived at Inns of Banff and were greeted by a really nice staff member that helped us to our room with our luggage. The staff were courteous and friendly and knowledgeable. We did not come with a car so we had to make use of the Banff bus system and the hotel supplied us with free bus passes for the length of our stay. The rooms were adequate. The linens were clean. This hotel participates in the "green" program. I like that. We took full advantage of the hot pool on the roof as well as the whirlpool and cold pool on the main floor. The place is a bit of a maze but once you have it figured out it is fine. The rooms have no air conditioning...which when I travel next will be a requirement. The food in the lounge downstairs was awesome! The hotel was kinda far away from Banff center...too far for me to walk...but the bus stop is right outside the door of the hotel. Went to the Keg...it was as usual AWESOME!!! So all in all for the price I paid I feel I got great value!

Room Tip: I chose a room with a mountain view...It was well worth the extra couple of bucks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Our "Go Green" program provides perks for guests who participate in this environmental initiative. Thank you for participating in it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My friends and I were trying to save money so we chose this hotel but it actually was a pretty good place. Definitely not luxury but not bad either. The room was large and clean. It had a nice balcony with a tremendous view. The only downside was it's location being a bit far from the town center. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed our facility. We do offer complimentary bus service to downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I'm not sure what the other reviewers are complaining about. This was a well maintained, clean establishment with really comfy beds. Obviously the other reviewers must have just had bad luck with the room or maybe haven't ever stumbled upon a true "dive".

We were driving back from BC and simply looking for an affordable place to spend the night. After viewing the pictures on the hotel website, I reluctantly booked us in. However, when we arrived, the actual rooms looked nothing like the dingy pictures on the web.

Our room was huge! (perfect when you are packing along 3 kids-like us! Lol) Everything was clean and well-maintained.; The tv was a decent sized flat screen;The beds were super comfy and the kids loved the pools.

Only thing to keep in mind, this is not withing walking distance of the shops. And there is no A/C.

We loved it and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms near the back of the property. There is nothing but forest behind the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for your great comments. Yes our rooms in the Inns of Banff complex are huge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We booked last minute and what we thought was a decent property was not. The property is very old and has not been kept up. The room while it looked clean was not - the sheets were clean, but both beds had hair in them. If it wasn't for it being tough to find a property in town, we would not have stayed.

The service was poor as well. When we asked for some towels at the pool they said some would be delivered right away, we were in the pool for about an hour and no towels were delivered nor did they explain why. On checking out - you got the feeling that they are used to complaints, all they said was "here the managers card - you can call him"

Find another property to stay at - this place is a waste of money

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limmen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was awfull, they really need to start renovating over there. The lobby smelled like the swimmingpool, which is located behind the lobby. Our room was next to the stairs and very noisy! The bathroom was done, again here the shower came as high as our shoulder.
It's in the mainstreet but completely at the end. We did some laundry there, but the machines were full and there was nobody there. We needed change for the machines, but the building is right at the topend, so it was a long walk to the reception and than back up the hill again. Who came up with that!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.